We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne Shirley's White Sands Hotel is pure magic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dalvay
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My sisters and I spent a perfect week in one of Dalvay's cottages - it was everything we couldnhave hoped for and more. The old hotel is the picture of elegance but not at all stuffy, the staff is charming, the cottages are lovely, the location is spectacular, the food is delicious... I could go on. We traveled around the island quite a bit and fell absolutely in love. When we come back, we'll definitely stay at dalvay by the sea again. A few tips - no phones in the rooms, which is nice but also annoying; Richard's fish shack down the road has the most incredible lobster rolls, fish and chips, and lovely salads - really superb, and much cheaper than the Dalvay dining room; bring lots of bug spray; since the hotel is located inside a national park, you need to buy a permit for the car (about $20/day, I think), but only if you arrive when the ranger booth is open - we saved money once or twice by stopping at a gallery on the road home for 20 minutes or so, so we'd arrive after 6 pm. Anyway - if you're debating, just go for this. It's heaven. I can't wait to bring my husband - I'm sure it's as perfect for romance as it was for sisterly bonding.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolleyMaszola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan_Cochrane, Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Hi DolleyMaszola,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent trip to Prince Edward Island and your stay at Dalvay by the Sea.

As a new management team it is great to see that our new changes and property improvements are being noticed.

This weekend we have introduced a lounge menu featuring local seafood, vegetables and meats that will allow our guests to enjoy such delights as a Lobster Sandwich and Fish & Chips daily until 10:00 pm.

Again thank you for your review of the property and I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had booked one special night at Dalvay By The Sea before we met our friends to share a vacation cottage for 2 weeks. We arrived to a friendly welcome from Lena who took our bag upstairs to the most beautiful King Suite, filled with gorgeous antique furniture, a large bay window overlooking both the lake & the ocean, a vintage black & white bathroom with a claw tub, and lots of sunlight. We mentioned how thrilled we were to be there to celebrate our anniversary & getting through a health challenge as well.

Within 20 minutes, a knock on our door brought us a lovely bottle of wine and a personal note from Ryan the general manager. Impressive.

We went downstairs for dinner, and found that because there was a large noisy group in the dining room, a private dining room had been setup for us in a sitting room, with a view of the lake.
Heather looked after us, and she had set the table with candles & flowers, and took photos of every course. We had the most delicious meal, with flowers from the chef decorating our desserts, and were served coffee in front of our own private fire in our sitting room. We felt like celebrities. Ryan came by to chat during dininer & to ensure that we had everything that we needed as well.

After a walk on the beach across the road in the morning, we enjoyed the same private dining room for breakfast with our friendly Heather serving us again.

We could not have had a more wonderful special night to celebrate, and we cannot say enough about how friendly and personal each member of the staff were in making our stay a very memorable one indeed. Amazing service and care. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front to get a lake or ocean view and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan_Cochrane, Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Hello LovePei,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay here at Dalvay by the Sea.

It was our pleasure to be a part of your celebrations and assist in starting your excellent Prince Edward Island vacation.

I look forward to seeing both of you again next year!

Thank you,

Ryan Cochrane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our group, 2 couples, chose to stay here for one night for the experience and thoroughly enjoyed it however in July it did get a bit warm and if you are not into sleeping with your windows open this might not be for you. Both rooms were very different, one on second floor, one on third. Our friends room was very noisy, ours was beyond quiet. So if possible get specifics on the room you are reserving so you will know what to expect, but know the rooms are not soundproof.
It would have been nice if coffee were provided in the lobby for guests however, we bought our morning coffee and went our and sat by the lake. It was a beautiful, peaceful time for the most part.
We all left there having enjoying our time at the historic hotel, the beach, the lake, and the delicious restaurant, however we all agree that there are some places it would be nice to be just for couples, and this was one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hope_star78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan_Cochrane, General Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Hello, Hope_Star78,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay at Dalvay by the Sea.

We did have 3 record breaking temperature days in a row this July, it sure did create some discomfort for our guests. I am happy to say we have started the process with Parks Canada (property owner) and the National Heritage Review Board regarding the installation of a climate control system that will still maintain the historic character of our property.

I hope to see you again in the near future!

Thank you,

Ryan Cochrane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed in cottage 4, which was perfect for us. I loved the evening breeze at night. One of the best night's sleep I can remember. The main house is beautiful. Food was very good. Grounds were excellent. Access to the beach was perfect. Biking was fun. Had a wonderful cup of coffee on the porch. All around, a great facility. I can't speak to the rooms in the main house, which folks seem to complain about. But, everything else was great. The staff is on the young side. But, they try hard and were sincere. Only drawback (aside from the mosquitoes) was that it is pricey. Food was very expensive, as was the room. But, I felt like I got a lot in terms of money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan C, General Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hello Mattva1,

Thank you for the review of our property. As a new managment team it is great to see the that some of the changes are being noticed by our guests.

I hope to see you at Dalvay by the Sea again!

Thank you,

Ryan Cochrane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What an amazing opportunity to enjoy Dalvay as a guest instead of just a gawker like I have been for so many years. We stayed at one of the newer cottages because of the size of our party I was traveling with and ended up deciding to enjoy a fine dining experience like the people of yesteryear would've done if they came out to visit Alexander McDonald for the summer getaway cool ocean breeze.

The staff treated us like royalties. The GM and her husband gave us a guided tour with history of the home and let us look over some of the rooms of the hotel since we were in a cabin. It felt like we had our own theatre performance with Alana's colorful explanations and obvious love of the building she was taking under her wing.

We dressed up for dinner that evening and enjoyed an amazing culinary dream meal complete with amuse bouche between plates. Syd was sweet enough to let us sample a taste of the smoked salmon that Dalvay does on location. Amazingly well done. Our waitress who was supposed to be working at Stanhope (before it burned down) was adjusting to the switch nicely with the instructions of the GM and her husband. She even picked up my friends napkin and placed it on the back of her seat so when she returned from the washroom it would be easy to grab to place back on her lap!!

After dinner we walked out to water the meteorshower on the lawn with the lake before us and listening to the ocean crashing just beyond the dunes. Truly a magical evening spent at a beautiful resort. I see many people complaining about no tv or phones in the rooms...really...do you need to watch tv when the world is set before your feet?! Enjoy the moments you're in! Make your own reality show. :)

Loved every minute and made great new memories for years to come. Not to mention the inspiration I got for new paintings!

Room Tip: If you aren't into a more dated and antique/victorian stay, but sill wish to enjoy the dining/lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I went here for a wedding that was very beautiful! The reception was right in front of the lake and was gorgeous. The feel of the hotel is very rustic & vintage. The staff set up the dining room very nicely. It got a bit hot in there, but in PEI it is usually very windy, so the problem was solved by just opening a window. The dining staff were also very helpful and friendly, they were very accommodating!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkvalentine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Dalvay was built by an American originally as a summer house (hard to believe it is so large but the Victorians were big on that). It is owned by the province but managed by a private company and they do a good job with a summer only property. The rooms in the main house are rustic but charming and there are newer built cottages around the lake as well for families. The house is amazing and an addition was built on to enlarge the dining room but the food is nothing over the top. The high tea is nice in the summer but expensive. The best thing about the Hotel is staying in the main building and wandering around the public areas if you love old buildings like I do. It's not about the room here - it's about the building and the location. Small beach across the street but everything else is a drive away. I love to go and wander around the hotel and eat there sometimes (or do high tea) but the cost is a bit much sometimes for what the rooms are like.

Room Tip: Look at their website and see the pictures of the rooms to help you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spazzygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalvay
12.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
12.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
665 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
765 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalvay by the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Address: 16 Cottage Cres. | Rte. 6, Dalvay Beach, Dalvay, Prince Edward Island C0A 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Dalvay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dalvay
Price Range: £143 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalvay by the Sea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalvay-By-The-Sea, a National Historic Site of Canada, is an elegant Queen Anne Revival home built in 1895 by a Scottish-American oil tycoon. A summer resort hotel since the 1930's, Dalvay By-The-Sea is located at the east end of Prince Edward Island's National Park on scenic Dalvay Beach. There are 25 guest rooms; all are largely furnished in period antiques and all rooms offer a four-piece private bath. Each of our rooms is singular and unique. In addition, there are eight three-bedroom cottages located adjacent to the inn, offering vistas of the ocean, Dalvay Lake and acres of manicured grounds. The inn currently operates from June 1st - mid October, offering both accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dalvay by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dalvay By The Sea
Dalvay By The Sea Hotel Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing