We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Cavendish”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cavendish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anne Shirley Motel & Cottages
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Cavendish”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice clean room in a motel...like traveling back in time. Comfortable bed, basic bagels and English muffin breakfast. Pleasant staff. Close to the provincial park and beaches. Wifi worked great. All in all a good choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biblib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    31
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Unfortunately we had to check out early due to the moldy smell in our room. The staff were helpful in trying to help us find a different room but they all had some moldy smell and we knew we couldn't sleep well with that in the air and had to change to a different place in the area. The pool area was delightful, the rooms clean and otherwise well kept but there is work to be done to resolve the mold in the rooms that can't be seen but can be smelt. After this stay we now ask to always see the room first before we commit to staying for the night.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first before you commit for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethnicfoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed D, Manager at Anne Shirley Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We do appreciate your feedback & we do apologize that you were unsatisfied with our motel rooms . Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. We are also sorry you did not stay & enjoy the newly renovated room we offered you. The only smell being new eco-friendly carpet & new beds. We also gave you a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice motel with a good pool and very friendly staff. Would recommend staying there if you are in the Cavendish area. Don't expect too much more than a piece of toast and coffee for breakfast but the staff certainly are attentive. Go to Avonlea Village - my daughters loved it! (ONLY if they are familiar with Anne of Green Gables of course)...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here at the motel and a great afternoon by the pool. Everything was clean and there were even bbqs if you wished to cook your own dinner. We enjoyed our stay very much. The beds were comfy and the yard was very well kept and a great spot to sit under the tree in the shade and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights early July 2013. Great cottage- there were 4 friends travelling together and we got a two bedroom cottage. Included a fully stocked kitchen with plates, cups, dishwasher, dishtowels, utensils etc. Dining table for 4, living room area with couch and armchair and coffee table. Room was well kept despite being on the older side and a bit musty. Definitely would stay here again!

Lady working the front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating and the motel gives out passes to the Provincial Park/ Cavendish Beach which is a bonus!

Room Tip: Definitely would recommend the fully stocked cottages for longer stays! BBQs are on site as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandap519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

The island is very expensive so For $100 this was a nice stay. Wifi worked well rooms were clean and close to the beach about a 7 min walk. Breakfast was very basic but good, staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for something affordable and clean then this is the place! It is an older place but closer to alk the major attractions in the area. Very friendly staff and they made good recommendations on what to see and when to go when visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
1.1 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
0.8 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
10.0 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silverwood Motel
Silverwood Motel
#3 of 8 in Cavendish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.3 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Shirley Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Shirley Motel & Cottages

Property: Anne Shirley Motel & Cottages
Address: Cavendish Beach, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anne Shirley Motel & Cottages has clean, comfortable accommodations to suit all your needs whether it be a single overnight unit or a family staying for an extended period. Located in the summer resort community of Cavendish Beach, it is close to the beach, restaurants, shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anne Shirley Motel & Cottages Hotel Cavendish
Anne Shirley Motel And Cottages
Anne Shirley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing