We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaside hotel squeezed by the road”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Riotel Bonaventure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riotel Bonaventure
Ranked #2 of 3 Bonaventure B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seaside hotel squeezed by the road”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff run a smooth ship. Unfortunately, the ship is squished between the main highway and the Baie de Chaleur. We booked a month ahead but still wound up with a disappointingly small (both couldn't walk around at the same time!) room overlooking the highway. We couldn't leave the window open because of the road noise. The air conditioner was noisy but effective. For the size and location of the room, the price was exorbitant. We wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
27
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was just a one night stop on our road trip but just like the Riotel at Matane the main thing that stays with me is the friendliness of all the staff we had contact with - without exception. it started with the receptionist and then the waiting staff in the bar and the restaurant carried it on. Just felt so welcoming and informal.

The room (I think it was #22) was fine the highlight being the fact that a few steps from the patio doors was the beach. Just great to be so close to the water and still remain dry. Nice little sitting-out area outside too. Two queen beds and plenty of space. Bathroom was fine. Parking right outside the door so very easy to move luggage.

Food in the restaurant was very good - it greatly surpassed expectations - and the dining room had great sea views. Really couldn't fault the dining experience at all particularly for the price.

So this was my second positive Riotel experience on this trip. You have a great staff recruitment policy. Either that or you pay them way above market rate to make them so happy and pleasant!

Room Tip: I guess all rooms have sea-views but if not that would be an essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

For the rates we were charged and for the wonderful website pictures one almost imagines a sprawling Oceanside estate...... No Way!

The Bonaventure location resembles a roadside motel picutres we terribly misleading. The rooms were cramped and the family which also arrived when we did also complained of the same. In perce the pictures resemble a wonderful scene on sprawling Oceanside ...... Nope. Crammed and congested with dated building. We headed to hotel Normandie same price better and cleaner for the rest of our Stay in gaspe and it was incredible!

Room Tip: City view the roadside view - superior room means ocean view but location is close to road and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 587Taka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bonaventure hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel clean, staff were great, evening meal great, but the view and the beach were awesome, we listen to the ocean all night, so soothing. Highly recommend this hotel. Make sure you are able to get a sea side room, you will be impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to share your impression with tripadvisor community.
We are glad to see that you have appreciated your tourist experience in our hotel of Bonaventure. Your feedback is really important , especially knowing how much time we spent enhance our hotel and improve our service team.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Riotel Bonaventure after a long drive from Nova Scotia. Thought we'd make this our first pit stop before driving around the beautiful Gaspe Penninsula. We pre-booked the room with a jacuzzi. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and spoke English well. The room was adequate for our purpose and very clean. What you need to know about this room is that there is no shower. I was probably told this when I booked it, but I forgot. No problem for us - in the morning we just had a bath and washed our hair with the hand held nozzle in the jacuzzi. Everything was in the one big room - bed, couch & chair, TV and the big jacuzzi tub. Then there was a very tiny room with just a toilet. The sink to wash your hands/face with mirror was outside the door of that room. We enjoyed our brief stay there. We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment. We did pay $1 and got coffee out of the keurig machine in the lobby in the morning - we were up too early for the restaurant as we forgot about the hour time change from Nova Scotia haha. Oh well, we got an early start around the Penninsula!! I would recommend staying here but if you want a shower and not a double jacuzzi then you will want a different room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastport, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at the Riotel Bonaventure on our visit to the Gaspe'. From the staff at the front desk, the dining room staff, and the housekeepers it was a perfect stay. I want to especially praise the staff at the front desk. From the day we checked in, the afternoon of Sept. 5th, they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The person working the front desk on the morning of the 6th helped us to make changes to our reservations at the Riotel Perce' and to make new reservations at the Riotel Matane. In our opinion she went above and beyond on our behalf and we really appreciated it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed one night here en route somewhere else. Booked a family room, with double and single bed, but it was a room with a small double and a sofa bed, not made up. We asked why and we got a frosty shrug, and were told all the linen was inside the sofa as if we were idiots, and to do it ourselves. Nice.
Hilarious thing was the Jacuzzi bath...in the middle of the bedroom! Only the toilet was private. We laughed, but it could have been ghastly if we'd stayed more than the one miserable night. We had our baths in our swimming costumes to save our modesty from our teenage son. Ridiculous.
Ate a sombre dinner in the gloomy restaurant, served reluctantly by ladies who looked as if they had better things to do. French only in the whole hotel, which is fine in a French speaking village, but no effort to welcome English speaking guests at all really. In fact no effort to welcome anyone at all.
Couldn't face breakfast there after such a depressing dinner so went out.
It's a most lugubrious and rather miserable place and the room's 'view' of the sea was via two slitty windows as you might expect in Alcatraz.
Forlorn sun loungers join the litter on the weedy, stony beach. There are nicer paces nearby. give this a miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riotel, Responsable relations clients at Riotel Bonaventure, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for submitting your comments on tripadvisor. Regarding the accommodation, we constantly try to improve our rooms. We have 8 rooms completely renovated and we continue to enhance the hotel. Of course, we offer varied accommodation to suit all budgets and needs. We usually try to satisfy our clients and relocate them in another room if the room does not suit the needs (when possible).
Regarding your comments about our staff, I would like to assure you that this is not a recurring situation in our establishment.
We have sent forward your comment to the leadership team, as your satisfaction is our top priority, at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonaventure
8.3 mi away
Hotel la Maison Blanche
Hotel la Maison Blanche
#2 of 2 in New Carlisle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Le Francis
Hotel Le Francis
#1 of 1 in New Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.3 mi away
Manoir Hamilton
Manoir Hamilton
#1 of 2 in New Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Grand-Pre
Motel Grand-Pre
#1 of 3 in Bonaventure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gite a la bonne Etoile
Gite a la bonne Etoile
#3 of 3 in Bonaventure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Chalets du Bioparc
Les Chalets du Bioparc
#1 of 5 in Bonaventure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riotel Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Bonaventure

Property: Riotel Bonaventure
Address: 98 Avenue Port Royal, Bonaventure, Quebec G0C 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Bonaventure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bonaventure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Bonaventure 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riotel Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Bonaventure Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing