We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic econo lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge La Malbaie
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This is a pretty basic and yet expensive place. Big rooms, wifi, AC, fridge, etc. but overpriced. Breakfast was dismal. No soul or character. Very humid rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2007

I usually stay at Comfort Inns or Econo Lodges and I had enough points for a free night.

For an Econo Lodge, the room was large, clean, and came with a fridge (nice touch). I had a non-smoking room but the small bathroom smelled like someone had smoked in it a few times. When I spoke to the receptionist, I was told they were full and couldn't move me. At least the rest of the room didn't stink. Also, the pillows were small and flat (thin) and definitely a step down from other hotels in the chain.

I'd stay there again but only if it's a free night or at a big discount. The asking price of $115 + tax a night is a bit high for an Econo Lodge (most are between $80 and $95), especially without a continental breakfast.

We didn't try the restaurant.

Note: we stayed here as it was about an hour from the Parc national des Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Rivière-Malbaie. Some beautiful views of the river and mountains along the hiking trails.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sensei2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2005

Hotel : Econo Lodge
Location : La Malbaie
Time Of Stay : April 19-21 2005

It took a while to get anybody’s attention and when I did it was because I dropped something! She didn't speak any English so it took a while but we got there and she tried. Then I discovered they didn't have a lift so I dragged my luggage up several flights of stairs - rather old carpet, I dreaded the rooms. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean, bathrooms a bit small. The worst thing was the rooms had no soundproofing. You can hear everything. The room I was given first (301 - do avoid it), is at the front of the hotel and faces the main road and you can hear all of the traffic going past which can be rather loud lorries. Also the fridge was humming - what is it with fridges?! I spoke to an English speaking receptionist later. She thought I had booked the room for one night (it was 2 nights but I booked each separately). I happened to mention the noise level in the room. It seems when I booked with Expedia it defaulted to "smoking" and that was a smoking room. Thankfully she was really nice about it all and moved me to a new room, far away from the road (although you could faintly hear it) and it was non smoking (no musty smell). The only other choice of places to stay here would be the Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu which is double the price and looks like it is double the distance from the bus station. Oh and I ate at the restaurant - pizza one night and pancakes for breakfast. There are few places to eat in La Malbaie (especially if your on foot)...the hotel food wasn't bad and the service was quick.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muldr4Scly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank misy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres au 2ème étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Onaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Malbaie hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
Hotel-Motel Castel de la Mer
#2 of 13 in La Malbaie
186 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu
2.3 mi away
Hotel Pavillons Le Petit Manoir du Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Manoir Charlevoix
Manoir Charlevoix
#12 of 13 in La Malbaie
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Au Petit Berger
Hotel Au Petit Berger
#6 of 13 in La Malbaie
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge des Falaises
Auberge des Falaises
#3 of 13 in La Malbaie
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge La Malbaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge La Malbaie

Address: 625 Boulevard de Comporte, La Malbaie, Quebec G5A 1T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > La Malbaie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in La Malbaie
Price Range: £42 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge La Malbaie 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge La Malbaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Malbaie Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge La Malbaie Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing