We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dumpy cottages” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavendish Gateway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavendish Gateway Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dumpy cottages”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

We booked 2 nights months in advance and I'm glad we didn't prepay on this one. The cottages cost the most and have few amenities. The pictures of the interior are from a bygone era. The blinds fell off of the front door upon entry, the light and ceiling fan wouldn't work at THE SAME TIME and the bathroom door was so warped the linoleum was scraped from years of wear and tear so that my child could barely enter and exit. Other facilities are within minutes and there's nothing else in Mayfield anyway.

  • Liked — Changed to an interior hotel room
  • Disliked — the trashy cottage I paid more for...
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sratorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    14
    13
    14
See reviews for
37
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

After reading some mixed reviews on this property we decided the picture looked so charming we would take a chance and book our 2 nights on PEI here. Big mistake! I don't know where that photo was taken but it flatters what is a very plain hotel.

Our troubles began on check in. We waited behind 2 couples that were checking in together for about 20 minutes before our turn arrived. Staff seemed inefficient and slow. When our turn finally came we learned that there was no elevator and we were on the second floor ( which is in reality 3 flights of stairs up). We asked for a first floor room since we had 2 kids, some medical equipment, a computer and 4 suitcases. There were no ground floor rooms available so we settle for second floor. We were also informed at this time that the "restaurant" that is advertised in the brochure as a full service dining room serving breakfast, lunch and dinner actually only serves a continental breakfast.

We lugged our suitcases and kids up 3 flights of stairs only to find out that our room had no A/C. Now, this was partially my fault as I assumed there was A/C since the hotel advertised itself as being uniquely suited to people with allergies since it had hard wood floors and a filtered air system . We don't have any allergies but the filtered air system made me think that the hotel must have A/C. Not so. It was a hot day so we went back to the desk to request a room with A/C. That was available....on the 3rd floor. That would be 2 more flights up...now a total of 5 flights! But we hate the heat so we moved. The room was half the size of the other room ( she explained that alot of their rooms were small and we had originally been given the one larger rooms for families). As we entered the new room we were struck by the horrible smell of the room...but we didn't want to seem like nuts and complain again so we hoped turning on the A/C would solve the problem. It didn't. Nor did the A/C work well enough to cool even this small room and we ended up sleeping with the windows open the second night.

We decided to try the pool since we were all melting after all the moving and waiting for the A/C to kick in (which never happend).
The pool room was dirty with bugs (dead and alive) all over the windows and deck. The ground floor where the pool is located was dirty and smelled bad. There were janitoral rooms open and with all kinds of garbage and dirty buckets everywhere...just unplesant to walk through. Basically the whole hotel smelled bad but the pool area is where the smell was the worst

The bedding on the beds was worn out. The beds were worn out!
On our trip we stayed at everything form 5 star hotels to 1 1/2 star and this was by far the WORSE beds of the trip! The mattress was lumpy, worn out and really squeaky.

This is a smelly, worn out hotel in poor repair and with inefficient staff. Did I mention the moldy shower curtain or bathroom tiles...or that pool towels are not at the pool..you need to get them at the front desk..located a mile through a maze in the hotel....I could go on but I think you get the idea.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — Paying $130 per night for a dump!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brytorlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mayfield hotels

Halifax
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2007

We booked this hotel thru the internet using points we had accumulated with this hotel chain and its affiliates. The pictures on the net looked very nice, and although there were not a lot of reviews that we could find, we took a chance on what we saw. The reservation read "pool view" etc., so thought this might be a nice spot to spend a few nights. The hotel is in very close proximity to Cavendish, New Glasgow (lobster suppers), North Rustico, Brackley Beach, etc. Upon arrival, we were struck by the untidy grounds, abundance of weeds, broken paved driveway, lack of plants, lights and shrubs. A deck situated near the front of the hotel looked crooked and in need of repair, missing some of the privacy panel skirting, etc. The hotel just looked very "plain" and run down. The lobby wasn't bad, nothing fancy. We were told to drive around the back and enter the building that way. At the back of the hotel were some cottages, a worn looking playground and some shrubs and weeds lined the pathway to the entrance. The room we had, which was "pool view"...the view was across the worn dilapidated decking to another patio door leading to the indoor pool. This wasn't exactly what I had pictured... The room itself was OK but we immediately noticed an odour (possibly mildew), and the room and bathroom were in need of a good scrub and vacuum (soap scum on taps and countertops, "stuff" on the toilet seat...ewww...hairs in the tub, dust bunnies thoughout the room and dust gorillas at the bottom of the closet). We swabbed down the place with Lysol wipes and wore footwear at all times. There was a mini fridge in the room, which was nice to have. There was no ice as the ice machine appeared to be unplugged. We did not see a dining room although there appears to be one somewhere according to the map of the complex. We ventured down a hallway to the pool to check it out, the hall was littered with garbage, chairs, and maintenance stuff. The pool smelled very strongly of chlorine and we decided immediately that we would not be using it. The posted room rate on the door was $195.00 per night. We were glad we got it for free with points. If we had been paying, we would not have stayed, and we won't be returning. It's a shame, because the property has real potential and is in a good location, but it just looks like it is being left to deteriorate. Was all this due to the fact that it is "off season"? Well if so, there are only a few weeks to get it up to snuff for the high season.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness/grounds deterioration
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BluenoserHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro ns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2006

Well we got a family package which included alot of stuff we were looking for. The rooms were very clean. We upgraded to a kitchen unit and that was very big. The only draw back is the breakfast, if you like to eat prepare to go somewheres else as the set up they have is no good. I could go on and on about the breakfast but other than that is was very nice. The hotel is so nice and clean. The staff are also very nice. We just got back on the 15th and were very pleased. Also i should mention our kids are 6 mth, 2.5 and 6. Not much for little kid playground equipment so if they like to be active dont depend on the hotel for this. But I say stay here. Compares to the other hotels this one looks the best the others look disgusting on the outside so i can only imagine what the inside is.

  • Liked — the hotel was very nice.
  • Disliked — food
  • Tips/Secrets — Expect to go elsewhere for breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ryegracen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

Our family stayed at the Clarion Collection Cavendish Gateway resort as we were enticed by the rate for their "Family Fun" package. The pricing in retrospect was a good value as we enjoyed "free" admission (included with hotel rate) to the main Cavendish attractions: Green Gables, Avonlea, Sandspit amusement park and Cavendish Beach.
However, the southern wing of the hotel smelled musty, particularly in the hallway, and our room smelled strongly of mold and mildew. Getting to the complimentary breakfast room involved a rather lengthy trek through the property's northern wing, which, oddly, smelled fresher. We were approached by staff for a voucher for our complimentary continental breakfast, however, we were never given vouchers upon checking in. The pool was in a semi-finished looking area of the property. Didn't feel safe.

Passes to the attractions were also handled awkwardly at the front desk. We had hoped to "do" all the Anne of Green Gables activities on our first day: Avonlea and Green Gables House, and all the outdoor things: Park and Sandspit on the second day. We were dissuaded from obtaining all passes necessary to suit our planned itinerary and instead had to return to the hotel AFTER checking out after our second night to return the passes for Green Gables House and Cavendish Beach. Not very efficient nor professional.

Overall, we were disappointed with this property and will not stay there again when we return to PEI.

  • Liked — attractions passes included in price of accommodation
  • Disliked — smelly, didn't want to return to the room for night
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid south wing rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aquamarina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2005

Everything was perfect with our family package. After reviewing many other potential packages we chose Cavendish Gateway Resort and we were totally pleased. Excellent breakfast, service, clean and spacious rooms and a lot of variety offered in the package. Horse and wagon rides on the property, campfire, tennis court, etc. Everyone should come over and experience the great family package deal offered by this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2005

The Cavendish Gateway Resort did not impress us. After visiting many hotels throughout the Maritimes, it was not the greatest. But, the family package (in value season) gave us a rate that was cheap for Cavendish. We also got free breakfast, a picnic lunch (good for the beach), ice cream, and our choice of two attractions. We picked Avonlea and Rainbow Valley, and had a relatively good time.

The hotel is really more of a motel, all on one story except for the pool/dining area, where some rooms are on floors.

If you have ever been to a Comfort Inn/Quality Inn/Clarion property etc. you pretty much have an idea of this hotel. It's alright, but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikeez_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayfield
3.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
8.2 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
18.5 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Gateway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Gateway Resort

Property: Cavendish Gateway Resort
Address: 6596 Rte 13, Mayfield, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada (Formerly Clarion Collection Cavendish Gateway Resort)
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Mayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Gateway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the fresh Island air. Relax in the summer sun. Enjoy the beauty of the Island's rolling hills. At Cavendish Gateway Resort in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, we offer competitive rates, excellent service, comfortable rooms and a 3.5-star Canada Select rating. The world-famous Anne of Green Gables Heritage Place and other Anne attractions are just minutes from our countryside property, as are Cavendish Beach, world-class golf courses, and Lobster Suppers - a PEI tradition. Onsite, you'll find our sheltered barbecue area, tennis court, playground, indoor pool and games room with pool table and gym equipment. Everything you need for your PEI vacation. Join us at Cavendish Gateway Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cavendish Gateway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Cavendish Gateway Hotel Mayfield
Clarion Collection Mayfield
Clarion Mayfield
Mayfield Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing