We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the glories of La Malbaie viewed from the comfort of 'Auberge Les Trois Canards'”
Review of Les Trois Canards

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Malbaie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Trois Canards
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“the glories of La Malbaie viewed from the comfort of 'Auberge Les Trois Canards'”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On our way back from our salmon camp, we overnighted at this restful, delicious and memorable auberge. Memories indeed from ages ago..... absolutely comfortable rooms, a glorious lodge, a starred restaurant and the peace and calm of "mer et montagne" that is Charlevois PQ. Could not ask for more on this first day of Summer. And the menu to end all with 'ris de veau' +++++ while dining overlooking the historical bay. In a word perfect....Book ahead, take the 'forfait' with dinner and breakfast, and get a ground floor room so as to wander at sunrise the lush grounds. Bravo et merci Auberge Les Trois Canards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmonangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were on the road and managed to find this hotel rather late in the evening. The view from our balcony was amazing. I saw the sunrise and it was just gorgeous. Our room was a bit old, no air conditioning but very clean. I think the new rooms are pretty good. Swimming pool was very inviting, we had a lovely swim just before going out to dinner. Wifi was not working properly in our room, we had to go down to reception to be able to get the network so it was a bit of a hassle.

All in all it was a nice stay but next time I will definitely ask for a new room. (smaller balconies but with air conditioning).

Room Tip: It seems as if all rooms have a view so no problem there but do ask for a room with air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

Les Trois Canard has lost the luster it used to have. We visited there a few times in the 90s and kept great memories of the place and were looking forward to this recent stay. We were sadly disappointed by the absence of service at the front desk, the general state of disrepair of the establishment and the poor quality of the rooms. The food, however, was fanstastic and if we ever go back to Les Trois Canards, it will be for the restaurant only. Here's the story of our last stay.

My wife and I went to Les Trois Canards after having attended a beautiful concert at Domaine Forget nearby. We had called ahead to see if there was someone to check us in late at night and they said that there would be someone until 11pm. We arrived at 10:30pm and there was no one at the front desk. In fact, there was no one in sight. I walked behind the desk and into the office and there was no one there. Then I went into the dining room and it was deserted as well but I could hear voices coming in from the kitchen so I went in and finally found someone who could get someone to check us in.

Then we got to our room and I went into the bathroom to take a shower. I was first struck by the bright white fluorescent lighting, and then by the used washcloth and soap left over from the previous occupant in the shower. Disgusting. Then went to bed and turned off the lights only to find out that the alarm clock was plugged into a switched outlet so it was turned off at the same time. Grrr.

The next morning, we wanted to take in the view over the St. Lawrence (it is a great location) so walked out on the balcony, a cramped thing not more than 4 feet wide and 6 feet deep ensconced between two walls, so narrow in fact that the chairs were laid out not to face the river but they were set along one wall facing the other. By daylight, it became apparent that the whole thing was no better than a cheap motel room with a rock hard bed, cheap bedding, pressed wood furniture, and poor overall taste.

There was one bright spot in the whole experience: the food! We had breakfast in the restaurant and found the food to be absolutely amazing. The florentine eggs were perfectly cooked with a light yet tasty sauce while my wife's blueberry and maple butter pancakes were simply to die for.

After breakfast, it was time to check out so we went back to our room and walked out the stairs into the parking and found them covered in cracked paint and broken painted asphalt shingles which I assume were meant as non-skid. Yet another example of the general state of disrepair of this establishment.

Check out was another painful experience. I walked into the lobby to find that there were already 4 people waiting in line. Not to check out though: they were there to book excursions. Problem was there was only one employee there handling the phone, booking excursions (which required numerous phone calls to inquire about availability and the filling out of long forms by hand), and checking out guests. It took more than 20 minutes before the poor employee eventually got to me and I was fuming by then.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Malbaie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We looked at the Fairmont but seemed a bit too fancy. This hotel was perfect. We had an upgraded room with a wonderful river view. We were early in the season so some of the amenities were not up, like the pool and putting green, but we enjoyed anyway. We got the room, dinner and breakfast package and I highly recommend this option! Our dinner was absolutely wonderful and our waitress was equally impressive. It was fun toasting our fresh bread in the fireplace! We complimented the chef and he came out to greet us - very nice. Breakfast was equally fantastic, again with great service. Our dinner was actually one of the best meals that we have ever had. Absolutely wonderful overall experience.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Djrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The 3 Canards is very well situated with excellent views over the St Lawrence river. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, though the furniture is a little basic. The food is very high class, though vegetarians get the same thing every time. The thing that stands out is the service in the restaurant, which is really friendly and good fun.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-of-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I have never stayed at the auberge but have had supper there multiple times. It is a fine dinning experience. The quality of the food was amazing and the service superb.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpbornfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Malbaie hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#9 of 13 in La Malbaie
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Trois Canards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Canards

Property: Les Trois Canards
Address: 49 Cote Bellevue, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 3A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Les Trois Canards La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing