We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast, friendly generous helpful hosts, clean!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Au Gite de la Chute
Ranked #2 of 2 Boischatel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast, friendly generous helpful hosts, clean!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely time staying with Monique in her beautiful home. The room and bathroom were very clean and warm. The breakfast was better than any I have had in Canada- amazing bread home made by Ibou topped it off with crepes too! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I just returned from a 4 night stay at Au Gite de la Chute with a friend and it was a charming experience! It's about a 30 min bus ride to historical Quebec City (the bus stop is a 5 min walk if you don't want to drive). It's located in Boischatel, a nice, cozy area that's within a 5 minute walk to Montmorency Falls. After a day in the city, it was nice to come back to our room - it felt like home! Monique, the owner, is very sweet and helpful. She recommended places to visit and gave us directions. She also cooks a delightful breakfast. The house is also really clean. We stayed in the Calla room (with the private bathroom) and it was spacious, extremely clean, and had a nice modern decor. It also had a large plasma TV. Based on our experience and the price per night, this place is a great deal! Overall, I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you want to have a personal, less touristy, and more residential experience in Quebec! We miss Monqiue and hope to come back some day! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Calla room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have a huge experience traveling and staying in B&B all over Europe and Canada. Au gite de la Chute is outstanding place to stay from all the points We've stayed there for three times,(twice in winter, including the Carnival de Quebec, and once in August, when we occasionally caught (thanks to Monique) a summer carnival in Quebec-city.
Location: is very good. It's a walking distance to the Monmorancy chute, that is breathtaking, especially when is frozen. It's quiet nice place apart from noise and pace of a big city, but at the same time very close and easy to reach Quebec-city with all it's attractions.
House: The house is extremely cozy, clean, beautiful and very well run. It has it's very special atmosphere in any season. We took the rooms in basement. There are three rooms, that are nice decorated, clean and cozy, with windows, individual heating, comfy beds and all what you need in very clean bathrooms. The important thing is a separate entrance that gives you an independence to leave and to return.
Hosts: Monique and her husband have managed to create that special atmospere. Thea are extremely nice and helpful people. They serve full and tasty breakfast with homemade goods, the fabulous bread that Monique's husband bakes by himself. Their French toasts are the best toasts whenever. Once we've had a dinner too, it was amazing!!!!!
And all this you have for very reasonable price that makes this place even more attractive.
We strongly recommend this place to everyone.

Alexander and Elena

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stolzenau, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Even though this place is quite away from Quebec City, its location is convenient because it's well connected to the city, to l'Île d'Orléans, to the Chutes Montmorency... while being more quiet than the city.
The host was very welcoming, did all of the food herself (even the bread!), had a good variety for breakfast and kept the place very clean.
I recommand that place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at Au Gite de la Chute. The place is in the walking distance from the Montmorancy Falls park. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They let us use their umbrella and even their auto tools to fix a minor mechanical problem with our car. Monique speaks very good English, and serves a generous and delightful breakfast. The B&B is immaculately clean and gorgeously decorated.
It takes about half an hour to get from the B&B to the old city, and the bus stop is close by.
Overall, we had a very pleasant experience and highly recommend the Au Gite de la Chute.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony, France
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is probably the nicest place I stayed in Canada. The host (a couple) who manages the house is simply nice and firendly. The rooms are clean and the breackfast is purely a pleasure.
Moreover, the house is located very close to the falls and 20 minutes driving from Quebec city.
We will come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We couldn't have asked for more charming and warm hosts than Claire and Jean-Guy.. Staying with them is like staying with cherished friends. We felt we had known them forever. Sharing breakfast and conversation around the dining table reminded us of our own family get-togethers. They couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful, all homemade by Claire, including the preserves, and generously and humourously served by Jean-Guy. Their home is beautifully appointed and decorated with beautiful paintings by Claire, and is in an ideal location between Quebec City and St. Anne de Beaupre, where the lovely shrine to St. Anne is located. It is also within walking distance to the Montmorency Falls. We couldn't have asked for better. We will certainly return, even just to visit.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMJ3331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boischatel
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Boischatel
Econo Lodge Boischatel
#1 of 1 in Boischatel
125 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
712 reviews
3.9 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#24 of 101 in Quebec City
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#84 of 101 in Quebec City
497 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,234 reviews
6.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Gite de la Chute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Gite de la Chute

Property: Au Gite de la Chute
Address: 5143, avenue Royale, Boischatel, Quebec G0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Boischatel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boischatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Au Gite de la Chute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Au Gite de la Chute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing