We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavendish Beach Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverwood Motel(Cavendish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Motel(Cavendish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
29
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo couplesfresh towelslocated rightoff seasonisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Family vacation for a week. This was the 2nd time at Cavendish Beach Cottages. The cottage is well maintained, clean, beds are comfortable. Kitchen is well equipped and if you can not find what you want just ask the office, they will have it. The facility is located within the Prince Edward Island’s National Park. You can sit on your deck and see and listen to the waves, VERY relaxing. 100 yards and you are on the beach! Sunsets are outstanding. Very family friendly with a lot a room to run around, fly kites, swings, etc. only down side no pool. Internet service is free.I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank TLC012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our family of 4 (kids: 11 & 6) stayed at the Cavendish Beach Cottages in the first week of July 2011. The cottages overlook the Bay of St. Lawrence, and while a road separates the property from the beach, the road is rarely traveled, and we were down to the red sand beach in less than a 10 minute walk. The beach was empty, and the water was extremely calm--and about 73 degrees F (almost swimming temperature). The cottages themselves are on a huge property, with a small playground for the kids, and an adjacent pasture with curious cows to pet through the fence. And while the cottages are close together, and seemingly fully booked while we were there, it's still a quiet place to stay. Stars fill the sky at night. The cottage we were in (#1) was clean and comfortable, with a living room area w/small TV, full kitchen, and two, small bedrooms (the one for the kids had two twin beds). As it was the highest priced lodging of our 8 day trip, we wished we could have spent more time on the property and the beach, to fully get the value of where we were staying. Cons: Besides the price, no maid service or breakfast (buy your food on the way in, and bring it with you), and the location is 35 minutes from Charlottetown (but the island isn't too big, and we didn't encounter much traffic, getting from Point A to B).

Room Tip: Stay more than one day, to get the full experience of a cottage facing the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. After driving around the Cavendish area for days I can tell you this, you will not find nicer cottages so close to the beach. They are either extremely old and beat up, or they're nowhere near the beach and probably cost twice as much. These cottages are immaculate, well maintained, and the kitchen area and grill on the deck are very clutch if you don't want to eat out every day. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. On our first day the woman directed us to a grocery store, gas station and breakfast joint all within about 10 feet of each other. The only thing I will advise, and its not a flaw more like an FYI- if you can, get a cottage that has a full bath. We stayed in one with just a shower and it was TINY TINY. If you are staying in Cavendish, you really will love it here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hkni61111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at Cavendish Beach Cottages on our tour of the Maritimes. We stayed in the type A cottages and had plenty of room for the three of us.
We went deep sea fishing in North Rustico and caught a ton of fish, so we enjoyed having the kitchen and barbeque to use.
The best part was having the beach right across the road. One morning we had the beach all to ourselves (heavenly).
There are laundry facilities and each cottage has their own clothes line. There nothing like the smell of fresh towels off the line.
We loved it here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eskape96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Cavendish Beach Cottages 3 times in the last 20+ years. On various trips,we rented a nicely furnished, 2 bedroom cottage. It accomodates 4 adults in comfort. In 2009 we got a one bedroom. Both cottage styles have a comfortable design. The lay-out inside both styles ensure that the occupant has the best possible view of the sea. The front decks on all cottages have propane BBQ and deck chairs/lounges plus a view. The cottages are well equipped. There was a good supply of plates,glasses,pots and pans, but to our surprise, we even discovered a small supply of salt, pepper and sugar. Thoughtful since even the prepared cottage-stayer can overlook packing such things. The appliances are new and well maintained. The cottage was spotlessly clean.
All the cottage styles have a view.The 1 bedroom cottage was well furnished. It was obvious that the cottages are well maintained. Remarkably there are no signs of wear and tear. So they must keep up with new paint and repair etc.
The property is beautifully maintained. The location of this property is special. The property lawns abut the national park, literally. The unobscured view of the sea and the view of the rolling farmland makes a beautiful pastoral setting. The mooing of cows can be heard from time-to-time. It is quiet and out of the 'noise ' of the touristy part of Cavendish. One can walk to the beach within moments of your cottage.
Cavendish Cottages is a lovely piece of PEI from the past with all the conveniences of the present.
It is in an ideal location on the Island as it is an easy and always enjoyable drive to everywhere else you may want to visit.
I expect to have many more visits to this wonderful property in coming years.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Halifaxduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews