We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect a la carte destination for the last minute get-away”
Review of Esterel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esterel Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect a la carte destination for the last minute get-away”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Esterel hotel, just over one hour's drive north of Montreal, has long been considered a paradise for winter sports enthusiasts. With the ski slopes, snowmobile trails and skating rinks nearby, it's perfect for anyone who thrives with what seems like 5 months of winter here in Montreal.
But come summer, the hotel still has many activities available (Beach volleyball, kayak, paddle board, peddleboat ($10/hr per person), and cruise boats for hire). There is also an 18 hole golf course.
But the main reason why most people come here is to just take it easy in the many outdoor spa baths available. There are more than 8 pools to choose from (90 degrees, 102 degrees, the 60 degree dip pool and "arctic shower").
The atmosphere is quite relaxed and zen for the most part. Since children are allowed at this resort, it can get quite packed in the 90 degree pool and noisy at night. So if you want it more zen, try to come here before school is out or the weekdays.
The suites are spacious, modern and very functional. This condo hotel has 2 sides, Evolution having bigger suites (and foldup beds) with long narrow balconies. The Emotion suites are somewhat smaller and more intimate, but with all the modern amenities of the Evolution side. The balconies are square and a bit more functional. The bathroom is just closed off with sliding panels so really, you have to be with someone that you're comfortable with to take these rooms.
All that aside, if you can take a lake view room in either complex, you will be rewarded with a great view of the lake. It is stunning at any time of the year. The rooms come with a 3 window gas fireplace and that is a great feature to have, winter or summer.
The 2 restaurants are great, serving great breakfasts (brunch on Sundays) and dinner. The all meals option comes out to about $70/person per day. Otherwise, the suites come with a small toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, sink and all the necessary cutlery and plates you will need should you decide to bring food from home.
I have to say that we do come back feeling totally refreshed after even one night's stay at this hotel. The staff do their best to make you feel at home and work hard to make you a returning customer. So I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have their own jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Res Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterel_Management, Responsable réception at Esterel Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Google Translation
Votre commentaire sera partagé avec toute l’équipe qui sera très heureuse de connaitre votre appréciation. Merci à vous d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire et nous souhaitons sincèrement vous revoir parmi nous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    240
    101
    40
    26
See reviews for
112
441
9
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The good:
The resort is in on a lake in a lovely setting with a charming little town nearby. It’s close to bike paths and nature trails and I hear that the fishing is great. There are kayaks & paddle boats for your use. It has a sandy beach (which is nice for children) and a swimming pool. I didn't use the spa however I heard others say it’s just wonderful. The suites are newly renovated, each one very spacious with a gas fireplace. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

The bad:
I found the main entrance to be rather small for such a large resort and hallways are dark and narrow –I’m claustrophobic and I felt uncomfortable. We were there for a wedding which was held out on the lawn right by the water. During the ceremony, some jet skis came roaring by and the noise was so loud that we couldn't hear the bride & groom saying their vows, even though they were using a microphone. The people riding the jet skis were circling around right in front of us because they wanted to see the wedding. It wouldn't have been so annoying if they were just passing by.
In order to get a beach towel, you have to go to a booth and exchange a little card for a towel. There always seemed to be a long line-up of people waiting, and the booth was often out of towels. That could have been organized better.
The brunch wasn't very good and they only had instant coffee. For $33.00 per person, they should have served a decent cup of coffee. Instead of having brunch at the resort, I suggest you go into the nearby town of Sainte Marguerite where there are a couple of nice places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the water instead of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 41Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was at the Esterel for 4 days. I had a wedding close by at the Cheshire Lodge. Very soon, It felt like, all the staff was fired the week before and the new staff was in training, from the front desk to any restaurants.
Our room was stunning but the ventilation fan was not working. We waited two days for a repair man to tell us the motor was broken and the part was in order since 2 weeks ago. So basically they knew about it, gave us the room anyway with no excuse or compensation. One night at the restaurant The Bistro, we waited 2 hours for our meal. The excuse... our staff is in training... compensation?... a drink on the house... free coffee.... NO! (by the way; a burger, a trio of sausages, two salads, two drinks= 100$.) One afternoon, they tried to charge me extra to use the paddle boat even if I kept telling them, it was included in my package. After 15 minutes, she realized I was right. I am not too sure that the 20 persons inline behind me, enjoyed that.
One morning, I had guests in my room and I called for a pot of coffee deliver to the room. The answer was; you need to order food to get coffee in the room... OK I said... Please send a pot of coffee with croissants. Her answer was how many cups? I don't want cups I have cups in my room. I want a pot of coffee. her answer was; we keep our pots of coffee in the dining area... no pot in the rooms. How is this possible?
When you pay the full price you expect the full service. After 4 days, I felt abused. They were trying to grab as much money as possible. Something in their system is broken!
I will spend my vacation money somewhere else next time.... I can catch nature's beauty somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pascal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Location - in the heart of the Laurentians, Quebec, situated right on the lake. Serene with nothing around for miles (that could be good or bad). There are hiking trails nearby of varying lengths.
Rooms - nicely renovated. Spacious, with a living area, fireplace, kitchenette and dining area, and separate bath/shower in the bathroom where some rooms have a sliding door opening up from the bathtub.
Food - I was there twice in the past month for work and the daily breakfast and lunch buffets were very good. Had the beef tenderloin on the hot stone for dinner and it was the best piece of meat ever. Such good quality I could've eaten it raw.
Amenities - enjoyed the pools which included 3 hot tubs, a cold plunge pool and 2 regular pools. The 2 regular pools were small and circular shaped so I couldn't swim laps. They were both pretty warm (too warm), being only slightly cooler than the hot tubs (which would be fine in the winter but this was on a warm June day). There are also paddleboats and kayaks available. I enjoyed paddleboating around the lake to see the nice lakefront houses. I didn't go golfing at the resort course but my colleagues told me that it wasn't in good shape. As well, the club rentals were believed to be 40+ years old.
Spa - I had a massage the 1st time there which I had requested to have more pressure. I was then told it would cost $10 + tax more. Even though I opted for it, it still wasn't as deep as I would have liked. The 2nd time there, I had a facial. It seemed like the woman giving the facial left the room for half the time of the 50 min facial. For a really good facial, I feel that the person should be massaging my neck and/or scalp while the mask is on my face. I've had facials at a dozen spas and this was the most no frills facial I've had.
Service - Regarding the towels for the pool: You are given a card which allows you one towel for the pool (given at check-in with your hotel keys). To pick up the towel, you trade in your card at a booth which is not very close to the pool. Also, there were a dozen of us by the pool as well as other hotel guests (maybe 20+ in total) and we asked if a bartender could come out and take drink orders. There was no one to oblige. The hotel should have a bartender outside serving drinks AND handing out the towels in the same place. There was definitely a booth set up for that but I guess we weren't there for high season to see this, despite taking up 40+ rooms for our work conference. In the dining room for the buffets, most of the time I had to ask for coffee instead of being automatically served. It would have also been nice to at least have water in the rooms as well.
All in all, the service staff were not ready to cater to our large group nor show the hospitality of a 5* hotel that we are used to.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms sure beat the ones facing the parking lot. All the ground floor rooms have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esterel_Management, Responsable réception at Esterel Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Please accept our apologies for the guest service experience received. We are taking your comment very seriously and will take actions immediately because your description does not reflect the standards of our establishment.
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Esterel hotel since it's renovation is among the very goods hotels in the Laurentian.
It's is located by a lake with all mini suits rooms equip with a fire place.
The decor is modern including spacious bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucgbenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had no idea what to expect! I was pleased with this hotel in every way. The staff was friendly, and always attentive. The hotel and room decor is a hit, the lake side view is terrific. Nothing is really over done but everything is there and spacious, clean and easily accessible. The food quality and choice another plus. The hotel restaurant the "Roc" features a hot lava stone where you can cook your own steak at your table, a different but neat experience. An all around enjoyable stay and a definite win with your significant other, as it offers the right amount of fun and relaxation. You will have plenty to do, spa, hot tubs, boating, hiking etc. I am willing to bet you will score points on this trip.

Room Tip: Be sure to get lakeside room with the comfy balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in this resort. We spent 2 nights in the emotion side with lake view. I prefer the view from the emotion more than the evolution side since the emotion side overlooks the pool and the lake. The room is very clean and the decor is modern. There are 3 restaurants in the resort but I highly recommend that you reserve in advance especially during the weekend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank the_admen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterel
8.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
197 reviews
11.8 mi away
Manoir Saint-Sauveur
Manoir Saint-Sauveur
#1 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
726 reviews
12.5 mi away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
349 reviews
7.7 mi away
Auberge du Lac Morency
Auberge du Lac Morency
#1 of 2 in Saint Hippolyte
305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Viking Resort & Marina
Le Viking Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Resort

Property: Esterel Resort
Address: 39 Boulevard Fridolin-Simard, Esterel, Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson, Quebec J0T 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Marguerite-du-Lac-Masson > Esterel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Esterel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esterel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esterel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Suites Spa & Lac Hotel Esterel
Esterel Suites Spa And Lac
Esterel Resort Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing