We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing winter resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge Duchesnay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Duchesnay
Certificate of Excellence
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
394 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Relaxing winter resort”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent 4 nights here after enjoying the winter Carnivale in Quebec City. We stayed in the lodge and were a group of 6. The rooms are well appointed and modern. There was a mini-fridge in the room which was handy for drinks and occasional left-overs. Views over the (frozen) lake were great, especially during the snow. We snowshoed every day and thought we would go elsewhere one day but found so many trails to explore, we did not visit any other parks. There was even dog-sledding available and I don't mean just riding. They actually show you how to drive the dogs; what fun! The staff at the sports center were very helpful with maps and advice. The trails are well marked, we didn't even have trouble being the first ones out after 10" of new snow. The warming huts are a real treat when it comes to lunch time on the trail. Each is kept warm with a wood fire. Breakfast was great with made-to-order eggs and many fresh buffet items. Dinners were outstanding with several irrestible choices each night. Because of the cost we did eat out two nights and there are choices within an easy drive. What a great retreat!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the lake view from room #234.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    52
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
51
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Every room has a view of the lake!
The restaurant had superb food and the staff were wonderful and friendly and very professional.

Helpful?
Thank MariaTS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

(Actually travelled in July 2011 not 2012) My family did the old school thing and rented one of the cottages. A little rustic but better than tenting it with toddlers, way better. 3 couples and 3 toddlers all in one cottage. Great classic family atmosphere. It was also nice to be able to take advantage of the pool and the spa at the resort as well. We did the beach, paddleboats, bike rentals and camp fires! The only drawback was that the weather at the time we went was super humid and the cottages are not air conditioned. Bring a fan!

Room Tip: The cottages are not air conditioned. Bring a fan (or multiple) for extra air circulation/cooling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabadecade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Food was verry tasteful. Was part of a large group and I wa surprised it was so good and warm which is not always the case when serving groups. Sunday morning brunch is very good. Maple syrup crepes are a must, you also have plenty of fruits, smoked salmon, pastries, eggs cooked following your taste, good old time ham.
About the room, unless you are a group, the auberge is definitely a better choice than the other "pavillons" that diserve a bit of upgrading (carpet, old tv, tired furniture). Bed was comfortable.
Very nice landscape and lots of winter activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This beautiful domaine with gorgeous views over lake and forests, also boasts beautiful trails and a lovely lodge experience. While the chalets are somewhat "rustic", and the rooms are small ... it is also quite charming and would be a wonderful getaway for a large group, corporate team-building, or large family outing. The dining experience was very good and definitely surprising.

Overall the value of the hotel and meals, and the surprise of the level of service was a delight!

Room Tip: Apparently the spa services are wonderful and I would definitely want to partake of them the next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnyloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My spouse and I booked this place to cut a trip from Montreal to Charlevoix in two. We were actually pleasantly surprised by our experience and highly recommend this resort, at least if you are planning to stay at the auberge or inn.

First, the location is simply gorgeous, overlooking a good-sized and beautiful lake - and all the room of inn have lake views, which is nice. The rooms are rather modest looking, with a bit of a rustic feel (compared to other-four stars location) but are clean and functional. The TV are standard definition, but if you plan to watch a good deal of TV, I recommend you go elsewhere. The channel selection is not in fault, but there is lots to do here : a small but nice sandy beach, canoes and kayaks, archery, a suspended tree-top course, hiking trails, etc., plus a spa, exterior Jacuzzi and an heated interior pool.

We also had dinner and breakfast on the exterior patio of the restaurant, which was very good, not gourmet but very honest, fresh and well-done bistro type meals, at reasonable prices.

Staff overall was very friendly and helpful.

So, overall, standard, simple rooms but nice location, great staff and a vast array of activities makes for an outstanding stay.

A couple of additional notes : wi-fi is free and available throughout the inn (I really enjoyed surfing in the morning with my latte on the patio, watching the sunrise over the fog-covered lake - sounds corny like a yuppie add but a great moment anyways), and the mini-bar, for those whom such stuff matters, is one of the best offering I ever saw in an hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

When we booked this i thought it would be more rustic and lodge like. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality level of the rooms product. However, if you go there you are going for the activities. The Spa was very nice and they have these differently themed treatment rooms. We definitely recommend you go on the wildlife tour to see the Bears. The food is ok, but the staff is very friendly. Mylene at the front desk was exceptional. French is the primary language but there is no attitude if you only speak English and it is spoken very well to graciously attempting.

Room Tip: in the main lodge, the lowest floor has a sitting area but less of a view. the upper floors are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
13.1 mi away
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
#1 of 1 in Lac Delage
257 reviews
15.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
13.3 mi away
Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Grand Times Hotel
Grand Times Hotel
#51 of 101 in Quebec City
294 reviews
21.0 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
3,957 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Duchesnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Duchesnay

Property: Auberge Duchesnay
Address: 140, montee de l'Auberge, Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier, Quebec G3N 2Y6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Duchesnay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Duchesnay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Duchesnay Hotel Sainte Catherine De La Jacques Cartier
Auberge Duchesnay Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing