We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request the crepes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Au Gite de la Chute
Ranked #2 of 2 Boischatel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Monique makes a wonderful breakfast; the crepes with maple syrup are worth getting up for!

We had a very positive experience; stayed here while exploring the surrounding area. Monique gave us sound advice, steering us on roads less traveled to beautiful locations and fun experiences. Our room was spotless and comfortable. Evening visits were a pleasant conclusion to our days of adventure. Excellent value.

Be sure to visit Montmorency Falls, a short walk from the house.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoboatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our stay at Au Gite de la Chute was great. Only stayed one night but I would definitely go back. The breakfast was delicious with freshly made bread and jam. The B&B is a 5 minute walk away from the waterfall and a 10 minute drive into old Quebec.The host was extremely helpful and gave great recommendations for what to do in the city. A+

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DapperDandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Au Gite de la Chute during our recent vacation and had an absolutely superb experience. The town of Boischatel is situated at the top of a mountain and is less than 15 minutes from Old Quebec, and this B&B sits on its (very quiet) main road. The B&B has parking for its guests, and is only a five-minute walk from Montmercy Falls.

Our hosts were tremendously kind. Monique welcomed us to her home, gave us directions and advice on eating, parking, and the falls, and invited us to use her patio, which is surrounded by a lovely garden. On our first night, we were too tired to go out to eat, so we went to the supermarket, and she gave us plates, cutlery, glasses, and anything else we needed while we sat on the patio and ate.

The room was exactly as described, with a double bed and space to hang clothes. It was a bit tight when we had our suitcase opened up and were both getting dressed, but otherwise, it was perfect. We opted for a shared bathroom, which was right across from our room, and included all kinds of toiletries you might forget. Despite being downstairs, I never heard noise from above. Furthermore, the entire house, including the rooms and bathrooms, was spotlessly clean.

Finally, the breakfast. This place puts the "breakfast" in bed and breakfast. Monique's husband (I didn't catch his name) is a professional baker and bakes all kinds of bread for the guests. This, paired with homemade preserves, fresh fruit, eggs, ham, and some sort of homemade dish (one morning it was crepes, another it was french toast), will definitely fill you up before you go out for your day.

All in all, I highly recommend staying at this inn, and I am recommending it to all of my friends who are traveling to the area. We were looking for a place that was a bit out of town, charming, and affordable, and Au Gite de la Chute was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: If you're trying to save a bit of money, go for the shared bathroom. Only two rooms share it, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robbinz410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely time staying with Monique in her beautiful home. The room and bathroom were very clean and warm. The breakfast was better than any I have had in Canada- amazing bread home made by Ibou topped it off with crepes too! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I just returned from a 4 night stay at Au Gite de la Chute with a friend and it was a charming experience! It's about a 30 min bus ride to historical Quebec City (the bus stop is a 5 min walk if you don't want to drive). It's located in Boischatel, a nice, cozy area that's within a 5 minute walk to Montmorency Falls. After a day in the city, it was nice to come back to our room - it felt like home! Monique, the owner, is very sweet and helpful. She recommended places to visit and gave us directions. She also cooks a delightful breakfast. The house is also really clean. We stayed in the Calla room (with the private bathroom) and it was spacious, extremely clean, and had a nice modern decor. It also had a large plasma TV. Based on our experience and the price per night, this place is a great deal! Overall, I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you want to have a personal, less touristy, and more residential experience in Quebec! We miss Monqiue and hope to come back some day! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Calla room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have a huge experience traveling and staying in B&B all over Europe and Canada. Au gite de la Chute is outstanding place to stay from all the points We've stayed there for three times,(twice in winter, including the Carnival de Quebec, and once in August, when we occasionally caught (thanks to Monique) a summer carnival in Quebec-city.
Location: is very good. It's a walking distance to the Monmorancy chute, that is breathtaking, especially when is frozen. It's quiet nice place apart from noise and pace of a big city, but at the same time very close and easy to reach Quebec-city with all it's attractions.
House: The house is extremely cozy, clean, beautiful and very well run. It has it's very special atmosphere in any season. We took the rooms in basement. There are three rooms, that are nice decorated, clean and cozy, with windows, individual heating, comfy beds and all what you need in very clean bathrooms. The important thing is a separate entrance that gives you an independence to leave and to return.
Hosts: Monique and her husband have managed to create that special atmospere. Thea are extremely nice and helpful people. They serve full and tasty breakfast with homemade goods, the fabulous bread that Monique's husband bakes by himself. Their French toasts are the best toasts whenever. Once we've had a dinner too, it was amazing!!!!!
And all this you have for very reasonable price that makes this place even more attractive.
We strongly recommend this place to everyone.

Alexander and Elena

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Even though this place is quite away from Quebec City, its location is convenient because it's well connected to the city, to l'Île d'Orléans, to the Chutes Montmorency... while being more quiet than the city.
The host was very welcoming, did all of the food herself (even the bread!), had a good variety for breakfast and kept the place very clean.
I recommand that place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Au Gite de la Chute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Gite de la Chute

Address: 5143, avenue Royale, Boischatel, Quebec G0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Boischatel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boischatel
Price Range: £42 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Au Gite de la Chute 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Au Gite de la Chute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing