We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort?? was more like an old motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Doylestown, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Resort?? was more like an old motel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was a very disappointing two nights. The word resort gives you an impression of what to expect. The expectation was not met. I will say it was clean but the quality of the matresses, pillows and linens left much to be desired. They should be thrown out and replaces. ALso in our room the floor was so uneven that getting up during the night to use the bathroom was a very precarious situation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom cottage for our family. It was as described with one double, one king and two twins all on the upper level of the cottage. Downstairs there was a full kitchen with dining table and living room with limited cable and an outdated VCR. There was a propane BBQ provided outside. The cottage was advertised as air conditioned but there was only one AC unit which was located on the lower level and the upstairs was too hot. There is only one bathroom which is also on the lower level which was not ideal in the night when the rooms are upstairs (especially with children). The cottage was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was suppose to be daily towel service but we missed it one of the days since it seemed we had to be there when they passed by and there was no cleaning done while we were there. The pools were good but got full very quickly. The location was the good considering how close it was to everything. Overall, it was nothing fancy but served the purpose.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennLynn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

First impression: oh dear... You would think a place that has the word "resort" in its name would be well, resort-like. Such is not the case here. Minimal is more like it - you've got your room, your bed, a television, a bathroom and a few amenities. That's about it. I'm not sure what the competition has to offer, but if it's downhill from here you're probably in trouble. The shower is a trickle in the tiny bathroom and the beds are pretty hard, but if you prefer that sort of thing you're completely in luck! But another serious flaw in our stay - the noise between rooms and floors - you can hear a lot. We were on the first floor and pretty much subject to the schedule of the second floor people's - you can't ignore the footfalls and shuffling and general noise the other guests make until they quiet down for the night. And we stayed in a room that was right on the road - another noise factor.

For what it's worth, I will say that the place is just about spotless - and I can't imagine that's an easy feat in any hotel no matter the price-point. But, unfortunately, we won't be staying here again. There are other choices in the area to explore.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizbet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cavendish hotels

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My friend who was flying in from Japan asked me to book this hotel for our Anne of Green Gables experience the first weekend in July not knowing that it was the same weekend as the Cavendish Beach Music Festival. Gail and the staff were kind and accommodating as they gently explained to me that the hotels in the area had been booked for months. I was super-stressed, and then delighted the next morning when they called me in Maryland because there had a cancellation! Now, that's impressive service!

I continued to be impressed when they remembered me as we checked-in a month later. Our room was very clean, and my friend enjoyed using the whirlpool every night while I went over to the visitors' center across the street to use their Wifi and watch the sun go down. The Visitors' Center is an informative and wonderful place, too. My friend loved the whirlpool so much that she convinced me to use it one night to soak our tired feet! Our room was always very cool, clean and they even had recycling. It was quiet even though we were on the corner near the road, and we had a good view from the second floor.

We also loved the location. There was an excellent restaurant next door called The Lost Anchor which offered delicious food for a vegan (me) and carnivore (my friend). We could also walk to most of the Anne sites, a post office, grocery store, shops and the beautiful beach.

We loved our time in Cavendish and are very grateful to the resort's staff for giving us the opportunity to have a wonderful visit on one of the busiest weekends of the year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hijiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed in a room that looked to be done over recently and was nice with laminate flooring making it nice and clean. Nothing special though so I can't help but decide that like most places in this area it is quite overpriced for what it is. The bed also could have been more comfortable. Location is good as far as being central in Cavendish but it's quite near the road depending what room you get. Fine, clean hotel, just not anything special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road - less noise and not overlooking the gas station and graveyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I reserved a "luxury suite with king size bed, whirlpool, sitting room, etc." in the Inn itself. The inn and our room are best described as shabby and dated. The mattress was sagging, shapeless and lumpy, with sheets and covers that had seen better days. The bathroom was bright and clean, and the rug had been vacuumed, but several spiders remained undisturbed above floor level. Entire property needs extensive maintenance. Definitely avoid the inn; cottages looked slightly better. Overall, very poor value, and you can do much better in Cavendish, as we discovered. A limited breakfast was provided at Rachael's, where the staff seemed overworked and stressed out by the workload imposed by the Shining Waters "voucher" guests. Nothing like the breakfasts typical of maritime inns and B & Bs.

Room Tip: Keep driving, there are better options right down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed there for 1 week 21-27 July 2012. This is a good location for exploring PEI, in general. There is lots to do in the area too. The location of this motel was chosen for it's proximity to the 'beach', which turned out not to be swimmable. The beach access is to the west or east of this location, the closest being Cavendish beach. By car, you have to pay $20 for 24hr access, and to drive the Gulf Parkway. Too far to walk in to as well....

The unit we were in was #43, 2 queen beds, a basic apartment sized kitchen (bar fridge only, no dishwasher). There was not enough storage space for luggage either. If you want a more appropriate size to a long stay, maybe try the stand alone cottages. The beds were comfortable and the shower had lots of room and great pressure with lots of hot water. The 2 pools for the complex were on the cold side, not well heated, but tolerable. The pools were showing their age too. This 'resort' is a complex of several older motels really. It was OK, keeping in mind you get what you pay for! The staff were pleasant to deal with.

Room Tip: Call and speak to the staff to choose the right room and location. Some of the buildings were close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0.4 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
3.0 mi away
Cavendish Gateway Resort
Cavendish Gateway Resort
#1 of 1 in Mayfield
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Country Inn
Cavendish Country Inn
#7 of 8 in Cavendish
42 reviews
10.5 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
172 reviews
19.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort at Cavendish Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Cavendish Corner

Property: Resort at Cavendish Corner
Address: 8566 Cavendish Road / Rte 6 | Intersection of Route 6 and Route 13, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Resort at Cavendish Corner 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Area's premier full service resort. Overnight rooms, cottages and suites. Luxury and regular units. Close to all local attractions. Superior licensed restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Resort at Cavendish Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing