We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barachois Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverwood Motel(Cavendish)
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Motel(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackley Beach North Winds(Brackley Beach)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel(Dalvay)(Great Value!)
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fair Isle Motel(Brackley)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
67
7
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
7
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmacdonald housefrench toastprince edward islandcatholic churchco ownergreen gablesher husbanddream come truehistoric sitesadjoining buildingwealth of knowledgestayed for nightsandreamcdonaldssuiteannegallant
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My partner and I spent the last part of our honeymoon on PEI this past week and the last three days were at the amazing Barachois Inn. We had found this place by combing over the web, and our honeymoon consisted of staying in three wonderful places, but this was the best. It compared with our stay at the White Barn Inn where we paid 4 times the daily rate 1

You will understand as you drive up. The pictures do this place no justice. We stayed in the Galant House, and our single bedroom was large by anybodies standards. Every item seemed like it was brand new including the sink, but the place had been built about 4 years ago. They were able to recreate the feel of old with the amenities of new.

What surprised us the most was that the owners have thought of everything. If you forgot it, they have thought about it and it is in your room.

We love Maine, Nova Scotia, etc, but PEI was a little boring for us, but nonetheless, staying at the Barachois made it worth it. Centrally located it allowed you to get to Charlottetown in 20 minutes and either coast easily.

You will be happy, trust us !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GopalG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

A recent trip to this location was foreshadowed as dubious by too many emails citing policies on booking and payment. But we went ahead anyway.

When we arrived, after dark, we were not welcomed warmly but we were given directions to our room, a suite in the MacDonald House, which we found to be quite acceptable.

But that was when the first problem presented itself. The presentation was a little overly stuffed with antiques from the previous century, such that we had to move a small table as it was blocking the path to the bathroom at night. Then we needed to try to discover some interesting spots for our luggage, as there were no luggage racks or other space dedicated to the cause.

Looking around a bit, we found that the bath was really lovely and quite clean, with an air tub and a lot of vanity space to spread out our toiletries. There was also a very nice shower.

However, walking past the bath, it was a bit rough walking out onto the balcony and banging one's ankle into the sharp corner of the shingled roof that was not flush with the wall.

Also, to our surprise the room was stifling hot upon arrival, and it took quite some time to discover the air conditioner's trick location, hidden behind a cabinet door - aha! I began to wonder how many people never find it at all.

The information binder we discovered along the way had some useful information about local attractions, but it was also given over to a significant number of warnings and rules, and we soon discovered that we had already broken one or two of them. We are adults who are not accustomed to being treated like school children, and so we had to decide early on that we would show respect for all the property in the room, but that we were not paying for a suite so that we could discover all over again how to be good and obey rules whilst bumping into things in the night!

Changes would have to be made to prevent injury and make our environment more comfortable, and so they were. I have to add though that acting in this deliberate manner gave me some misgivings because the rules left no room for discussion, and we would obviously be found out when our room was cleaned. There was no Do-Not-Disturb sign on the door's handle, and clearly the room would be inspected and our merit would be assessed, based upon our ability to obey the rules. It was not a feel-good situation.

Extra toilet paper, when it was needed, was finally found tucked away in a cabinet under the kitchen sink. It was stacked next to some interesting wiring that did not look safe or code worthy, but the blinking light on a ceiling fixture with gadgets and a small microphone gave reassurance that if there was a fire the surveillance technology would possibly transmit some kind of signal to the main house.

Breakfast was what the guests made it, as the food was rather ordinary: a fruit salad that was not all fresh fruit, eggs and toast or berries and something else. Thank goodness for the lovely people we met at the table, who added a great deal to our enjoyment.

The staff were a small and strange lot, sometimes brusque and at other times very much like the friendly people we found almost everywhere else on Prince Edward Island, happy to know you and wanting to please you. It was confusing, a curious situation. Therefore the formally typed request for a gratuity that came with the bill was rather a surprise, and although we are not adverse to tipping,we did not feel that a formal gratuity was warranted, certainly not at a prompt like that.

This Inn is not one I would recommend to anyone. I think it will improve after the new staff arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Straightup-thetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

The service, the setting, the accomodation, the people at the Barachois Inn are outstanding. We lacked for nothing: beautifully appointed rooms with tasteful original artwork and fine antiques (no death-by-Laura-Ashley here!), generous supplies of toiletries, crisp sheets, sink-into couches; wonderful straight-forward breakfasts (as opposed to the galaxy of outlandish concoctions often served in B & Bs, that leave one feeling sluggish all day); and hosts that have years of experience in making their guests feel comfortable and appreciated. The innkeepers, Judy and Gary MacDonald and their daughters Andrea and Denise, obviously enjoy what they do and go out of their way to offer sincere hospitality.

The situation couldn't be better. The Barachois is set in a tiny traditional village, with two small museums within 20 metres, a beach at the foot of the lane, and Anne Shirleyland some 10 minutes away. The inn's lovely Victorian garden and picket fence enhance the Green Gables mystique.

The MacDonald family has created a holiday retreat where the standards are uniformly high. It's not hard to see why so many of their guests are returnees.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

The Barachois Inn in Rustico is a magical find. Overlooking Rustico Bay in rural Prince Edward Island, this lovingly restored Victorian inn has been enhanced with a carefully matched second building that includes luxury suites, a conference room, sauna and exercise room. Located in the historic Acadian heart of PEI ten minutes from the Cavendish setting for Ann of Green Gables, and even closer to the New Glasgow Lobster Suppers, the Inn itself is a soothing retreat.

But the best feature of this unique bed and breakfast is its hostess, Judy MacDonald. Her boundless energy has not being limited to restoring this historic property with her husband Gary. Her leadership of a talented group of local volunteers has resulted in the refurbishing of the Farmer's Bank of Rustico, as a marvelous museum tribute of the rich history of this community. The museum is well worth a visit. Judy is a wealth of knowledge about PEI history.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DouneBryces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

We are just back home from the Barachois Inn, and frankly, home doesn't look so good compared to the Barachois! I was concerned that, as we were travelling to PEI in April, off-season, there might not be much to do, and places to stay might be cold and 'closed-up' feeling. Thanks to Judy, the co-owner of the Barachois, we found the opposite to be true.
Firstly, the room we stayed in, in the new-build but old-style MacDonald house, was gorgeous. It had all the comforts of a modern room (adjustable heating, whirlpool tub, CD player and TV/DVD) but all the charm of a heritage inn, with faithfully-recreated details and beautiful objets d'art. Judy left us a welcome basket of food which was much appreciated as we arrived in the very late evening.
Secondly, the welcome we received could not have been warmer. We benefitted from Judy's advice and local knowledge, helping us to hire a car, find out about opening hours of attractions, and even helping us get to places the first day before we hired our car.
We fully intend to return to PEI within the next few years, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than the Barachois.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Deaineira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews