We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Choice”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful choice means we took a chance and booked this on line. My wife and I were on our way to the ferry to take us to The Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St Lawrence. Montaque is 45 mins from the ferry. Lanes Riverhouse offered the perfect overnight stop on that July 7th 2014 evening. It's newly constructed, very clean, (yes very clean). Staff answered all our questions and provided information on where to have a nice dinner near by. Great breakfast provided. All rooms overlook the Murray River waterfront. Comfortable beds, Free WiFi, wonderful people, wonderful choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level easy access to your vehicle, don't have to use the inside elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtdj001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are also glad you took the risk to book online. Was great having you stay here and hope we see you again. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean modern rooms, and a great view of the river. The room was spotless and has all the necessary amenities. It's within walking distance of the town, restaurants, and a great ice cream kiosk. How can you beat that? The room has a balcony where you can sit and watch the river flow by. THe bed is big and comfy. The only drawback is that we have to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, next time maybe you wont have to leave so soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Found this hotel on line and made reservations by phone for two nights. It is a new building with the finest interior decoration, fabulous beds, great views from every room, windows overlooking the river and harbor, direct connection with the Confederation Trail, and clean, clean, clean! Continental breakfast was fine, too. The owners are gracious and accommodating. I have been recommending this hotel to everyone in the area. Wish we could go back and stay a week.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms. Windows on three sides with a private balcony -- luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandAngel13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Very much for the kind words. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back, and maybe this time for the week :)
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We came to the Island and asked a gal at the tourism stand by the ferry for a recommendation for a hotel. She recommended the Lane Riverside Inn based on reviews from others. She called the hotel for us and was able to get us 2 rooms. The service was amazing, clean rooms, great breakfast and the owner was there to answer questions and recommend places to visit. We were so impressed by the service we stayed there another night and toured the island from there. The hotel opened in February of 2014 so it is clean, roomy, comfortable beds, and we even had hard wood floors in out room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the harbor but we were especially impressed with the real wood floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bizybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.
Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I found Lanes Riverhouse Inn and Cottages online and am ever so happy that I did. We stayed with these fine folks on the 28th June. How fortunate we were to find this lovely hotel with wonderful fun, friendly and helpful staff. We were doubly fortunate to find an art show going on in the lower part of the hotel and that evening a concert by Fiddler's Sons in the pretty little theater that they have. The art show amazing the music fantastic what a happy evening we had and the next morning a nice relaxing breakfast before we departed. Lanes I would recommend to anyone from the front desk staff, to the cleaning staff all excellent rooms are clean and bright and if you are fortunate to get one over looking the Montague River...the night lights are very pretty.
Such a great place to stay and we will be back.
Patty and Wayne Kingston ON

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river have a great view and the balcony are great to relax on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you Patty and Wayne for your kind words. We really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your timing could not have been better regarding the Art Festival. Hope to see you again when you come this way again.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to find this gem! Walked in the hotel room, and the first thing we noticed that this room was a cut above the rest from the flooring to the bedding and all the finishes. Also, the room was very clean! A great place to spend a night or more. We didn't wake up in time to try the breakfast but the friendly folks did not mind us taking coffee on our way out. So don't be fooled by the lack of a grand entrance when you drive up-- it is worth it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, General Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are really glad you enjoyed the room and your stay. Hope to see you again! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love this spot. Original cottages come with kitchenettes and Keurig coffee maker..how nice! Very clean and dogs allowed, reasonable rates. Cottages of various sizes. All cottages have views of the river. New hotel has been added and both the cottages and hotel rooms with walking paths are on the Montague River. Nice views, local amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, General Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much. We are very proud of what we have here with both the cottages and hotel. We really hope we see you again on your next trip to our beautiful island.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
19.1 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
18.0 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
263 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
400 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
5.4 mi away
Georgetown Historic Inn
Georgetown Historic Inn
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages

Property: Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Address: 33 Brook St., Montague, Prince Edward Island C0A 1R0, Canada (Formerly Lane's Cottages and Suites)
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Montague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing