We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed last night in one of the "Lookout" rooms in the main hotel. It is a beautiful, clean hotel with a free breakfast. We also stayed in a regular king room a couple of months ago. I think any room in this hotel has a gorgeous view of the harbour. Dean at the front desk is very personable and will answer any questions you may have. Besides toast, bagels, yogurt, muffins for breakfast, they also have yummy waffles. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I'm sure anyone would be pleased with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you Sandy, for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again! We also look forward to your next visit! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    20
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in the new hotel opened in Feb this year, there are still lots of cottage's as well
The furniture was exquisite, beds very comfy, breakfast room had everything that you would need, and the best of all the AIR CONDITIONER was SO quiet,

Excellent stay, right along the trail, they have a great Ice Cream shop outdoors and it is all has a fabulous view of the river

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out over the river, excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artisianswindow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words, glad you were able to enjoy the newness. We hope to maintain that new feel for years to come. Hopefully we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HongKong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was in the older Motel type section of the Inn. The room was very clean and was very quiet at night. The only thing I found strange was that they did not come in and clean the room or make the bed. I stayed two nights. This was not a big deal but I just found it odd. Was I supposed to clean the room myself?

Room Tip: I've only stayed once so cannot advise on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haghkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. As for the cleaning, in our cottage units we don't do daily cleanings. We do every other day towel changes and garbage removals. If anything is needed though, we are more than happy to do what we can. I hope this sheds some light on the situation. We hope to see you this way again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in one of the riverview cottages. The room was clean, functional and the bed was comfortable. We didn't need the kitchen facility as we were only there for one overnight. I did find it a little odd that a sign said we needed to wash and dry all dishes before leaving. We used 2 coffee cups along with the coffee maker as per normal in a motel room & I did wash the cups which isn't normal. I would prefer knowing that the dishes were replaced and cleaned by the hotel rather than the previous guest.

Room Tip: One of the staff suggested we stay in the hotel next time, saying it was very nice and did have an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. In our cottage units most people stay more than one night, hence the kitchenette and the "do your dishes" sign. As you can imagine when we have longer staying guests that use the kitchen facilities the dishes could pile up. We do make sure they are clean however and don't leave that to chance.
If you head back this way, would love to have stay in the hotel!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked for 2 nights and we're very pleased with the location of the motel. The view from our room was spectacular. My hubby and I enjoyed sitting out on our deck taking in the view of the boats going by. Our room was large and spacious and was fresh and new and still smelled of new construction. Rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated. Home away from home. We will be sure to return next year. Reasonable price.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a water view. We were on the 1st floor and had a beautiful view of Montague...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freckles__16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wonderful choice means we took a chance and booked this on line. My wife and I were on our way to the ferry to take us to The Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St Lawrence. Montaque is 45 mins from the ferry. Lanes Riverhouse offered the perfect overnight stop on that July 7th 2014 evening. It's newly constructed, very clean, (yes very clean). Staff answered all our questions and provided information on where to have a nice dinner near by. Great breakfast provided. All rooms overlook the Murray River waterfront. Comfortable beds, Free WiFi, wonderful people, wonderful choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level easy access to your vehicle, don't have to use the inside elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtdj001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are also glad you took the risk to book online. Was great having you stay here and hope we see you again. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
194 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean modern rooms, and a great view of the river. The room was spotless and has all the necessary amenities. It's within walking distance of the town, restaurants, and a great ice cream kiosk. How can you beat that? The room has a balcony where you can sit and watch the river flow by. THe bed is big and comfy. The only drawback is that we have to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanScheepers, Manager at Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, next time maybe you wont have to leave so soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montague
19.1 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
23.8 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Super 8 Charlottetown PE
18.0 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages

Property: Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
Address: 33 Brook St., Montague, Prince Edward Island C0A 1R0, Canada (Formerly Lane's Cottages and Suites)
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Montague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing