We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful cottage, very close to all Cavendish hot spots!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne's Windy Poplars
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Canada
1 review
“Peaceful cottage, very close to all Cavendish hot spots!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed one week at the five bedroom house. It was a great space for the 8 of us! The house is well equipped and set back from the other cottages. The kids in our group loved the pool and spacious games room. We will certainly come back another year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    35
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax Region, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked a full week at Anne's Windy Poplars and were impressed from the very beginning at how clean and neat the cottage was. Everything from the appliances, to the rooms and bathroom were all in impeccable condition. We really liked the layout of the cottages which, despite being in rows together still provided privacy and your own 'space'. The grounds were well kept and the games room provided a nice place for the kids on a rainy day. These cottages were just a few minutes down the road from all of the key attractions- close enough for convenience... but spaced just far enough away for privacy and a quiet, peaceful family getaway. We shared the cottage with my parents and the cottage comfortably slept all 6 of us. Relaxing hot tub and nice, well kept pool on site were great to beat the heat. The staff were friendly and very accommodating, coming and changing bath towels daily and helping us with wifi. We will DEFINITELY be returning... very much recommended. - S. Demmings and family

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hn�U
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a great trip! Stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed a dip in the hot tub every evening after a hard day of walking, shopping and exploring the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had privacy but also got to know some of our neighbours. Couple of tips to help make your stay great:

- bring coffee (sugar, cream etc)
- bring tin foil, plastic wrap etc. (we were bbq'ing some fish and had to borrow tin foil from the neighbour)
- bring plastic cups

It has everything else you could possibly need in a kitchen and home away from home. Exceptionally clean.

There is also a fun games building with ping pong, air hockey etc. The pool and hot tub area were also we used. Walk around the property and check out the field with horse shoe toss. There are lot's of things to see and do. I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

These cottages are great for family reunions as there are close to one another and can accommodate a big group. Very clean cottages with very comfortable beds. The boys enjoyed the Game Room playing pool while the girls enjoyed the swimming pool with the whirlpool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My inlaws, husband kids and I shared a cottage during our 3 day stay at Anne's Windy Poplars. It was a standard 2 bedroom cottage with a pull out couch.
Cottage was super clean and the kitchen had all basic cooking gear you could ask for.
What blew us away were all the extras. There is a laundry building, a games building (complete with air hockey, pool tables...no coins necessary! :) ), a fitness centre, hot tub, inground pool, sauna. The office even has a library of soft cover books and movies to borrow in case you get stuck with a boring rainy day! The owners thought of *everything*!
A bonus was the park pass that came along with the rental. We figure it saved us almost 30$ in admission fees for Cavendish beach.
My only quibble....and it is a tiny one. The garbage can is too small. It is split into three parts: plastic, compost and waste. But for 6 people, it filled up after one and a half meals.

We had the most lovely time at Anne's Windy Poplars. Highly recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet spot to recharge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Handicap accessible cottage NOT! Our daughter had to use visitor center washroom miles away! Owner stated guide shows half accessible, blamed us for not knowing yet we asked when booked, unacceptable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awp2888, Owner at Anne's Windy Poplars, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I can sympathize with Theresa M and her teen aged daughter. She is correct, we are not truly "handicap accessible" nor do we advertise ourselves as being so. In the Prince Edward Island Places to Stay book we are classified as being "partly accessible". It would seem prudent to me that when you are travelling, you should do your research on just how accessible "partly accessible" really is. In this case, someone else actually made the reservation. The "accessibility" program was recently set up by the Province of PEI and to date, of the 1000 or so accommodation operators there are only a few that are "partly accessible" and none that I am aware of with "full mobile accessibility". I have had a discussion with the accessibility program manager and there will be some changes for 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice place, second time we stayed here. Hottub was great, BUT they advertise these very expensive cottage as having fireplaces, but when you try to turn it on it won't turn on, then when you call the owner to ask why, we are rudely told that they are turned off in the summer and that there is NO reason we should be cold. Don't advertise fireplaces if YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO PROVIDE THEM !! Then you tell me to turn on the electric heat.?? If I wanted electric heat I'd have gone to a two star cottage, or stayed at home.
The decks/patios are in severe need of stain/paint very old looking. The cottage itself is nice, but both times we stayed here over the years the owner was bordering on being rude to us. Absolutely no apology about the fireplace either which was important to us... as we wanted a little romance for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask if everything they advertise is actually what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Equineox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awp2888, Owner at Anne's Windy Poplars, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It appears that sometimes when you say" no " to a guest's request you are considered to be rude. The majority of the fireplaces are propane which means there is a pilot light that is always on. In the Summer time this pilot light creates enough heat on the glass front to burn a child so we turn the fireplaces off for July and August. In July and August we have mostly families many with young children so I would rather be considered rude than reckless and irresponsible. In future advertising I will modified any ads that mention fireplaces. Best Regards, John Brewer- Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavendish hotels
1.0 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
1.2 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
1.3 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sundance Cottages
Sundance Cottages
#5 of 22 in Cavendish
222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Cavendish Maples Cottages
#1 of 22 in Cavendish
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne's Windy Poplars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne's Windy Poplars

Property: Anne's Windy Poplars
Address: 7195 Rte 13, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anne's Windy Poplars 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anne's Windy Poplars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne`s Windy Poplars Cottages Hotel Cavendish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing