We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel is set in lovely grounds right on the river.
However we had some of the worst service we experienced during our 3 week fly drive in Canada.
On arrival our bags were taken out of the car and we were asked our surname. I assumed so that they could deliver them to our room. After parking the car we checked in and went to our room. No bags in the room and after 15 minutes I went to see what was happening. The were still on a trolley near the entrance. After asking for our bags they were delivered 5 minutes later. The service at the BBQ was poor. First we had to attract someone to take our drinks order. 10 minutes we were still waiting for the drinks again had to attract someone to deliver our drinks. Now we got the drinks for myself and my wife but they forgot the drink for my daughter. En route to get the missing drink he was side tracked and we ended up with yet another wait for the missing drink.
After the BBQ we went into the hotel intending to get a drink. On approaching the bar in the main reception area we were told "Bar's closed". On apology and an indication where we could get a drink just "Bar's closed".
We had booked 3 single kayaks for an hour and received confirmation that this was booked. We went to the marina to start our 1 hour only to find they only have a total of 2 single kayaks. This is not a small hotel so only having 2 seems a bit limited.
We did experience good service at the hotel. Our meal in the bistro was very nice and reception staff were always very helpful. However the poor service we received from other members of staff are what we remember the most from this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you Tony M for providing your feedback. I am very passionate about my hotel and always ensure we do a fantastic job taking care of all of our guests. I am sorry you did not experience the ultimate level of service from all our staff and with your feedback we will be able to use to improve our services. I appreciate this.

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent resort. Has activities for kids and adults (including horse back riding and free bicycle rental). Huge, exceptional indoor pool, and lovely outdoor pool.
Good restaurants including outdoor barbeque. Charming village. Great reading nooks by the fireplace in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank krlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you krlal! What a pleasure to read your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I recently spent four nights at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello. I use a walker and scooter but I found this historic hotel quite accessible. There is a ramp to the main lobby and at check-in, they suggested moving our room to the main floor - Papineau wing - which had an elevator to the basement level where both restaurants and the accessible washroom are located. Despite the rain I was able to travel by scooter to the indoor pool (there is a tunnel with steps which I did not try) and the lifeguard opened the door directly to the pool deck. There are a few steps with handrails down to the pool. Also one day my scooter required a new fuse and the maintenance staff arrived to lend me a screwdriver and assist with the repair. Most appreciated. Looking forward to a return visit and trying the outdoor pool too.

Room Tip: Hotel lobby in the middle and rooms in five? wings (like a wheel). Some may prefer to be at one end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you Jack C for sharing your comments! I am glad you have enjoyed our property and its accessibility! Also glad to hear our team could assist with tools!

We hope to see you again soon!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A very unique hotel. If you are looking for ultra modern this is not the place for you. If you want to get away from it all stroll the grounds or just sit back with a drink in the great hall this is it. Many great food options all of great quality and while we did not have a chance to try the BBQ it looked amazing.

Rooms are on the small size but will take you back to a time when things are less rushed. The whole hotel is mad up of cedar logs and you will find nothing like this anywhere else I'm sure.

I can hardly wait till we can return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited the Chateau as part of a wedding celebration held on the grounds. What a gorgeous place it is. It is sited on the Ottawa River and the groundskeepers have made the exterior areas immaculate and colorful with lovely summer plantings.The inside is spectacular with exposed beams and the renowned fireplace - which must be incredible aglow in winter. We had a very nice-sized deluxe king room with 2 queens and a queen sofa bed. The bath is a bit small but - hey, everything needed was in there! The shower was lovely, actually. The beds and linens were divine, as expected. Everyone was very amenable to anyone needing assistance in any way. Service was quickly applied to any request. There are a few small shops in the lobby for souvenir hunters and lots of activities available. Our time was too limited because of the wedding but there appeared to be many attractive 'play options' available. We ate breakfast in the main dining room twice and both times, it was incredible. I wish I had a picture of the cinnamon raisin French toast that I had. I'd go back just for that!! The place is certainly not inexpensive but it's not Motel 6, either! Treat yourself!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms - pretty sure they would not allow it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vabchtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you vabchtraveler for your fantastic review! I am delighted to read it! Winter is magical as well...

We sure hopr to have the opportunity to welcome you again !

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Went there for dinner and took a tour of the grounds and hotel. I have never seen anything like it.It's huge! This place was built in the early 1930's as a private club-no expense's spared! It has everything a couple or family would need to keep them satisfied for an awesome vacation.
The place is absolutely beautiful. We ate in the restaurant to a five course meal and it was delicious. It's just perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Shortmom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Shortmom02, thank you for this lovely review! I will gladly share with my team!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a sight riding my bicycle onto a gorgeous Canadian property situated along a wide river and beautiful lake. And, there is the Chateau! A huge and beautifully architected Log Cabin. Grand! magnificent! Words can't describe the sight. Inside is the most Spectacular five-sided fireplace I've ever seen. Rising all the way; three stories up; it is unbelievable. Yes, there's a wine bar and bar menu available for an enjoyable tete-a-tete in the lobby are near the fireplace (the Lobby is huge!) with a nice hummus offering for us Vegans. And now, the food! (Do speak with the restaurant in advance -- they do know "Vegan" "gluten-free" etc). Each of my 2 dinners were specially prepared - Vegan - for me; and they were grand! Breakfast is a buffet - but do ask - they have a Vegan bread (I read the ingredients on the label); and will prepare Vegan items upon request. The service in restaurant is excellent, friendly; and they specially catered to my Vegan needs (suggestion: speak with the maitre d' to make sure what you mean by "Vegan" is consistent with your server's understanding, too). The property, itself, is wonderful and inviting. Do walk the trails; enjoy the waters and marina; hike the woods. And, also explore the nearby town of Montebello which is a short walk away (hint: take the path through the woods from property to town viewing the foliage etc). English is OK for communications but a bit of French goes a long ways with many of the staff. Please do visit - and for more than a day or two. Enjoy Vegan (yes, my carnivore companions said all was Superb, too); and all the resort has to offer. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Lake View (rooms are small but remember this is a 1930's resort). Do go! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lite T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChateauMontebello, General Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lite T, it is a delight to read your review! I am so proud of working here when reading such review... I will gladly pass along your comments to our team, especially our culinary team. Your advice to mention food specifications ahead of time or when arriving at the restaurant is a good advice: our chefs are specially trained on various special dietary need and they are always pleased to prepare meal especially for each guest that requires.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Geneviève

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
17.1 mi away
Eco Spa Highland
Eco Spa Highland
#1 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
26 reviews
24.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
0.8 mi away
Auberge Montebello
Auberge Montebello
#4 of 5 in Montebello
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Lac Carling
Hotel Lac Carling
#2 of 2 in Grenville-sur-la-Rouge
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel Bel Eau
Motel Bel Eau
#2 of 2 in Montebello
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Chateau
Le Petit Chateau
#3 of 5 in Montebello
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello

Address: 392 Rue Notre-Dame, Montebello, Quebec J0V 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range: £138 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the ordinary and experience a delightful retreat at Fairmont Le Château Montebello, the world's largest log cabin! Nestled in the heart of the scenic Montebello village, surrounded by nature, the hotel is famed for its rustic yet luxurious accommodations, excellent service and refined gastronomy. Historically founded as a private club in 1930, Fairmont Le Château Montebello has had the privilege of hosting many political figures, royalty and other celebrities. The resort is now an ideal destination both for leisure and business travelers. Entertainment, local cuisine, relaxation and a warm welcome is what you will come to expect as we want your experience to be truly unforgettable. Beautiful surroundings and year-round activities offer our guests countless possibilities of adventures, including golf, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, curling, tennis, squash as well as Canada's only Land Rover Off-Road Driving Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello Hotel Montebello
Chateau Montebello
Fairmont Montebello
Montebello Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing