We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oddly interesting visit”

Cyclorama De Jerusalem
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oddly interesting visit”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I'm not sure how else to put this; the Cyclorama de Jerusalem is an amazing attraction, but in an odd way. While the building itself doesn't feel like it's been updated since 1950, the painting itself and the explanation that goes with it are worth the money. There's an audio description of the painting that runs alternately in French and English which also points out interesting elements of the painting. A visit only takes 10 - 15 minutes, but is worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank the_man11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    6
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bful painting a must see after the canyon !!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

So if you found the St Anne Canyon you deserve some relax.
Beautiful and unique painting ..masterpiece of xix century.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank louis_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unlike anything we have ever seen for this type exhibit”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

While walking from the parking lot towards Sainte Anne de Beaupre, we passed in front of the Cyclorama, which aroused our curiosity. We had no idea what to expect, but decided that, being we were there, to check it out. Wow, we were so glad we did. It was unlike any exhibit we have ever seen of this nature, and much more interesting than Sainte Anne de Beaupre.

Although there is an admission charge of $9.00 for adults, we felt it was well worth it. After entering the building, you walk up some stairs to a circular viewing area where you stand in the center of a panoramic 3D-like painting, which depicts the crucifixion of Jesus in Jerusalem. In addition to Jesus, the French artists included many of the buildings, the crosses, soldiers, and Roman citizens. A continuous running audio tape guides you through the painting, with each area that is being talked about lit up to point you to the proper location on the painting. The painting is so lifelike that you feel as though you are actually present.

It's remarkable that the painting was made so long ago (late 1800s) and still looks so good.

Very unique and interesting - worthwhile seeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PeagleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A painting worth viewing”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This huge painting was done in the 1800's on a single canvas it surrounds you in the cyclorama. It is a painting of the day of the crucifixion in Jerusalem in 33 AD. The details are astounding. There is a continuous narration in French or English (you tell them your language). You would think that the painting was 3D but it is not. Really worth taking the time to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vatravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This should not be miss ,It's on the property of ST Anne-de-Beaupre.This painting is in a surround setting.It's one continuing picture that looks like 3d.I have never seen anything like this.like a living museum.You can stay as long AS YOU WANT.priced reasonably.take the whole family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank loveslife1643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cyclorama De Jerusalem also viewed

Sainte Anne de Beaupre, Quebec
 
Sainte Anne de Beaupre, Quebec
 

Been to Cyclorama De Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing