We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Au Petit Berger(La Malbaie)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Chez Pierre(La Malbaie)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
2
18
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
18
12
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Im not sure what people are complaining about while saying this place is expensive. It is a 2 stars place, and the price is set accordingly.
There are no elevator indeed, but going up by the stairs is a good exercise and help digest the meal you might just have had.

I was there October 2012, as i visited family in the area, and was travelling with a friend. we like to try different type of hotel and service. We were not deceived. The service is good and the rooms are clean. Anyhow, we were there to sleep and not to be inspectors, although would not stay in a place where it is crap.

If you are looking for convenient location with good price, i think that's the place

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Savard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie L, Directeur général at Econo Lodge La Malbaie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your comment. We are thrilled you had such a memorable stay and thank you for outlining our various service teams who work hard every day to make each and every guest feel special. We will make sure we share your great feedback with them. Looking forward to welcom you again in our beautiful region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here one night and enjoyed our stay. We were put on the top floor which was quite large and quiet. We were overlooking a house on the side of the property and were able to open the windows wide at night. Beds were comfortable and sleep was great. The downstairs staff were excellent and very helpful to our needs.

This hotel does not have a free breakfast but there is a restaurant adjoining the property and the food was very good.

The only downside is that there is no elevator so if you are elderly and can't carry your bags up three floors then make sure you get a lower room.

I would definitely stay here again as its located right at the centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockey005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie L, General Manager at Econo Lodge La Malbaie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are thrilled you had such a memorable stay and thank you for outlining our various service teams who work hard every day to make each and every guest feel special. We will make sure we share your great feedback with them. Looking forward to welcome you again in our beautiful region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

After an 8 hr roadtrip we were welcomed by a very attentive front desk. The hotel itself is located by the river , has cozy rooms, the diner next door is fantastic food. It is a small hotel with recently renovated rooms.

My favorite part of the hotel was the lounge - comfy chairs, free internet access and a flat screen tv to enjoy local news.

Wouldn't look for another hotel when returning to the city.

Simone Ruyli, Dunfermline, Scotland

Room Tip: Chose lower floors, there is no elevator:)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie L, General Manager at Econo Lodge La Malbaie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are thrilled you had such a memorable stay and thank you for outlining our various service teams who work hard every day to make each and every guest feel special. We will make sure we share your great feedback with them. Looking forward to welcom you again in our beautiful region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Bonjour à tous! Au mois d'octobre dernier, nous avons séjourné, mon mari et moi, à l'hôtel Econolodge de La Malbaie. La chambre que nous avions était très propre et tranquille. Le personnel qui nous a accueilli était convivial et souriant. La réceptionniste nous a fait sentir comme chez nous. Le déjeuner continental était bien. Je vous le recommande, du moins, pour le service incomparable!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie L, General Manager at Econo Lodge La Malbaie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012
Google Translation

Merci infiniment pour votre commentaire. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié notre service à la clientèle. Il nous fera plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre établissement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Passing through town on the way back home, just needed a decent place to rest.

Waited at front desk for 5 minutes before anyone showed up and that was only after calling the hotel reception from my cell. Receptionist insisted on answering loudly ringing phone, even though I told her it was me calling. Receptionist then claimed that no, she did not hear me shouting rather loudly "HELLO!" for past 5 minutes. Nothing resembling an apology was offered.

Next surprise is flights of stairs to rooms, not too bad if you don't have a big bag to lug, otherwise you're out of luck.

The room was plain, reasonably clean, noisy fridge and lots of road noise. Half of the rooms are smoking and only a smoker was available. Didn't try the dining room, it was filled with loud diners,

Overpriced for what you get. No apparent pride in ownership or service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoneTemplePilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews