We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, but not that impressive.”
Review of Great Stirrup Cay

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty, but not that impressive.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The beach looks beautiful, but it was painful to walk on. The sand was so coarse and full of shells and rocks. Even the ocean surface was rocky in shallow waters. My sister cut her toe trying to walk back to shore! The best part was the parasailing excursion offered by Norwegian Cruise Line. It was amazing! 5-7 minutes of a 500 foot view overlooking the Atlantic. It was peaceful and such a memorable experience. Lunch was provided by the cruise line and there were bars on the beach for those who wanted to partake. There were also little shops with handmade beach attire and other souvenirs. We had a great time as a family, and there was something for everyone.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank curlmelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    214
    59
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Like Heaven”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

One of our best vacations. I love beaches, and this was the first time I set foot on one outside the states. The soft sand, the turquoise waters-ah man. It was like heaven on earth. The weather was perfect, not to hot and not too cold (I recommend going in October). The only downfall was that we could only stay for the day and then we had to get back on the cruise ship. I will definitely return to this island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheerrich09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great job NCL”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have taken a few different cruises and really enjoyed this NCL island. We did the jet ski tour and highly recommend it! We also walked around and explored the island a little. It was a real neat experience being on an exclusive island. The food NCL provides is very good too. The only bummer part of our time was they were doing some major construction so we had periodic construction noise.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank StayingFrosty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this stop”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just got back from a 4 day Bahamas cruise on the Norwegian sky. This island was one of the highlights of our cruise. There are very limited vendors on the island, so you don't have a bunch of locals in your face as soon as you get off the ship. The beach is beautiful and there are plenty of beach chairs for everyone. The buffet style lunch was great!! We just really liked the noncommercial aspect of this island compared to the other 2 islands we visited on our cruise. It was our most relaxing day!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank maggiej420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best day of our cruise”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We splurged on a small cabana and that made this the best day of our week-long vacation. We brought our own snorkel gear and enjoyed the quiet lagoon nearest the cabana until it was time for our kayak tour. Andy and Jay were great guides and it was a perfect day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundogstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Stirrup Cay also viewed

Berry Islands, Out Islands
Great Harbour Cay, Berry Islands
 
Berry Islands, Out Islands
 

Been to Great Stirrup Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing