We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Montagnard
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sutton
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very well located in the Eastern Townships - close enough to the town of Sutton, QC to pop in for a meal or walk around town - far enough to enjoy the country life. Equipped with a pool, hot tub and outdoor BBQ grills.

We were 3 adults staying in a studio for 3 nights. The kitchenette was well equipped enough to make a decent breakfast & evening BBQ dinner. The studio was clean & a great bed. Although the pullout couch was a bit worn, it was also comfortable.

The reception desk was very well informed on activities in the area - including hiking trails, driving directions and what-to-visit.

We are definitely looking to bring a larger group back next winter for several days of skiing and will be booking a condo that can accommodate up to 8 adults.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug43210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two weekday nights in a suite, two adults and two children (one toddler, one 10 year old).
The room was spacious, with a living room equipped with a pull-out bed for our son. We had our toddler in a playpen in the kitchen area. The kitchen was equipped for those who wish to make your own meals. There are even a few BBQs available, which was quite handy. We had the continental breakfast included the first morning, would not recommend it. We were able to visit Granby Zoo one day, Bromont the next. It is a bit isolated, and not walking distance to the downtown area. Swimming area was nice, with lots of chairs to sit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagnard1, Manager at Le Montagnard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

We are pleased to see that you have enjoy your stay in one of our Studio! They are usually very popular with small families!

Continental breakfasts are generally appreciated by our customer but there is always room for improvement! We are always open to the suggestions of our customers. In this regard, we now offer homemade jams and local products are always in the spotlight!

We see that you have benefit of our Zoo and Waterpark package wich is really popular on Summer time! We also offer this package this summer!

We are hoping to welcome you another time, thank you very much for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were 3 adults staying in one of the studios for 5 nights. Queen bed, pull out couch and a little kitchen including a stove, microwave and small fridge. Perfect for our needs. The pullout couch was a little worn and not very comfortable for the one sleeping in it. The linens were sparse for it, just two flat sheets and a blanket. The bed was okay, would have liked it to be a little more comfortable. Other than that the place was located close to the ski hill, the staff were friendly and we got great deals on ski lift tickets. We were able to go snowshoeing, starting at the hotel and connecting with a very pretty trail. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumbo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were in a group of oldies who had booked the condos for a reunion. It was a good choice and price. Our 2-bedroom condo was very well equipped, even including an electric whisk. Wifi was occasionally temperamental. Only two criticisms. The bed did not suit me, and I found it quite uncomfortable. Also, one of the other condos had mice. Apparently they are a problem, and get in easily if anyone leaves a door open.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Westwinds3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent a night in their deluxe suite. Clean, quiet. Actually we were the only people in the hotel so we got great service...from our arrival to 5 pm. Then we had the whole place to ourselves.
We had breakfast included so they brought us a tray with plenty in it and...a toaster.
The hottub was great but this is the second place in a few days that apparently can't afford the support for the cover that makes it easy to open alone...and good steps to get in! I am tall, yet I had a hard time getting in and out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our group of 9 people stayed here over a weekend (Jan 27-29)of skiing/boarding at Sutton and Jay Peak. We stayed at Chalet #395.
This chalet is very convenient to Mont Sutton and the main strip in Sutton. The kitchen was fully equiped, and functional (including dishwasher), the 3 bedrooms were small, but functional and clean, but nothing luxurious. The lofted area had 3 single beds, perfect for children. There is only 1 bathroom. The views from the chalet were pretty.
Service: This is where the hotel can improve. Although check in was fast and easy, when we asked that sand/salt be placed on the icy driveway (since 2 cars got stuck) this was never done. We asked for draino for the bathroom sink since it wasn't draining, that never happened as well. We purchased our lift tickets through the front desk and the girl who we quickly realized was new and not trained properly. She forgot to charge us taxes on the lift tickets and we received a call to pay for it the night before checking out. Not our fault that proper training was not done and funny that you contact us for taxes yet our simple requests were never addressed. Although the chalet was adequate, the walls are paper thin. We were able to hear the people below us, so I can only imagine how us simply walking around could have been annoying for them.

Overall, I would stay here again, only because of location to Mont Sutton, Bromont and Jay Peak. If you want something more, I'd consider looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for upper part of chalet. Paper thin walls, being on the lower level would be potentially noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterf1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in condo 1 for 3 nights of skiing and boarding at Sutton. We were part of a larger group that took 2 condos (1 & 13) and one hotel rom. The condo unit #1 is acceptable and has the basics, plus a few things. We were a party of 6 in that unit. The 2 bedrooms are extremely small. There is insufficient room to have your bags in the room and still walk around the bed. The beds are acceptable, with clean but inexpensive hotel-chain sheets and blankets. Both small rooms have queen beds. The closets are all but useless as they are so small. The gas fireplace is nice. The kitchen area is getting tired. The plywood cabinets are pulling off the wall and none of the doors close properly. The cooking utensils, cutlery and glassware are all acceptable. The bathroom is large, clean and functional. The 2 pull out double sofabeds are unpleasant for adults, but probably OK for kids. One couple of the 3 chose instead to sleep on an inflatable queen bed we had with us. You have to exchange dirty towels yourself, in the lobby. We had to ask for toilet paper. It is a very short drive to Mont Sutton, and a shuttle bus operates on weekends and school breaks. The hot tub is fine but closes at 9pm each night. We did not try the bar or continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whiskywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
1.3 mi away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
1.3 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sutton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
12.2 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
16.1 mi away
Le St Martin Bromont
Le St Martin Bromont
#3 of 7 in Bromont
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montagnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montagnard

Address: 264 rue Maple, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range: £88 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Montagnard 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Montagnard is a mountain Resort at the foot of Mount Sutton. It offers different types of accommodation: hotel rooms, condos and chalets. It has a double Hotel Classification ...Hotel and Tourist Residence (condos and chalets ) . It has 3 stars in both ( 2) categories. On the main site , we find a bar (Le Zest), a meeting and reception rooms depending of the needs of our group. A WIFI access is also available. In addition , an outdoor pool, a Jacuzzi (open year-round) , a volleyball and badminton court, a firecamp, a children playground and a direct access to hiking trails. As activities you can choose between skking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing in winter, while in summer you can choose between golf, cycling, wine tour , water slides and ... Much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Le Montagnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montagnard Sutton, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing