We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Certificate of Excellence
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A very unique property...almost an oasis in the middle of nowhere. The property is beautiful and the views are stunning. The terrace bars are so relaxing you could sit for hours and just look out at the river. The only thing we didn't like was the parking situation. If you didn't want to get dinged with a big valet charge, you had to climb a lot of stairs to get to the parking lot. And we had to search for a bellman. Upon checkin, we had some difficulty understanding what was being said. The clerk sort of spoke a combination of French and English together. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are nice and very clean. We did have a failed Nespresso machine, but when we called for a new one they sent it up immediately. Dining on the property was excellent with again, amazing views. We did the prix fixe dinner and it was delicious! Especially the little pots of pickled vegetables.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parrotgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your past stay at Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu! We are pleased to know that you've enjoyed the hotel grounds, scenery and restaurants services, however we are sorry to know you faced some challenges upon your arrival. Please know that your comments have already been shared with our team for a proper follow-up. We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to the beautiful region of Charlevoix!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    508
    215
    83
    38
See reviews for
491
1,042
29
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a delightful hotel in a beautiful location, immaculately kept and with service second to none. The rooms are well equipped and beautifully appointed and the hotel is very elegant but very comfortable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ChrisHWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your last stay at Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we will gladly share your comments with our entire team. We all look forward to welcome you again to the beautiful region of Charlevoix!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Perfect place to stay. Old charm hotel beautifully decorated. View and grounds are amazing. Very friendly service and great indoor and outdoor heated pools. Casino is across the street and has underground access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
How wonderful to read your recent comments regarding your stay at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit earlier this month. We will gladly share your comments with our entire team. We all hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is the best place for me to get peace and to relax. The set up is just wonderful, nice view on the water, mountain and castle. The environnement is just unique. You can sit on the terasse and enjoy the view. This is the best place in the world!


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your last stay at Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay as well as our beautiful setting. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the beautiful region of Charlevoix!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Fairmont Richelieu. It was perfect for our family of four. The old charm, view and feel of this property is lovely.
The details were great: blankets to curl up in the adirondack chairs, the heated pool, the play room for the toddlers along with a tiny play ground and the mini golf course for kids. We have a 4 & 6 year old so we are always pleased with the attention that is paid to families staying at the Fairmont!
We always adore the small sized robes for the kids and the King beds with the pull out sofa deluxe rooms.
We stayed on Monday night the drove up to Tadoussac hotel then stayed another night at the Fairmont.
We ended up having breakfast at Cafe chez nous. It was delicious and a great ambience for the kids. We dined at Allegro, a huge mistake. The decor was boudoir and the food was terrible.
I'm hoping to return to this magnificent Hotel. It was gorgeous!

Room Tip: We stayed in renovated rooms and thought they were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieFrost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
How wonderful to read your recent comments regarding your stay at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu! We're delighted to know you enjoyed your visit as well as the many activities we have available for families. We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
234 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at many Fairmont/ Raffles and am a Premier member with them. I was looking forward to a stay here while visiting the Charlevoix region. Hotel looks great from the outside, but goes down from there. Very indifferent service, with a definite I don't care quality. Some of the worst restaurants I have ever eaten at. Then there are rooms which really vie for roadside motel quality . An average traveler who does not know any better would likely be wowed by the manor style of the hotel, and the hunt club feel of the interior, but really this is outer covering on what is really a very average hotel, and given the Fairmont name, actually a very poor hotel.
I write very few negative reviews, but thus is just not a premier hotel, and very much NOT worth the cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are truly sorry to hear the details of your stay with us. We were very surprised to read your feedback and we sincerely apologize for not providing you with the hotel experience you expected. Please rest assured we have shared your comments with our managers and colleagues as this is certainly not in keeping with our high standards of service. We deeply regret this unfortunate experience and we most definitely hope you will give Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu another chance in the future. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

Sincerely,
Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Gorgeous hotel in the Fairmont tradition. Get a room with "Richelieu" in the description to have one that is renovated (it may cost more but you'll be glad you did). Buffet at Bellerive is great and we are not buffet people - maple crèpes at breakfast = heavenly. Amazing service at more up-scale Restaurant St-Laurent but food quality was disappointing. Great activities and fantastic pools but beware - highly touted kids program is no longer offered, even though it is all over their promo material and website.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianVoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre_Papillier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us in regards to your last stay at Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu. We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay, however we were sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the food quality at Le Saint-Laurent restaurant. Rest assured, proper follow up will be made in this regard and we will also follow up on the kids program. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu!

Sincerely,

Pierre Papillier
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Malbaie
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
1.1 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
156 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
Hotel Le Germain Charlevoix
#1 of 9 in Baie-St-Paul
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#5 of 13 in La Malbaie
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#9 of 13 in La Malbaie
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu

Property: Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
Address: 181 rue Richelieu, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1X7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entire team of Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu welcomes our guests to experience unique gastronomy, spectacular views and the abundance of activities available in the picturesque region of Charlevoix. Located only an hour and fifteen minute drive from Quebec City, nestled between mountains, forest and the scenic village of La Malbaie, our property, offering 405 rooms and 4 restaurants is the ideal retreat whether you are in need of a peaceful getaway or an active expedition. Our team’s mission is to make you feel at home and we will ensure everything runs smoothly from your arrival to your departure. Winter activities at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu include: snowmobile, dog sledding, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, as well as skiing in one of the nearby ski resorts, Le Massif or Mont Grand-Fonds. During the summer season, countless options are also available to you: whale watching, 27-holes world class golf course, mini golf, tennis, outdoor pools, hiking…to name a few! Since we care about the whole family’s well-being, children are invited to enjoy the exciting activities available within our children’s Beluga Club. The possibilities are endless at Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, and our concierge will be delighted to assist you with any request you may have concerning the area activities, such as the Astronomical Observatory of Charlevoix, the Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Riviere-Malbaie national park, the trail of flavors and The Baie-Saint-Paul village. Located next to Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu is the Casino de Charlevoix, offering guests the opportunity to test their luck and experience the vibrant nightlife that is waiting right outside our doors. For a perfect afternoon escape, unwind at the Spa du Manoir and treat yourself to one of our signature treatments, complete with a dip in the Jacuzzi or the indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont Hotel La Malbaie
Fairmont La Malbaie
La Malbaie Fairmont
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu La Malbaie, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing