We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, delicious, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Boise Joli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Jean Port Joli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Au Boise Joli
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, delicious, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Thierry, the host, is a charming person with a lot of talents and knowledge. His breakfast is probably the best one I have ever had, with edible flowers decorating the plate. The house is a bicentenial building very well decorated and charming. The site is along the St-Laurent and there is a large patio where we had an enjoyable drink (you have to bring your drink or food).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenTif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
64
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I just got home from a wonderful vacation in Quebec. We spent 6 nights at the Au Boise Joli in Port Joli and had a fantastic vacation.

Thierry is a warm and welcoming host. I felt like the B&B really was home for the 6 days that we were there. It is kept clean, tastefully furnished (yet very liveable) and the bed was very comfortable. There are 4 bathrooms, one is a 2 piece. The other 3 either include a lovely bathtub or a shower. I definitely am envious of the washrooms at this B&B.

And the food is terrific. Thierry is an imaginative cook who served up a different breakfast for each of the 6 days we were there. He makes his own breads and jams. And be prepared; breakfast is 3 courses of delicious food!

I would highly recommend this B&B. And if you only speak English, don't worry. Thierry can speak English and he can help you with learning a few new French words!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

In times we have driven through Quebec we have been hesitant to enter the small towns along the beautiful St.Lawrence because of fear of the language barrier. The owner of this B&B, Thierry, made us feel more than welcomed. His willingness to converse in English and help us understand the locale made our stay most enjoyable. The house built in the late 1700's gave the atmosphere of history in our modern times.

We would highly recommend it...the breakfast is the extra treat!

Dave& Nancy Morehouse
Moncton,NB,Canada

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was a fantastic Bed & Breakfast which we stumbled upon on our way back from the Gaspe. Very chatty and friendly owner. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Homemade bread, jams, honey and carefully thought-out main dish. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiemgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Jean Port Joli
1.6 mi away
Le Faubourg
Le Faubourg
#3 of 3 in Saint Jean Port Joli
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
13.6 mi away
Motel Le Martinet
Motel Le Martinet
#1 of 3 in La Pocatiere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Centre-Ville
Hotel Centre-Ville
#1 of 5 in Montmagny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hotel L'Oiseliere - Montmagny
9.3 mi away
Studios Vacances Marchant de Bonne Heure
5.0 mi away
Gite Les Pieds Dans L'Eau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Boise Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Boise Joli

Property: Au Boise Joli
Address: 41, De Gaspe Est, Saint Jean Port Joli, Quebec G0R 3G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Chaudiere-Appalaches > Saint Jean Port Joli
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Jean Port Joli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, your prefered B&B. Authentic Lower Canada house built in 1785 downtown on a site boardering the St-Laurence river, Au Boisé Joli welcomes you hartily to our national woodcarving, good humour and beautiful nature capital. Enjoy the relaxed and antique atmosphere, have a good rest in our spacious and cozy rooms, savour a tasty and generous breakfast dressed with flowers. And lets being charmed by the fragrant and colorful nature of our property, of our vast deck over the river under the mapple trees, of the river shore and of the Cote-Du-Sud region. At Au Boisé Joli ... you're Home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing