We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riotel Bonaventure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riotel Bonaventure
Ranked #1 of 3 Bonaventure B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Without a doubt the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in!
We had a nice seaside room with a good view of the Rock. The concierge was extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. We did notice that they closed the lobby and locked up the front doors at 11:00 pm and there was no one to be found.
We were there before the official start of the tourist season, so this may not be their usual practice

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building, where they do not have an elevator, so carrying your bags up or down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanetmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds. Note that it is possible to purchase a duvet mattress cover at our front desk in order to bring that same comfort into your bed at home. Our front desk is open until 23h00 every night during the entire season and a guardian is present on the site all night in case of late arrivals, for the overall security of the building and to provide constant customer service. There is a bell at the door in order to give notice of your presence and your need of his or her presence.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
27
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed one night at Riotel in Bonaventure during our round trip to Gaspesie. While the hotel may look a bit shabby from the outside, the room was really nicely decorated and comfortable. We had a balcony with direct view on the sea and the beach: this was great to get to sleep with the sound of the sea.
The breakfast was included in the room rate and was delicious!
A nice hotel if you plan to stop in Bonaventure!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We spent one night here while making a leisurely return from Gaspé. The room was on the small side, but very clean and comfortable.
It was a little expensive for the area but we took a room with a view of the Baie des Chaleurs. The view was lovely, although there is a full walkway outside the room, no privacy on a balcony at all.
There are virtually no other options for eating nearby and this restaurant closes at 9 pm. The service was extremely slow but the meal was delicious.
There was a little café with a good breakfast a little to the east.

Room Tip: Worth it to take a room on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onvoyage_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your evening meal. Your comments are essential for us to continue to improve our services and we will make sure to transmit your comments on the service to our staff as well as your positive comments on the meal in order to offer the best service possible to our guests.
Thank you for choosing the Riotel Hospitality Group and we look forward to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We visited on the very last week of the tourist season, kind of a bittersweet time of year. The weather was spectacular. It turned out to be a very relaxing day, reading on the deck in anticipation of our journey home. The view was amazing and the room was quite comfortable with duvets and plenty of pillows.

The restaurant was just OK. Service was somewhat indifferent. The servers were clearly not comfortable speaking English, if they knew any.

There was not a lot to do in the town, but there were a couple of very nice boutiques open across the street. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterburn Park
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

What we thought would be the best accommodation of our entire trip in the Gaspésie region turned out to be our worst. The reality of the Riôtel Bonaventure did not reflect the nice pictures and descriptions found on the website. To be honest, our room was OK… more than OK. In fact, after some reservation problem with the booking system, we had generously been upgraded to an executive room (that was really nice of them and we appreciate that very much, thank you!). From our room, we had a spectacular view on the Baie-des-Chaleurs and the breathtaking sunsets. The problem is really the hotel itself, which is dull and dingy. And there’s not much to do in Bonaventure. Sure, there is a pub in the hotel, but it’s not a place where you want to hang out and spend the evening. Good thing I had my Philip Roth novel with me. Reading a good book sitting on the private terrace overlooking the sea was pretty nice. But all in all, the Riôtel Bonaventure was a huge disappointment for both my wife and I. And I must add that our “executive” room wasn’t all that clean either. I’m pretty sure I saw what looked like a “human stain” on the quilt (pun intended, but it’s still true). Not something you would expect in a nice hotel. That being said, we enjoyed our trip in the Gaspésie region very much and will surely return... although perhaps not in Bonaventure. I would suggest rather Carleton-sur-Mer or Percé.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliaschampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

looked great on website but not once you are there. Small dingy hotel. Staff spoke some English. Food was horrible. Ordered the Seafood medley and the Lobster appeared to have been boiled some hors before and reheated. Was overcooked and tasteless. I get better lobster in landlocked Sothern Ontario.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wooooooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for submitting your comments on trip advisor. The Riôtel Bonaventure, originally named Le Château Blanc, was built in 1906, this establishment is an integral part of the heritage of the picturesque village of Bonaventure. So we obviously kept its outside specific architecture. But regarding the accommodation, we constantly try to improve our rooms. We have 8 rooms completely renovated last year and we continue to enhance the hotel, for example, we changed the bedding (there are now duvet and pillowtop mattress pad in every room). Of course, we offer varied accommodation to suit all budgets and needs.
About our restaurant, I'm sorry you do not appreciate your plate but I am surprised that you had the feeling that the lobster had been reheated because I can guarantee that all our seafood are daily fresh and cooked on demand. I understand your frustration and invite you to contact me directly if however you plan an another trip to Gaspe peninsula in order to suggest a room category that best meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bonaventure hotels

Newark, DE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2006

The hotel looked so nice on the website but was actually dingy and depressing. That staff--some spoke English and some didn't, but were okay with our rudimentary French--were entirely indifferent to our comfort. At 5:00 in the afternoon we checked in, a very loud noise started up next door to our room--when I called the front desk, the clerk said "Ah yes. That is our kitchen fan. It will run until 9:00 pm." (She didn't mention that it would also start at 6:30 am.) It didn't seem to occur to anyone that people who booked a room for three days might actually want to use the room during the daytime.

The rooms were very small and not very clean. (We found little black insects in our bed that looked like sand fleas.) There was no air conditioning, and in order to cool off the room by opening the window, we also had to leave the curtains open, which meant that anyone who walked by our room could see right in, even while we were asleep.

Our room looked out on the sea and we enjoyed the vista very much from our terrace. But the beach was rocky and the water was dirty. There was a large pipe next to the hotel beach spewing something into the water that looked mighty suspicious. Although we had looked forward to swimming, we took one only swim--after two blobs of brown gunk floated by, we got right out of the water, and that was it.

The nicest thng about the hotel is that they did not object at all--or charge us anything--when we cancelled the last night of our stay.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — noisy and dirty
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay more than one night
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonaventure
8.3 mi away
Hotel la Maison Blanche
Hotel la Maison Blanche
#2 of 2 in New Carlisle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
8.3 mi away
Manoir Hamilton
Manoir Hamilton
#1 of 2 in New Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Le Francis
Hotel Le Francis
#1 of 1 in New Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gite a la bonne Etoile
Gite a la bonne Etoile
#3 of 3 in Bonaventure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Grand-Pre
Motel Grand-Pre
#2 of 3 in Bonaventure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Chalets du Bioparc
Les Chalets du Bioparc
#1 of 5 in Bonaventure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Bonaventure

Property: Riotel Bonaventure
Address: 98 Avenue Port Royal, Bonaventure, Quebec G0C 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Bonaventure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bonaventure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Bonaventure 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riotel Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Bonaventure Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing