We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Girls and a Gramma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Acres Cottages
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 Girls and a Gramma”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Couldn't have been happier, pleasantly surprised, and comfortable. Dale/Lisa are great hosts. Cottages were delightful, clean, well-appointed and very comfortable. Didn't want or need the close-by 'tourist traps' - Our style was nature, beaches, scenery and back roads that provided adventures beyond our expectations. And, many warm and cozy memories for this Minnesota Gramma and her girls (ages 15, 14, & 10).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The title says it all, we just stayed for our forth year in a row , we find the cottages great for the four of us which includes my wife and I and our two daughters aged 6 and 11 years.Very Quiet ,great location and run by very nice people. What more could you want?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A friend and I planned a two week trip to PEI for golfing for 2013. We stayed at Hidden Acres having chosen them based on internet reviews of various cottage operations, location, amenities, price and proximity to the area we wished to visit. This is a great location for golfers as well as families on vacation. They are centrally located in Cavendish about a half hour from Charlottetown and within a short drive of numerous quality golf courses. We golfed two courses mostly, Green Gables, just up the road from Hidden Acres and Anderson’s Creek about a 10 minute drive away, both excellent facilities. From Hidden Acres you are but a short drive to Anne of Green Gables House, Cavendish Beach, Cavendish Boardwalk and various other tourist attractions as well as a decent grocery store.

We visited mid June during the shoulder season just before prime vacation time and virtually had the place to ourselves. The owners, Lisa and Dale Gallant were excellent hosts, very accommodating and friendly. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and accommodating and the physical cottage was neat as a pin, well laid out and comfortable. Bath and dish towels are changed every other day. Our cottage had two full bathrooms with one having a whirlpool bath. All pots, pans, cooking and eating utensils are supplied as well as a BBQ’s on your deck. They have fire rings for evening family marshmallow or wiener roasts along with a pool. I found the laundry facilities to be quite acceptable. We had wireless access to the internet from our cottage.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are planning our second annual PEI golf extravaganza for 2014 and Hidden Acres will be a part of it for sure. With Hidden Acres you definitely get great value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We rented a two-bedroom cottage and it was just the right size for our family of five (two adults and three children). The cottage was clean and well taken care of. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The cottages had everything we needed, along with two clean playgrounds for the kids and a really nice heated pool. We really loved being able to have campfires - not all cottages on PEI offer this. It was also nice to be away from the highway - we knew the kids were safe. We will definitely go back there next time we vacation to PEI!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

the location is very close to cavendish so hitting the waterpark the shining waters, and sand spit were within minutes travelling time .... they had passes for the park that you could borrow. we rented a two bedroom cabin and had 4 adults and one 12 year old boy and no one felt cramped, the kitchen/dining room area is large enough to easily have a meal without everyone being on top of each other and the living room has plenty of sitting room. other pluses included, a pool on site and they provided seperate towels for the pool so yah did not have to use the ones in the cabin, tv had a good selection of channels (certified by the 12 year old), good wifi that did not suck (12 year olds words not mine :P) but in practical terms we had netfix running no problem at all on two seperate tablets at the same time .... it met netflix needs so web browsing and normal internet activities would be a breeze. the cabins were very clean and were stocked with everything yah could possibly need and they also provided bbqs .... everything yah needed for bbqing was under the lid equipment wise a starter, burger flipper, etc. the staff are so helpful and accommodating its unreal .... being unfamiliar with PEI we managed to get a little lost and the lady at the desk got us back on course .... and when asked about how to get nearly anywhere they had good quick instruction that even a layman could understand. another thing they offered that we did not take advantage of was a large selection of movies that yah could sign out to watch from the main desk. also there were a lot of things set up on site to keep yah active like a net for badmitton, raquettes available at the desk, horseshoe pits, and many other toys and games. lastly while we stayed there we had ideal HOT summer weather and as promised the cabin was airconditioned and on full tilt yah could probably make ice with it if yah wanted to. i would and will eventually stay there again.

Room Tip: all the cabins are far enough from the road so there is no traffic noise .... the long road leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanespea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINT JOHN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

How does one define a "memorable" vacation???? I trust for each family it is quite different, however, for "our" family it truly is about "building memories" and there is nothing short of our first year at Hidden Acres to say, we have continued to build memories after four years. As like others, one never knows for sure what they will find when they actually drive into the allotted paved area of your cottage when you arrive, let alone, what awaits you as you enter your chosen cottage, be it a basic, deluxe, and/or executive. For our family we personally wanted to find, not just the "comforts of home" however, the serene beauty of the outdoors where our family could enjoy every moment of every day. We were blessed to say Hidden Acres offered us both, so much that we had a hard time not booking on the spot when we left. The high lights for our family were many, two well sized bedrooms, an open concept living/kitchen area with all the necessities of home, bathroom(s) depending on your cottage could include: 3 or 4 piece, outside patio with your own barbeque, wide open space to enjoy your surroundings, and so spacious for our children to run freely in parent's view, without feeling restricted, not to mention a fenced in pool that invites those, that not only swim, however, openly omit to being "sun worshipers". The open outdoor concept area invites families to relive their youth by tossing a few basketball hoops, building sand castles in the sand, or merely, testing your horseshoe abilities. When you realize that perhaps you have outlived your younger years and your children still need a bit more spunk, you only need to venture 5 minutes from the cottage to find a stream of Cavendish activities at their best amusements, Shining Waters, SandSpit (don't overlook the weekly passes for both parks, as they are much cheaper), Golf, Museums, or a beautiful walk along the Cavendish Beach where your children and you will enjoy the tides as they roll in (just be cautious of the power of the tides). When the sun sets and the night is brisk, you know you have a home to come home to at Hidden Acres!

There were many nights when we ventured during our first year with Hidden Acres to overcome "all exhaustions" and we ensured we were part of the beautiful Camp Fire (of course there is nothing like a campfire to play a few songs and hope our campers would partake) however, we all know "children have outlasted our endurance and our song delivery and/or guitar ability may not be at the best" but rest assured, our children never lost a beat to "I Love You, You Love Me, We're a Happy Family, With A Great BIg Hug & A Kiss From Me to You, Won't You Say You Love Me TOO!"

Our family who has returned after four years would personally extend an invitation to Hidden Acres "want to be's" to anyone that welcomes, the most clean, family oriented, child friendly cottages in P.E.I. to call home away from home!

The serenity within Hidden Acres to this day, still astounds us.

More laid back chairs to your comfort would be welcomed I'm sure as the cottages do maintain 2-4 basic cottage sitting chairs that may not be fitting for all, I personally take a more leisure sitting chair.... lol!

P.S. To all my new acquaintances from the summer of 2013 thank you. You certainly played a big part to our families stay!

Here's My Poem to Our Hidden Acres Experience:


ACRES RETURN HOMECOMERS POEM:


WAKE UP SMILING & BE GRATEFUL FOR THE DAY
FOR A TEAM OF CLEANILNESS WILL TAKE CARE OF YOUR STAY
THEY WANT YOU TO NAP, AS HARD WORK’S NOT ALLOWED
YET REMEMBER THE BEAUTY THAT MAKES THEM FEEL PROUD!
THEY OFFER YOU COMFORT, AWAY FROM YOUR HOME
THE POOL IS OPEN AND THEIR GROUNDS ARE YOUR OWN
THE DRYER’S THERE BUT THE BANNISTERS ARE FREE
TO HANG YOUR TOWELS, TRUNKS, OR CLOTHES IF YOU NEED
YOU WANT FUN FOR YOUR CHILDREN THEN OPEN YOUR DOOR
THE SAND BOX IS WAITING WITH SO MUCH MORE.
A THROW OF A BASKETBALL, A HORSESHOE IN FLIGHT, YOUR FAMILY WILL HAVE FUN AS YOU SIT ON SITE.
ALTHOUGH THERE IS MUCH IN FRONT OF YOUR EYES, REMEMBER THE STRIP THAT’S NOT FAR FROM DISGUISE.
YOUR COTTAGE IS BY FAR THE CLOSEST TO MANY, SHINING WATERS, THE SANDSPIT AND PLENTY OF SUPPLIES.
MESMORIZED BY THE BEAUTY OF YOUR COTTAGE LIFE, AND DEPENDING ON YOUR ENERGY OF THE FULL DAY’S NIGHT,
THE CAMPFIRE AWAITS YOU, NOT FAR FROM HOME, THE STARS ARE ABOVE YOU AND THE COTTAGE IS YOUR OWN!

HIDDEN ACRES OFFERS YOU MORE THAN A FIRE, THEY OFFER YOU A HOME AWAY FROM BEING ‘TIRED”!

HIDDEN ACRES COTTAGE FAMILY OF (4 YEARS) BELIEVES IN TRIP ADVISOR

Room Tip: It would be important to determine what size of cottage your family would enjoy. For our family we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DARLENE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were booked for 4 nights and actually added a 5th night while staying at Hidden Acres. We had 3 adults a 3 year old and a baby and had plenty of space for everyone. Having 2 bathrooms was a great bonus. The grounds were spacious, lots of toys for the kids and our 3 year old loved the large sandbox. Location is nicely off the road and very close to all Cavendish attractions. Large patio with picnic table, four other chairs and bbq on each cottage was great. Would love to see the plastic patio chairs upgraded to something more comfortable. We'll recommend to friends and consider going back ourselves.

Room Tip: We had cottage number 8 which was directly in front of a set of swings with slide and large sandbox...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
1.0 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
1.3 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
3.1 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#4 of 8 in Cavendish
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
1.4 mi away
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Cavendish Maples Cottages
#1 of 22 in Cavendish
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Acres Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Acres Cottages

Property: Hidden Acres Cottages
Address: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Acres Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Acres Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing