We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation”
Review of Auberge Duchesnay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Duchesnay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Every room has a view of the lake!
The restaurant had superb food and the staff were wonderful and friendly and very professional.

Thank MariaTS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

(Actually travelled in July 2011 not 2012) My family did the old school thing and rented one of the cottages. A little rustic but better than tenting it with toddlers, way better. 3 couples and 3 toddlers all in one cottage. Great classic family atmosphere. It was also nice to be able to take advantage of the pool and the spa at the resort as well. We did the beach, paddleboats, bike rentals and camp fires! The only drawback was that the weather at the time we went was super humid and the cottages are not air conditioned. Bring a fan!

Room Tip: The cottages are not air conditioned. Bring a fan (or multiple) for extra air circulation/cooling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabadecade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Food was verry tasteful. Was part of a large group and I wa surprised it was so good and warm which is not always the case when serving groups. Sunday morning brunch is very good. Maple syrup crepes are a must, you also have plenty of fruits, smoked salmon, pastries, eggs cooked following your taste, good old time ham.
About the room, unless you are a group, the auberge is definitely a better choice than the other "pavillons" that diserve a bit of upgrading (carpet, old tv, tired furniture). Bed was comfortable.
Very nice landscape and lots of winter activities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carnelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This beautiful domaine with gorgeous views over lake and forests, also boasts beautiful trails and a lovely lodge experience. While the chalets are somewhat "rustic", and the rooms are small ... it is also quite charming and would be a wonderful getaway for a large group, corporate team-building, or large family outing. The dining experience was very good and definitely surprising.

Overall the value of the hotel and meals, and the surprise of the level of service was a delight!

Room Tip: Apparently the spa services are wonderful and I would definitely want to partake of them the next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunnyloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My spouse and I booked this place to cut a trip from Montreal to Charlevoix in two. We were actually pleasantly surprised by our experience and highly recommend this resort, at least if you are planning to stay at the auberge or inn.

First, the location is simply gorgeous, overlooking a good-sized and beautiful lake - and all the room of inn have lake views, which is nice. The rooms are rather modest looking, with a bit of a rustic feel (compared to other-four stars location) but are clean and functional. The TV are standard definition, but if you plan to watch a good deal of TV, I recommend you go elsewhere. The channel selection is not in fault, but there is lots to do here : a small but nice sandy beach, canoes and kayaks, archery, a suspended tree-top course, hiking trails, etc., plus a spa, exterior Jacuzzi and an heated interior pool.

We also had dinner and breakfast on the exterior patio of the restaurant, which was very good, not gourmet but very honest, fresh and well-done bistro type meals, at reasonable prices.

Staff overall was very friendly and helpful.

So, overall, standard, simple rooms but nice location, great staff and a vast array of activities makes for an outstanding stay.

A couple of additional notes : wi-fi is free and available throughout the inn (I really enjoyed surfing in the morning with my latte on the patio, watching the sunrise over the fog-covered lake - sounds corny like a yuppie add but a great moment anyways), and the mini-bar, for those whom such stuff matters, is one of the best offering I ever saw in an hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

When we booked this i thought it would be more rustic and lodge like. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality level of the rooms product. However, if you go there you are going for the activities. The Spa was very nice and they have these differently themed treatment rooms. We definitely recommend you go on the wildlife tour to see the Bears. The food is ok, but the staff is very friendly. Mylene at the front desk was exceptional. French is the primary language but there is no attitude if you only speak English and it is spoken very well to graciously attempting.

Room Tip: in the main lodge, the lowest floor has a sitting area but less of a view. the upper floors are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Clean rooms. Nice bathroom At the money they're asking that was expected.
Overall a good impression. Clean, peaceful surroundings. A place to find an escape from it all.
Now, that's the surface. Get in the room, AC is good. Nice view.
The reception called to let me know my car lights were on. Nice of them. The staff care.
The bed though, and the pillows...SUCK..I mean SUCK HARD.
I was crippled next morning. The mattress is too soft. I think the springs are finished.
The pillows are dead. They might have been nice once, but any pillow that you can fold in half , and it lies there without springing back....IS DEAD...sorry for the Caps..but my neck was wrecked. I only slept because I was tired.
All in all I'd recommend this hotel...but sweet Jeeezis....get some new pillows...OH ...and can we get some flat screen TV's with some CBS...or PBS..I am an Anglophone. French is not the only language available in Canada.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows and a laptop to watch movies, cos the cable package sucks, esp if you have ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
13.1 mi away
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
#1 of 1 in Lac Delage
293 reviews
15.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 102 in Quebec City
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#33 of 102 in Quebec City
680 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#83 of 102 in Quebec City
59 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#25 of 102 in Quebec City
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Duchesnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Duchesnay

Address: 140, montee de l'Auberge, Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier, Quebec G3N 2Y6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
Price Range: £66 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Duchesnay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature getaways, romantic weekends, family vacations or business meetings. Any occasion is the perfect chance to appreciate Station touristique Duchesnay. This year-round resort is only 30 minutes from Québec City. The 89 km² site by the shores of Lac Saint-Joseph is a magnificent playground for a wide variety of activities: hiking, cross-country skiing, canoeing, rock climbing, archery, guided activities, and much more. This is also a place where you can enjoy fine dining and quality accommodations. Pure enchantment for guests of all ages! This establishment participates in the sustainable development recognition program, . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge Duchesnay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Duchesnay Hotel Sainte Catherine De La Jacques Cartier
Auberge Duchesnay Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing