We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!!! Dirty and disgusting.”
Review of Au Diable Vert

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Au Diable Vert
Reviewed 4 June 2012

When visiting the website, the tree house rentals seem idyllic. Rustic yet comfortable and with the high price tag (as high as a 4-star resort), the expectations were cleanliness and comfort. It could not be further from the truth.

Let's start from the beginning.. You have to park your car a fair distance away from the actual cabins (about half a mile away). They loan you a cart to wheel your luggage to the cabins but the roads are so rough (and uphill) that you are half dead by the time you reach your cabin. If you need help with your luggage, they charge you handsomely for it.

The treehouses look ok from the outside but when you get close enough, you notice the bird feces are covering the entire area. The winding metal staircase is difficult to climb (let alone with your stuff). When you open the door, you smell the must and rot in the air. Our cabin was FULL of rodent droppings (everywhere) including on the beds. The mattresses are moldy and smelly. Upon closer inspection, you notice small dark red spots (tell-tale of bedbugs). It seems no effort is made at all to maintain the cleanliness of these cabins. We also heard much scratching (rodents). When asked, management told us that they scarcely ever change sheets or mattresses (and it really shows). The lady helping us was nice enough but in denial as to the horrible conditions of these cabins.

Did I forget to mention the gaping hole in the deck (20 feet up) and the huge nest in the outhouse?

We understand that these are cabins.. But we expect cleanliness and safe conditions (with the small and all of the other trappings, we have no doubt that this presents a serious health hazard). And at those very high prices, consumers should get more for their money.

STAY AWAY... I cannot emphasize this enough. I'm quite sure that there are better accomodations elsewhere and you can visit the scenic landscapes during the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elizabeth_pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuDiableVert, Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear elizabeth_pierre

Thank you for taking the time to review us even though you only had a very brief visit that lasted about 40 min. in which you decided that it was too rustic for you to stay. We are very sorry that you had a terrible experience, looking at your reviews you seem to be very unlucky in this respect.

Immediately understanding that you were not prepared nor equipped for a rustic stay, we were nice enough to have offered you to change accommodations for a significantly less rustic mountain view suite, however you refused.

You also then received a full refund for the rate of $150 + taxes for 4 people and free transport (a value of $10 dollars). Removing the trail fees of $5 per person per day, your family would have actually been charged less than $30 per person for your one night stay.

As you did not want to stay in any of our other less rustic accommodations, we also found you a B&B that is dog friendly (won several awards) at 15 min drive. The owner personally waited for your family for 2 hours after having opened just for you. Unfortunately your family never showed, nor did you have the courtesy to cancel.

Despite the request we did not remove the bird nest with baby birds (we do not believe they needed to be killed) in the outhouse, but simply removed the nest once they had grown out of it. Most guests appreciate these little connections with nature.

Upon arriving, it was clear that you had removed each mattress and inspected each side. The ‘blood stains’ referred to on the sheets, are rather the stitching on the mattress cover. Sheets and bedding are not provided in the rustic cabins.

The dangerous hole referred to was 4 cm x 6 cm upon inspection, and was immediately repaired.

The cabin in question is rented over 300 days per year and virtually every guest has been extremely happy with the ‘rustic accommodations’ we offer in the cabins. We may even add that the director of a five star Montreal’s Hotel (one of the finest addresses the province has to offer) published referral in La Presse and stays in the very same accommodation several times (this year 4 times already) a year – very happily.

It is clear that despite our efforts you have remained unhappy with you free 40min visit to our establishment. We hope that you have better luck elsewhere.

Your Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We've been, me my girlfriend, on warm recommendations from friends. We stayed in one of there tree shacks that they offer. The experience was nice just as the location and the pastoral landscape surrounding the area.
The Hic!
Not mentioned on the website, but the reservations on weekend days are always for two nights. Even if you plan to stay for one night, you'll pay the price of two (between 180$ and close to 300$). Depending of the season, you'll need to warm up the shack at night with a fire place stove. The wood is not included and you'll need to pay for it. They won't tell you but the bunch of wood you have when you arrive count for 2 stacks. Add to the previous price a good 30 to 40 dollars of wood for two nights.
Considering that you are already paying a really high fee for a no service room rental plus the wood at night plus the baggage carrying if you don't want to carry then yourself, plus the unpredictable additive fees that they can charge you... our week end cost us 250 $ for the less expensive of the shacks.
As I said, great spot for camping but waaaaay too expensive and not really worth it for the tree shacks.
Hope this review will not discourage you to go but just help you make you're mind when you'll choose to go.

Room Tip: go camping and bring you're own wood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mathart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Hello Mathart,

Thank you for your review. Do feel free to write in any language, we'll do our best to respond.
We do offer 35 rustic campsites, 2 prospector tents, 13 rustic cabins (tree houses, cliff cabins, log cabins) and 3 fully equipped suites. Prices range from $12 to $70 per person (camping-suites) - and the weekend are a 2 night or even 3 night minimum, but you are more than welcome to stay only one night Sunday through Thursday (except holidays). We do make this very clear when you book with us and yes, we are very strict about it, too, but the prices stay the same all week, all year.

Wood...there is a very big difference in the amount of wood people use. Having originally included the wood we were facing a very unreasonable use by a few individuals that was neither good for us, nor the environment. So we cut the rental prices and excluded the wood - 90% of people, now a little more conscious, use less and pay less than before.

People-powered activities, does include that we suggest (for the good of sustainability) you use the carts or sleds (provided for free) and your own muscle power to bring your bags to your site (between 5 to 20min). If you are not capable or do not wish to do so there is a service on offer to transport all your items for $10 - not worth it if you are an experienced outdoors person with one well packed backpack each, however if you can fill more than 2 sleds or carts, it is well worth the price.

Again, please notice than we do not charge parking fees, entrance fees, trail fees, shower coins or any of the other park standards. Some people actually think it's a steal - we are sorry that you were unhappy with the pricing. There is always the cheap camping option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed there January 2012 in the Dream catcher. The view, the site and the chalet we're like expected, nice. However we had issue with the electricity (power pack) and the owner didn't cooporate. The reception was close at 6 pm. so we had to walk twice from our chalet to the reception to finnaly get 2 flashlights.
We will not g back there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ananana87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuDiableVert, Front Office Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Anais,

We are sorry to hear you had difficulties with your batteries. The DreamCatcher due to its size and the 4 lights does use up the batteries more quickly. We have added a second set of batteries and ordered an extra large solar panel to recharge them. We saw you gave us great ratings on everything else. Thank you you must have loved it.
Naturally we are disappointed with ourselves that we dissapointed you with our service. Offering you the LED light sticks (which are used as lighting in the prospector tents and small cabins) is the only other solution of lighting up those remote cabins while a battery rechargeds for 6-8 hours. We are sorry you did and extra walk to pick these up.

So thank you again for giving us 4 stars on everything - the service will get your best rating yet if you do return!

Your Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed in a mountain view suite in the fall. The suite had 2 bedrooms, a small living room and kitchen area. The kitchen area was decorated with taxidermy (a squirrel) and a moldy skull of a cow right over the stove. Not appetizing to say the least. There was no fireplace, no t.v. no bathtub, no radio and one of the bedrooms lacked curtains. The floor of the shower was not solid near the drain (i.e. rotting).

The owner was not particularly friendly, the parking area had huge potholes and the turnoff to the property is not paved and quite steep. We will not stay there again.

However, we loved the view and the surrounding area. They keep Highland cows on site which is interesting and there are lots of nature trails to explore for those who like to hike and those who bring their dogs. Better to camp there than rent a suite!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lottie543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuDiableVert, General Manager at Au Diable Vert, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Lottie543,

Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We are sorry to hear that you were missing amenities in your suite. The Jay Peak suite in which you stayed does only have a shower in the bathroom, but is preferred by our customers on their longer stays as it includes a washer and a dryer in the bathroom. both bedrooms do have sheers, but maybe you were lacking the heavier curtains that block out all light. The Jay Peak (as all other suites) does not have an open fireplace , but rather each is equipped with what they call a "foyer" which is essentially a wood or propane stove with a glass pane/door that allows you to enjoy the flames visually as well as the warmth. Jay Peak is the unit with a "foyer au propane" preferred by many guests who are a little allergic to wood fires.
As for the taxidermy, being a hunting and fishing lodge we do have rather a lot of it. The skull is actually moss covered (not moldy) and since its very old and dry there isn't really anything left to mold on it. Some people hate it - some people love it. Actually most of our taxidermy has a local wife banning it to the garage or attic and the proud owner bringing it to us for a more glorious second life.
Yes, no TV, no phone. We actually want you to leave it all behind and come and relax it our beautiful mountain domain. For those who absolutely cannot live without a connection to their busy lives, we do provide wireless internet. If you do bring your laptop and feel like a movie, just ask at reception for a list of our free rental DVDs.

So we hope we haven't put you off with our taxidermy and that you'll come back to enjoy the site again.....we'll be happy to treat you to a free SPA visit at SPA Bolton (spoil yourself a little).
and shhh! don't tell yet, but we are planning to put in an infinity pool next year exclusive use suites only.

Your Au Diable Vert team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guitardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: N'y aller pas !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stehuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sutton hotels
4.9 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
4.9 mi away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
4.4 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 5 in Sutton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Auberge des Appalaches
4.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sutton
33 reviews
4.4 mi away
Huttopia Sutton
Huttopia Sutton
#1 of 4 in Sutton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Diable Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Diable Vert

Address: 169 Staines | Glen Sutton, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sutton
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Diable Vert is an unusual concept in the world of wilderness outfitters, agrotourism and recreotourism, but a concept that proves more and more popular and relevant each year. Instead of just a fishing rod or gun, our guests have the chance to appreciate nature and the spectacular view of the Appalachian and Green mountains, with binoculars, camera, hiking poles, a kite or the hand of a loved one. Facilitating the Quebec wilderness experience, no matter the season, is what we strive to do better and better each year. A compelling and unique choice of activities, range from exploring our mountain top site in the mountains, to splashing, paddling and fishing in the valley, to pedalling through the treetops on the unique-in-Canada VeloVolant canopy cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Au Diable Vert Sutton, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing