We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cozy place, wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge des Appalaches
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sutton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent three days at the Inn with a large group of friends and family ranging from 5 to 80 years old. Within 2 minutes of the Mt. Sutton ski station (even has a free shuttle running between the hotel and the ski hill!), Auberge des Appalaches is the perfect place to relax for some après-ski by the fireplace, either sitting on a couch or playing cards or board games. The hosts and staff are very welcoming and make you feel right at home.

We stayed with our two kids (13 and 16) in one of the largest rooms (Queen Terrace), which has probably been renovated recently - modern two-sink bathroom complete with a nice shower to work out those ski induced stiff muscles!

All of this said, the best thing about our stay was the food! Each evenings, we were presented with a fresh table d'hote, supplemented with a nice a la carte menu. The price was well worth it ($34 per person for a 3-course delight...). Because of the size of our group, we got to see/smell/taste most of the dishes prepared by Chef John, and comments were near unanimous about how good everything was!

Room Tip: the two larger room on the lower level are freshly renovated and quite large (ample room for 4 adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groundwaterdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here in the fall of 2013. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel very much; it is very relaxed, the owners welcome you from the beginning, and the rest of the staff are all so polite and friendly. They have a bar and restaurant onsite, which is very handy. The restaurants serves excellent food (see my review) and the bar is also nice. It's a great chilled, relaxed atmosphere to come back to after a long day of visiting wineries, etc. The room, while small, was renovated, efficient and clean. The morning breakfast was excellent; really, really good food.
We got a package and thought it was well put together.
Overall, we will definitely return when back in Sutton.
Oh, lastly, the location is fantastic. Very close to mount sutton and downtown sutton, which has other dining options should you choose.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkToTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Few things are more enjoyable to Montrealers looking for a weekend getaway outside the city than a fabulous inn like this one. Patricia and John, the owners, are fantastic, kind people passionate about their inn. And it shows!

The rooms on the upper floor are older but still very cute and welcoming. But my favourite ones are on the ground floor, where rustic truly meets chic in a unique, contemporary way.The hotel also features a newly renovated patio and pool.

But if you only had one thing to do at the hotel, I would urge you to eat. The menu is carefully curated by John, a professional trained chef, and the maple wapiti tartare is just heaven-sent. Everything, including the locally made wines, is delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms on the ground floor - they are much better than the ones upstairs, and more st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mawie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Rented the whole place for a night with friends and Will let them write the lodging revues...All were happy, as far as i know.
We ate a meal for 25 people as special as a gourmet meal can be. Chef's special duck confit is always the best. Vegetarians were happy with a refreshingly tasty risotto. Fish eaters were thrilled with the artistic and perfectly cooked local white fish with fresh local veges...Did i mention the starter of asparagus with a SOFT boiled lightly battered fried egg .
Owners are so nice, so competent, so professional and gracious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mms1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in Sutton at a B&B and decided before we left for our trip to have dinner here. Almost got canceled out because the Auberges lost power because of snow on May 25th - they called to let us know then called about 30 minutes later to let us know that all was well! Glad it was because the ambience, the staff, food quality and presentation was unsurpassed. Our waitress Meghan and the owner/chef's wife Patricia made us feel welcomed and comfortable.
The list of "Specials for the Night" were indeed special - we would certainly go back when in town.

Room Tip: Did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent a weekend getaway skiing at Mont Sutton and stayed at Auberge des Appalaches. It is a very charming place, the food was excellent, the location perfect ( close to ski hill and downtown). No TV in bedroom, if we would have known that, we would have brought some entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Amazing! We just returned from a 5 nights ski trip at the Auberge des Appalaches. John and Patricia were our hosts and offered such wonderful hospitality that we felt like family. The rooms were spotless as were the common rooms. The common rooms offer a cozy fireplace to sit by after a long day of skiing, as well as a sun room with games for the family to enjoy. We woke up every morning to a wonderful breakfast made by John and then spent the rest of the day wondering what he might make us for dinner. If only wish there were words to describe how wonderful the food is...we would make the trip just for the food! Mont Sutton is less than a 1 minute drive up the hill and our package including our lift tickets, accommodations, dinner and breakfast for a price that can't be beat. Both my husband and I commented that we would have spent the same amount just on the dinners if we had been eating in comparable restaurants in Toronto. If you're thinking about going to Mont Sutton, you will not find a better place! We will be making this an annual trip going forward.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
1.2 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
1.2 mi away
Auberge Sutton Brouerie
0.1 mi away
Le Montagnard
Le Montagnard
#4 of 5 in Sutton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sutton
34 reviews
16.0 mi away
Le St Martin Bromont
Le St Martin Bromont
#3 of 7 in Bromont
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Appalaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Appalaches

Address: 234 Maple, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range: £95 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not a B&B or a hotel ! A friendly family run Auberge, with country charm, and a four seasons destination at the heart of the Eastern townships. After only 2 years in business, our restaurant is well known in the area. As part of "Chef Créateur" we offer a seasonal cuisine with local products. Our guests come for our numerous "made to measure" packages (ski, golf, trekking, cycling, Route des Vins, Blues Festival, specialized workshop...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge des Appalaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Appalaches Hotel Sutton
Auberge Des Appalaches Sutton, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing