We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Mer La Montagne B&B
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Manoir Belle Plage(Carleton-sur-Mer)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Francis(New Richmond)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Campbellton)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie Baie Bleue(Carleton-sur-Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riotel Bonaventure(Bonaventure)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
119
37
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
37
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsevery morninginteresting peoplewi firogeralicelofthostsbaypeninsula
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

There is nothing to complain about the location, though you do need the car for certain things to visit. It is situated along a fairly busy road, what you can hear in the room.

We were well received by Roger, and immediately got a very good explanation about what we could do in the neighborhood, and also advices on restaurants (Marin d'Eau Douce is an absolute must!).

We had Suite 5, which is very spacious, with two beds. The balcony is tiny, but has a nice view over the water. The bed is comfortable. Two downsides: the room is impossible to darken, and the bathroom is a bit on the small side (especially inconvenient for someone of almost two meters).

The breakfast in the morning was correct. We could choose between french toast, eggs or pancakes. A fruit salad, croissant and muffin were already served when we arrived at the table.
Unfortunately Alice and Roger were in the kitchen during breakfast what gave us the feeling that they were not very interested in their guests. But we had some nice chats with them too, so we guess they were just very busy and that moment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a Quebec trip around Gaspe Peninsula. The highlight was our night at Gite La Mer La Montagne, located on the water, but walking distance from downtown Carleton. Roger and Alice are very welcoming, and for us as USA visitors it was wonderful having hosts who were English-speaking. The room was gorgeous, with a great view of the harbor, and a private balcony with two chairs and a table for early coffee or sunset wine moments. Absolutely clean and neat, and very comfortable beds.Roger and Alice have ready suggestions of sights to see and restaurants, and we followed all their suggestions. Their suggested restaurant, the nearby Le Marin d'eau Deuce, was spectacular, out-rivaling all the finest restaurants in Quebec City and New York City. Alice and Roger give you a huge, full menu breakfast, made to order for you. The best pan cakes I ever had! The hosts are well-travelled hosts, speaking French and German as well as English, and can give you insights on the local culture, government, history, and politics, which enhanced our appreciation for Gaspe, Acadians, Quebec, and Canada. If you are touring Gaspe, be sure to stay here. We wanted to avail ourselves of their bikes and tour the area, but we ran out of time. Next time we will stay longer and bike the area.

Room Tip: Try for the top room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

On our tour of Eastern Canada we spent our first night on Gaspésie here in Carleton. Our room was OK, a bit small, just a the bathroom. But we had a nice view on the sea, the lagoon.
Our hosts were very friendly, Roger being a friend of Austria and knowing some words of German.
We got a good recommandation for dinner, buying the wine in the supermarket just across the street.
Breakfast was nice and in a very familiar surrounding - it just made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Our room on the 1st floor was rather small, so was the bath room. But we had a nice view on the lagoon, and for one night is was quite OK.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A beautiful location and a clean and comfortable Gite.
I was extremely worried about staying here due to disastrous experiences in France itself in bygone years, so we arrived with trepidation.
Perish the thought. The couple were lovely and could not have been more helpful to us. The upstairs suite has a wonderful view and is very comfy with an overhead fan and an extra bed. It was a bit tight to get the cases up but it was really worth it.
The breakfast was FANTASTIC! Lovely home made food cooked in style and we were made to feel really welcome, despite being the only English speakers at the table. The teamwork in the kitchen has to be seen as it is almost balletic such is the footwork during service.
If you are prone to wandering about at night in a half sleep at times perhaps you might wish to avoid the top suite as the stairs open just outside the bathroom and this concerned me so much I wedged a chair across them in case I 'took a header' down the stairs in the middle of the night.

Nevertheless, this is a great place with the perfect hosts and is the obvious place to stop in this area.

Room Tip: It is a bit of a climb with cases to the top suite, but worth it for the view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I spent just one night there and really regretted not been there one day more!
Our room was on the upper floor with little furnished balcony from which we can look at the near marina. Spotless clean house and room centrally located, well furnished.
Alice and her husband were very welcoming offering us helpful suggestion.
I really recommend a stop there visiting Gaspesie!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews