We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
88
30
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
30
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the owner comfortable beds on site beautiful room hotel room bedroom cottage continental breakfast a great place to stay waffles lovely view keurig coffee maker within walking distance picnic tables the staff were friendly and helpful information centre three bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Every once in a long while you come across an unexpected gem - unexpected in the quality of service, physical property and amenities - unexpected in its location - unexpected in the value you receive for your vacation dollar. This is just such a place, a real gem. This property actually has two parts to it - the longer running Lane's Cottages and Suites and the newer Lane's Riverside Inn. It is the latter I am rating. Opened only in Feb 14 you would expect, and you will receive, a property that is clean, crisp and very inviting. But there is much that you will enjoy that will last for years. The rooms are extremely well laid out for comfort and functionality, every room has a riverside view, every room has a balcony (of varying size) overlooking the river. More than enough free parking is provided on site. Very strong signal on the free wifi allows for quick internet service, a real plus in my book! Amenities provided in the room are top flight and complete. Continental breakfast is provided in the room rate. This is a property that presents extremely well and which I highly recommend. The owner is engaged in the operation and in daily attendance. The towns several restaurants are within easy walking distance - perhaps 4 blocks. I was unable to determine anything that did not meet or exceed my standards - as a traveller that spends 100 or more nights a year on the road, those standards are high.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in late Feb. 2014 in the newly opened "Riverhouse Inn" section. The Inn, which opened in Jan. is very nice! The room was spacious and nicely decorated, and being on the third floor it had a balcony with a view of the river and Montague marina. The king bed was comfortable, and there was a large flat screen TV and small fridge. Everything was clean and tidy.

The only small downside was there was no chair for the desk in the room, which the owner explained is still on back order....I'm sure it will be remedied soon!

Overall very satisfied, I have paid more money and gotten much less nice rooms over the years! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tartanfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you! We appreciate all your patience with the chair, the joys of a new hotel :) Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I really enjoyed this stop. First impression isn't great since they are under construction for a large hotel, and from the entrance the "suites" just look like a regular roadside motel. Once you walk around the building to enter you room, your whole impression will quickly change! It is located right on the river next to the wharf, where you can watch the boats quietly come and go. Open the door to your room, and you discover a very large spotlessly clean room that includes kitchen table with 2 chairs, sofa, queen size bed, dresser, small fridge, and a hutch which, when opened, revealed a 2-burner stove, microwave and kitchen sink along with everything you would need if you wanted to cook for yourself. It had great wifi and satellite reception and several restaurants and fast-food spots are close by. The biggest negative is that you pay a $50 nonrefundable deposit when booking the room, leaving no space if your plans change. Nevertheless, this is one of those places where I'd love to come back and spend more time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Beautiful accommodations - we stayed in a 2 bedroom with river view, cottage has been redone with lovely wood floors, beautifully remodelled bathroom, has air conditioning, very well laid out kitchen which is well-equipped, comfortable beds. Even a new gas bbq and your own deck with table - this has it all and SUPER CLEAN!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank deeroc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have stayed here many times over the years, and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms, cottages and suites are spacious, well equipped and immaculately clean. And the view! You can't beat the picturesque view of the montague river. Each unit has its own bbq and picnic table. The perfect place to stay any time of the year, but really ideal during the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terryloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews