We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bed & Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rustico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Inn by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 3 Rustico B&B and Inns
Lubec, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found the hosts to be warm and inviting. Donalda helped plan our day's activities while we were there, while Reggie enjoyed playing golf on PEI'S great courses. The room had a great view and the breakfast was amazing, the best we ever had in a B&B. My wife felt like she'd known Donalda for years.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mahomet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights with Donalda and Reggie Doucette at the Anchor Inn by the Sea in mid-September and found it ever so difficult to leave. The view from the bedroom window is something to look forward to each morning regardless of the weather. Donalda and Reggie were indeed the perfect hosts. As stated in a previous review, staying there was as if staying with old friends or relatives. Donalda has considerable experience in tourism and is like having your own personal tour guide. Each morning, after a way too filling breakfast, she would get a map and begin circling places that we shouldn't miss. Plus, both Donalda and Reggie are lifelong residents of PEI so you can get a lot of history of the island. As guests, we had the entire upstairs to ourselves. We had a sitting area with sofa, easy chair, table & chairs plus a large bedroom with the attached bathroom. There is also excellent wifi available. I began missing Anchor Inn by the Sea and the Doucettes as soon as we left! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here just a few weeks ago. We were looking for a bed and breakfast on the north shore, close to Cavendish. Reggie and Donalda were wonderful hosts. The house is in a quiet neighbourhood overlooking the water. There is only one room and it takes up the top floor. The bedroom is very comfortable and has a nice view of the water. The bathroom is small with a slanted ceiling, so it wouldn't be great for very tall people. And the shower is actually in the bedroom while the tub/toilet/sink are in the bathroom - worked well for a couple travelling together but might not be for everyone! Breakfast was simple and tastey. Our hosts were so welcoming that staying at the Anchor Inn felt more like staying with relatives you hadn't seen in a while. It was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mistyrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

A few months ago, when first planning my trip to PEI, I was trying to find a good bed and breakfast on the island outside of Charlottetown. Some places were not open in May, when we planned on going, and others did not seem perfect enough. Then, I stumbled across the Anchor Inn by the Sea. Though not very much information was available, especially on TripAdvisor, looking at their website gave me a gut instinct that I had found something exceptional.

I ended up booking two of the four nights we had on PEI at the Anchor Inn. I did not make a better decision during the whole of this trip.

Donalda and Reggie are two of the most genuinely kind and helpful hosts I have had the pleasure to get to know. Not only do they run a top notch establishment in the Anchor Inn, complete with a comfortable bedroom, jacuzzi, and private dining area, but they will do anything in their power to make your PEI experience the best it can be.

For example, Donalda, having worked for PEI Tourism, was incredibly helpful when planning our days. Simply let her show you where to go on the map provided to you by her, and any doubt vanishes that you will be maximizing your time on PEI.

Another example of our exceptional time was our final evening at the Anchor Inn. Debating whether to take part in one of the 'famous' lobster dinners up in Rustico, Donalda and Reggie suggested simply buying a couple cooked lobsters from the fisherman's store up the road and bringing them back to be eaten on the porch. Needless to say, Reggie disassembled and prepared the lobsters like a pro, and we were able to enjoy the best kind of lobster dinner - a private one.

I knew what to title this review ever since staying at the Anchor Inn. The most important piece of information travelers should know is that the Anchor Inn by the Sea is exactly where you should be on PEI. Enjoy a night or two in Charlottetown, but please have the real experience of PEI and stay right on the northern coast with Reggie and Donalda.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fightingwithavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rustico
5.3 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
4.9 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
95 reviews
5.3 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
1.5 mi away
Barachois Inn
Barachois Inn
#2 of 3 in Rustico
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pines Motel
Pines Motel
#2 of 9 in Rustico
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn by the Sea

Property: Anchor Inn by the Sea
Address: 80 Bayview Drive, Rustico, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Rustico
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rustico
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn By The Sea Rustico, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing