We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Say Enough!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't Say Enough!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Riverhouse Inn was an unexpected haven at the end of a very long day exploring PEI, we had almost given up hope of finding a place for the evening that we felt met our standards. The Riverhouse Inn met our standards and beyond, a "gem". Our spacious room was accessible directly from the parking lot and like all the rooms had a view of the river and Montague marina. Wi-Fi was consistent and the self-serve breakfast of waffles a treat. Our hostesses were very hospitable and informative and we wish them well in their new adventure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea123829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so very much for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    20
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Every once in a long while you come across an unexpected gem - unexpected in the quality of service, physical property and amenities - unexpected in its location - unexpected in the value you receive for your vacation dollar. This is just such a place, a real gem. This property actually has two parts to it - the longer running Lane's Cottages and Suites and the newer Lane's Riverside Inn. It is the latter I am rating. Opened only in Feb 14 you would expect, and you will receive, a property that is clean, crisp and very inviting. But there is much that you will enjoy that will last for years. The rooms are extremely well laid out for comfort and functionality, every room has a riverside view, every room has a balcony (of varying size) overlooking the river. More than enough free parking is provided on site. Very strong signal on the free wifi allows for quick internet service, a real plus in my book! Amenities provided in the room are top flight and complete. Continental breakfast is provided in the room rate. This is a property that presents extremely well and which I highly recommend. The owner is engaged in the operation and in daily attendance. The towns several restaurants are within easy walking distance - perhaps 4 blocks. I was unable to determine anything that did not meet or exceed my standards - as a traveller that spends 100 or more nights a year on the road, those standards are high.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in late Feb. 2014 in the newly opened "Riverhouse Inn" section. The Inn, which opened in Jan. is very nice! The room was spacious and nicely decorated, and being on the third floor it had a balcony with a view of the river and Montague marina. The king bed was comfortable, and there was a large flat screen TV and small fridge. Everything was clean and tidy.

The only small downside was there was no chair for the desk in the room, which the owner explained is still on back order....I'm sure it will be remedied soon!

Overall very satisfied, I have paid more money and gotten much less nice rooms over the years! Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartanfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you! We appreciate all your patience with the chair, the joys of a new hotel :) Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I really enjoyed this stop. First impression isn't great since they are under construction for a large hotel, and from the entrance the "suites" just look like a regular roadside motel. Once you walk around the building to enter you room, your whole impression will quickly change! It is located right on the river next to the wharf, where you can watch the boats quietly come and go. Open the door to your room, and you discover a very large spotlessly clean room that includes kitchen table with 2 chairs, sofa, queen size bed, dresser, small fridge, and a hutch which, when opened, revealed a 2-burner stove, microwave and kitchen sink along with everything you would need if you wanted to cook for yourself. It had great wifi and satellite reception and several restaurants and fast-food spots are close by. The biggest negative is that you pay a $50 nonrefundable deposit when booking the room, leaving no space if your plans change. Nevertheless, this is one of those places where I'd love to come back and spend more time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Beautiful accommodations - we stayed in a 2 bedroom with river view, cottage has been redone with lovely wood floors, beautifully remodelled bathroom, has air conditioning, very well laid out kitchen which is well-equipped, comfortable beds. Even a new gas bbq and your own deck with table - this has it all and SUPER CLEAN!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank deeroc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have stayed here many times over the years, and have never been disappointed. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms, cottages and suites are spacious, well equipped and immaculately clean. And the view! You can't beat the picturesque view of the montague river. Each unit has its own bbq and picnic table. The perfect place to stay any time of the year, but really ideal during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very clean & cozy. Looks off the river. Nice and quiet. Has laundry facilities. Our cabin had a nice kitchen nook with table & chairs, fridge, microwave, stove & oven. 2 bedrooms (beds are 3 quarter size) small closet & dresser in each. Living room with couch (pull out bed), rocker recliner & 32" flat screen tv. Has Wi-Fi (a little slow) but useful. Price is good. All in all a good stay. (off season so not as busy) Currently doing major renos. March 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
19.1 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
23.8 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Super 8 Charlottetown PE
18.0 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages

Property: Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Address: 33 Brook St., Montague, Prince Edward Island C0A 1R0, Canada (Formerly Lane's Cottages and Suites)
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Montague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing