We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaspe Tour Highlight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carleton-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Mer La Montagne B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gaspe Tour Highlight”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a Quebec trip around Gaspe Peninsula. The highlight was our night at Gite La Mer La Montagne, located on the water, but walking distance from downtown Carleton. Roger and Alice are very welcoming, and for us as USA visitors it was wonderful having hosts who were English-speaking. The room was gorgeous, with a great view of the harbor, and a private balcony with two chairs and a table for early coffee or sunset wine moments. Absolutely clean and neat, and very comfortable beds.Roger and Alice have ready suggestions of sights to see and restaurants, and we followed all their suggestions. Their suggested restaurant, the nearby Le Marin d'eau Deuce, was spectacular, out-rivaling all the finest restaurants in Quebec City and New York City. Alice and Roger give you a huge, full menu breakfast, made to order for you. The best pan cakes I ever had! The hosts are well-travelled hosts, speaking French and German as well as English, and can give you insights on the local culture, government, history, and politics, which enhanced our appreciation for Gaspe, Acadians, Quebec, and Canada. If you are touring Gaspe, be sure to stay here. We wanted to avail ourselves of their bikes and tour the area, but we ran out of time. Next time we will stay longer and bike the area.

Room Tip: Try for the top room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    35
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

On our tour of Eastern Canada we spent our first night on Gaspésie here in Carleton. Our room was OK, a bit small, just a the bathroom. But we had a nice view on the sea, the lagoon.
Our hosts were very friendly, Roger being a friend of Austria and knowing some words of German.
We got a good recommandation for dinner, buying the wine in the supermarket just across the street.
Breakfast was nice and in a very familiar surrounding - it just made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Our room on the 1st floor was rather small, so was the bath room. But we had a nice view on the lago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
631 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A beautiful location and a clean and comfortable Gite.
I was extremely worried about staying here due to disastrous experiences in France itself in bygone years, so we arrived with trepidation.
Perish the thought. The couple were lovely and could not have been more helpful to us. The upstairs suite has a wonderful view and is very comfy with an overhead fan and an extra bed. It was a bit tight to get the cases up but it was really worth it.
The breakfast was FANTASTIC! Lovely home made food cooked in style and we were made to feel really welcome, despite being the only English speakers at the table. The teamwork in the kitchen has to be seen as it is almost balletic such is the footwork during service.
If you are prone to wandering about at night in a half sleep at times perhaps you might wish to avoid the top suite as the stairs open just outside the bathroom and this concerned me so much I wedged a chair across them in case I 'took a header' down the stairs in the middle of the night.

Nevertheless, this is a great place with the perfect hosts and is the obvious place to stop in this area.

Room Tip: It is a bit of a climb with cases to the top suite, but worth it for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
261 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I spent just one night there and really regretted not been there one day more!
Our room was on the upper floor with little furnished balcony from which we can look at the near marina. Spotless clean house and room centrally located, well furnished.
Alice and her husband were very welcoming offering us helpful suggestion.
I really recommend a stop there visiting Gaspesie!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

What a nice Gite and how unfortunate that we could only stay for one night. The owners are two very friendly, open and enthusiastic persons whom gave us good advice about the surrounding area.
Combining the view across the bay with stylish rooms and extra's such as bikes with a great price makes this à place worth visiting!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchoemakerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Pretty updated rooms, great breakfast, friendly accommodating hosts.
Right on water
Couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlexing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Alice and Roger made us welcome immediately, and were happy to sit and talk with us. Roger has a great sense of humour which we appreciated, and is also a very good cook!
Despite being directly placed on a main road, we did not suffer from any noise or disruption and found the location of this excellent B&B to be an advantage. Alice gave us advice on places to eat which was helpful. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night, Alice and Roger are such nice people we felt we should have stayed longer! The room and breakfast were terrific value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton-sur-Mer
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir Belle Plage
Hotel Le Manoir Belle Plage
#1 of 2 in Carleton-sur-Mer
160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Baie Bleue
Hostellerie Baie Bleue
#2 of 2 in Carleton-sur-Mer
144 reviews
12.3 mi away
Days Inn Dalhousie
Days Inn Dalhousie
#1 of 1 in Dalhousie
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Le Francis
Hotel Le Francis
#1 of 1 in New Richmond
67 reviews
5.6 mi away
Gite des Oiseaux Migrateurs
Gite des Oiseaux Migrateurs
#4 of 11 in Carleton-sur-Mer
10 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel l'Abri
Motel l'Abri
#3 of 11 in Carleton-sur-Mer
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer La Montagne B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer La Montagne B&B

Property: La Mer La Montagne B&B
Address: 711 Boulevard Perron, Carleton-sur-Mer, Quebec G0C 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Carleton-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carleton-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is on the water and on a paved 14km road on the sea side. Mount St-Joseph close by lets you admire it all as far as New-Brunswick. A tiny chapel and a bunch of walking paths offer you from the top, an incredible view with a magic and colorful. sundown (as a bonus). Our B&B is between two beaches were you can dilightfully rest and admire the panorama. Nearby, 6 major sites are awaiting your visit, including a protected UNESCO sanctuary. We brief every single one of our clients on the hot spots of the Gaspe peninsula...And we do it each time with passion. For a unique experience, come over to Carleton-on-Sea and stay with us. Let us surprise you with style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing