We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with sea view”
Review of Riotel Bonaventure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riotel Bonaventure
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonaventure
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed one night at Riotel in Bonaventure during our round trip to Gaspesie. While the hotel may look a bit shabby from the outside, the room was really nicely decorated and comfortable. We had a balcony with direct view on the sea and the beach: this was great to get to sleep with the sound of the sea.
The breakfast was included in the room rate and was delicious!
A nice hotel if you plan to stop in Bonaventure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We spent one night here while making a leisurely return from Gaspé. The room was on the small side, but very clean and comfortable.
It was a little expensive for the area but we took a room with a view of the Baie des Chaleurs. The view was lovely, although there is a full walkway outside the room, no privacy on a balcony at all.
There are virtually no other options for eating nearby and this restaurant closes at 9 pm. The service was extremely slow but the meal was delicious.
There was a little café with a good breakfast a little to the east.

Room Tip: Worth it to take a room on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onvoyage_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your evening meal. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services and we will make sure to transmit your comments on the service to our staff as well as your positive comments on the meal in order to offer the best service possible to our guests.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We visited on the very last week of the tourist season, kind of a bittersweet time of year. The weather was spectacular. It turned out to be a very relaxing day, reading on the deck in anticipation of our journey home. The view was amazing and the room was quite comfortable with duvets and plenty of pillows.

The restaurant was just OK. Service was somewhat indifferent. The servers were clearly not comfortable speaking English, if they knew any.

There was not a lot to do in the town, but there were a couple of very nice boutiques open across the street. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

What we thought would be the best accommodation of our entire trip in the Gaspésie region turned out to be our worst. The reality of the Riôtel Bonaventure did not reflect the nice pictures and descriptions found on the website. To be honest, our room was OK… more than OK. In fact, after some reservation problem with the booking system, we had generously been upgraded to an executive room (that was really nice of them and we appreciate that very much, thank you!). From our room, we had a spectacular view on the Baie-des-Chaleurs and the breathtaking sunsets. The problem is really the hotel itself, which is dull and dingy. And there’s not much to do in Bonaventure. Sure, there is a pub in the hotel, but it’s not a place where you want to hang out and spend the evening. Good thing I had my Philip Roth novel with me. Reading a good book sitting on the private terrace overlooking the sea was pretty nice. But all in all, the Riôtel Bonaventure was a huge disappointment for both my wife and I. And I must add that our “executive” room wasn’t all that clean either. I’m pretty sure I saw what looked like a “human stain” on the quilt (pun intended, but it’s still true). Not something you would expect in a nice hotel. That being said, we enjoyed our trip in the Gaspésie region very much and will surely return... although perhaps not in Bonaventure. I would suggest rather Carleton-sur-Mer or Percé.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aliaschampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

looked great on website but not once you are there. Small dingy hotel. Staff spoke some English. Food was horrible. Ordered the Seafood medley and the Lobster appeared to have been boiled some hors before and reheated. Was overcooked and tasteless. I get better lobster in landlocked Sothern Ontario.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooooooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for submitting your comments on trip advisor. The Riôtel Bonaventure, originally named Le Château Blanc, was built in 1906, this establishment is an integral part of the heritage of the picturesque village of Bonaventure. So we obviously kept its outside specific architecture. But regarding the accommodation, we constantly try to improve our rooms. We have 8 rooms completely renovated last year and we continue to enhance the hotel, for example, we changed the bedding (there are now duvet and pillowtop mattress pad in every room). Of course, we offer varied accommodation to suit all budgets and needs.
About our restaurant, I'm sorry you do not appreciate your plate but I am surprised that you had the feeling that the lobster had been reheated because I can guarantee that all our seafood are daily fresh and cooked on demand. I understand your frustration and invite you to contact me directly if however you plan an another trip to Gaspe peninsula in order to suggest a room category that best meet your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2006

The hotel looked so nice on the website but was actually dingy and depressing. That staff--some spoke English and some didn't, but were okay with our rudimentary French--were entirely indifferent to our comfort. At 5:00 in the afternoon we checked in, a very loud noise started up next door to our room--when I called the front desk, the clerk said "Ah yes. That is our kitchen fan. It will run until 9:00 pm." (She didn't mention that it would also start at 6:30 am.) It didn't seem to occur to anyone that people who booked a room for three days might actually want to use the room during the daytime.

The rooms were very small and not very clean. (We found little black insects in our bed that looked like sand fleas.) There was no air conditioning, and in order to cool off the room by opening the window, we also had to leave the curtains open, which meant that anyone who walked by our room could see right in, even while we were asleep.

Our room looked out on the sea and we enjoyed the vista very much from our terrace. But the beach was rocky and the water was dirty. There was a large pipe next to the hotel beach spewing something into the water that looked mighty suspicious. Although we had looked forward to swimming, we took one only swim--after two blobs of brown gunk floated by, we got right out of the water, and that was it.

The nicest thng about the hotel is that they did not object at all--or charge us anything--when we cancelled the last night of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Léonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneviève M, Public Relations Manager at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonaventure
8.2 mi away
Manoir Hamilton
Manoir Hamilton
#1 of 2 in New Carlisle
53 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Le Francis
Hotel Le Francis
#1 of 1 in New Richmond
75 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel la Maison Blanche
Hotel la Maison Blanche
#2 of 2 in New Carlisle
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Albert
Hotel Chateau Albert
#4 of 7 in Caraquet
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Grand-Pre
Motel Grand-Pre
#1 of 2 in Bonaventure
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gite a la bonne Etoile
Gite a la bonne Etoile
#2 of 2 in Bonaventure
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Bonaventure

Address: 98 Avenue Port Royal, Bonaventure, Quebec G0C 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Bonaventure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonaventure
Price Range: £63 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Bonaventure 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riotel Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Bonaventure Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing