We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Property, Excellent Service, Great Value”
Review of Bay Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable Property, Excellent Service, Great Value”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I booked on-line through the excellent website this property has. It is so nice to view the photos of the rooms available and make a choice based on the type of room and your needs.

We stayed in the new queen suite and it is fantastic! Well equipped, spacious room with amazing views on three sides. Also included patio doors and a balcony! Comfortable bed and pillows, large bathroom with all amenities, seating area with leather chairs and lots of lighting. Small refrigerator, sink and microwave on counter area is very nice to have. Everything was clean and well maintained. We were impressed with the quality of our accommodations.

Check-in was quick and easy by a very congenial gentleman who was eager to be helpful in any way.

Continental breakfast is included and was presided over by one of the owners who is very personable and knowledgeable of the area. It was delightful to see him interact with the young children at the table adjacent to ours.

Families travelling with children will be very impressed with the large play area and equipment for children as well as the in ground pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    62
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
77
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Even if you plan ignore all the Anne of Green Gables stuff in Cavendish, as we did, this is a nice central location from which to explore the rest of the island, and a nice quiet retreat to come back to when the day is done. We were there 3 nights. The little extras are great, and the rooms, although snug with 4 people in them, are clean and comfortable. The owner knows the island well, and is very approachable and willing to share his knowledge as he sets out and cleans up around the ebb and flow of the breakfast crowd. He's also fine with people bringing in their own extra items to round out his breakfast offerings, and since the rooms have fridges, keeping a few items on hand isn't hard.

We bought cooked lobsters and brought them back to the hotel, warmed them up on the supplied BBQs, and ate our lobster dinner out on the picnic tables. It was as good, if not better - and substantially cheaper than the mass market lobster dinner barns, and the hotel & staff made it easy to do, a nice change from places with restaurants that don't want you bringing in your own food. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 and up are away from the main driveway and a bit quieter in the evening as many travelers s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNAB_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

All of the staff here were very kind and helpful. Rooms were large and clean, though certainly in need of some updates. Breakfast was quite mediocre (toast, cereal, fruit salad in syrup, coffee, tea, and juice) and could use the addition of some fresh fruit and some sort of protein (yogurt or hard-boiled eggs, at least?). Though we did not get a chance to use them, the grounds of the motel seemed fantastic, especially if travelling with young children. The location is great for exploring some of PEI's top spots including Cavendish Beach (and all of the National Park) and Green Gables as they are about 5 minutes away. We also visited downtown Charlottetown as it was only about 30-40 minutes away as well. Will definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_3847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Very clean, affordable and the service was great. They are always willing to give information about things to do. They have a pool, we never used it but just because we didn't have time. The continental breakfast was so delicious. The shower didn't have a lot of pressure but the room was very nice and the bed was super comfortable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We loved this family owned motel. It was perfectly located, central for all our day trips on the island. The breakfast was minimal but the owner's personality in the kitchen made it enjoyable. We loved that the motel is Ecoresponsible, serving breakfast in real dishes and utensils. A walking distance to Raspberry Point for some fresh oysters. You can buy them and eat them on a picnic table. So fresh! The rooms are rustic but clean.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juliescrapbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I selected this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor and it exceeded my expectations. Upon arrival it was plain to see that the grounds are meticulously maintained. Our room was as described and extremely clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and I surprisingly spent time on the veranda outside the room enjoying the view and conversing with fellow guests. The pool was heated to 80 degrees and, again, was beautifully maintained. The staff was more than helpful and courteous but the key to Bay Vista's success must rest with Arnold who was ever present. Arnold is a treasure trove of information about the island, tended to about every possible job at the motel and is a true gentleman. He was fantastic with the guests and with my kids. There is a free and generous continental breakfast included in your stay and it was a great place to speak to other guests and with Arnold who was always there to provide a story, answer questions or to clean up before the next group of guests arrived for breakfast. The breakfast area overlooks the pool and property and is very clean and welcoming. I can't say enough good things about my experience here; even when our AC gave us problems, Arnold had it fixed in no time at all. If you are looking to stay in Cavendish in a hotel/motel, you would be hard pressed to find a better spot and given the exceptional value, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooner1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed four nights here and were very pleased with the experience. Our room was indeed a motel room with two queen beds but it was large enough for our needs, It was very clean and had very comfortable beds which provided us with excellent sleep. There was a large desk area and air conditioning (this was not necessary as the evenings were quite cool). The grounds are large and the units are situated away from the road and were thus quite quiet at night. There was some noise as people arrived later in the evening but this was not a great problem and often people sat out on the chairs on the deck and shared experiences from their trip. For families there are a number of pieces of play equipment and a very popular heated pool. They provide an adequate breakfast and we supplemented the cereal with local blueberries. The staff is very pleasant and more than ready to give travel ideas. The motel is extremely well located with easy access to many sites and experiences in the region. We would not hesitate to return to PEI and stay again at the Bay Vista motel .

Room Tip: There are rooms at the back of the property and these may indeed be even quieter than those backing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenOntarioCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
2.5 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
2.9 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
12.3 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silverwood Motel
Silverwood Motel
#3 of 8 in Cavendish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Motel

Property: Bay Vista Motel
Address: 9517 Cavendish Rd | Bayview, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Vista Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 30 years our motel has been serving the Cavendish area. Our large property, convenient location and breath taking views have been attracting families and friends from all over the world. To ensure you have the most enjoyable stay we have recently renovated and installed new furnishing to keep our motel at top quality standards. Please be advised that there are Pet Restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Hotel Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing