We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, but rooms 'so-so'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous, but rooms 'so-so'”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Loved this place, but feel I can't give it the highest ratings as the rooms are so basic. (And sheets a little scratchy.) That being said, I can't wait to go back! The food is great, the staff are wonderful. There may not always be someone staffing the reception desk, but the bartender can always call and track someone down for you. I had a terrific pedicure - wish I'd taken more advantage of the spa services, but didn't have information about them in my room. We had some surreal experiences with hundreds of porpoises playing around our boat while fishing. So cool!! Please note there are workers there making very little money. If you are taken out to one of the anchored boats for your fishing trip, PLEASE tip the guy in the skiff. He is only paid with tips. Same with some of the volunteers at the dock. The skippers run boats belonging to someone else, they need to be tipped well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    33
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
35
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Had a great time. The wedding on the beach was so romantic. Things went so smooth and the food and service was great. I would definitely recommend having a wedding here. I actually got tired of all the complements.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty123459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I really enjoy the Hotel Buena Vista. Great Hospitality, Great Food and Relaxing. The staff is great to set up many local activities. I always enjoy fishing for Marlin, Dorado and Tuna. Clean comfortable rooms. They have the best Nachos...so enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just returned from a wedding trip to Buena Vista Resort. What a fantastic time was had by all! I had visited Buena Vista several years ago for a group fishing trip but this was my wife's first trip to the resort and she loved it too. The staff at Buena Vista left no stone unturned to make our friends' wedding a very memorable event.

If you are looking for hussle and bussle, Cabo is your place - however if you are looking for a relaxing tranquil experience, with service that is second to none.... Then Buena Vista Resort is your place.

Hortensia, Felipe, Saul and the rest of te staff are always available to help make the trip special.

Happy Traveling!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exilenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Family owned and run, by a caring, gentle family from father down to his sons. We always enjoy our stay at HBV, the fishing is always spectacular, the food is amazing and diverse, the guests they have are entertaining and fun, Robin Wade is our newly found contact at HBV, we are looking forward to spending a week or so on the East Cape and for sure at Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort, it is simply amazing.

Room Tip: We like the rooms down by the pool, they are a short walk to the boats and a good distance from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_W_Stock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just returned two days ago to Montana from five great days at HBV. It was our second trip to the East Cape; the last was seven yeas ago to a nearby and well respected resort/fish camp that we also enjoyed very much. I wouldn't try to compare places as both of our visits were great and would return to either in a heartbeat. Except to say that the Valdez family and their entire staff go well above and beyond all expectations in trying to make your visit relaxing and care free. And maybe this is where our real appreciation for HBV is and where their destinction shines... in their people and the atmosphere they cultivate; where guests can quickly relax and visit with each other, and the staff, over the course of a couple of days, become friends.

Where do you go and find the owners themselves making time to personally rustle up and assemble snorkel gear from off-season storage upon request (Felipe)? Or take time out of their busy day to look through your tackle to help pick out the right lures for Roosterfish, Sierra, and Cabrilla (Saul)? Elizabeth at the front desk is absolutely a hoot with her infectious energy, laughter, and sincere desire to help coordinate any activity or request from our much anticipated marlin fishing trip to our tour of La Paz. She even turned over her office and computer to us on the last morning so we could personally check in for our departure flights, pay for baggage, and print boarding passes... can you imagine?!

Our drivers were outstanding...Hector our driver to and from the resort to the airport was extremely gracious when he had to wait an extra hour and a half for our friend's delayed arrival flight. Like Abraham our driver and "tour guide" to La Paz, they were both awesome when it came to answering any imaginable question about the area history, culture, politics, the desert, or fishing. The day to La Paz was more than what we expected... mostly due to Abraham's openess to sharing so much about life in Baja and his willingness to show us more than just the tourist side of things. He even took us to Pez Mar where he joined us for lunch for the very best seafood tacos imaginable.

Over twenty five years of professional guiding/outfitting and high-end property and ranch management experience affords us a unigue perspective to evaluate an operation like HBV. Bottom line we would feel fortunate to have any of HBV's staff work for us! They're that good!

Other reviewers focus on the facilities, food, lack of nightlife, etc., etc. And for the most part they are right on the money. If you insist on staying in accomodations that have that prestine, unlived-in feel that is a common industry standard, and you yourself live that way at home, then the rooms here will not be as you would expect. However, if you concern yourself with the things that count, and not how well the paint on the window trim and caulking looks, then you'll be satisfied. The rooms are colorful, the sheets and towels are clean, the full-size beds are firm, and the A/C kicks butt. Our room had great water pressure in the shower and more than enough hot water. The sink faucet was low on pressure but the screen could have been plugged with sand... I didn't think to bother unscrewing the screen and checking- blame it on "Baja Brain!" Heck, you're not in the rooms very much.

Power outages in the East Cape do occur, but HBV has it's own large generator plant to make sure that guests experience as little disruption as possible. Power went out a couple of times for a short spell while we were there, once during dinner, but Felipe and Miguel where right on top of it. No problemas... Looking up and down the coast from our terrace dinner table, while the towns of Buena Vista and Los Barillos were dark, we had lights, music, and dinner without delay.

Meals are ordered off the menu and there is plenty of variety for a week's stay. The presentation is better than where we stayed before and the quality and quantity was very good. You will not go hungry on the American plan! And besides, if you're lucky enough to get Letetica or Esperanza as your waitress, an abundance of smiles and laughter are thrown in for good measure.

The landscaping and pool area are highly maintained and aside from some occasional missing roof shingles and cracked or chipped adobe, the building facilities are well cared for. Remember, this is the East Cape where life and the charm of the place is much more laid back then the hustle and bustle of the sterile, corporate-owned and operated Cabo corridor.

Now let's talk fishing...

Fishing on the East Cape is the area's internationally known claim-to-fame and for good reason. The resort has a long and distinquished legacy of catering to fisherman and they are not only proud of it, but take it very seriously. They really want their guests to do well.

March is not a peak month for either fishing from the beach or boat. However, Striped Marlin are caught year-round and we were very grateful that our requested boat "3Hermanos" with Captain Ramon and Tio were able to get the boat out of winter storage and ready in time for our day on the water. Arrangements for the day were discussed the evening before, licenses and breakfast at 6:15 am and on the boat at 7:00 am. Traveling twenty five to thirty miles off shore gave this old fishing guide and outfitter plenty of time to check over the boat and equipment. Top flight is all I can say. As for the crew, they definately know what they are doing. Not only can they handle their equipment and take care of what needs to be done with a minimum of effort and the familiarity that only comes with time, but they also know the water and have the eyes and "sense" of what is happening on the water that day. While our "rookie eyes" were fading by mid-day after searching hour upon hour for birds hunting bait schools and tailing marlin, Ramon and Tio stayed vigilant and continued to spot tailing marlin and sailfish in the afternoon.

Our daughter was able to land and release a 130-140 lb class marlin after a one hour fight. The battle was made even more epic and difficult when the marlin, after it's third or fourth jump, became tail-wrapped by the line! Considering this was her first marlin, she sure met the challenge. For the day we had four marlin and one sailfish into the spread and coupled with the marine life (manta rays, whales, dolphins,etc.) one sees while out there, the day was more than we could have hoped for. As it was we were one of only two boats that day that landed a marlin... bueno trabajo y gracias Ramon and Tio!

The resort has a couple of kayaks that folks can use to paddle off the beach to reach inshore and reef fishing. I enjoyed my last day paddling and fishing for hours while a big school of Roosterfish literally made the calm ocean explode all around my kayak as they tore into and destroyed a school of baitfish. Didn't hook up but didn't care either... the show was that good! Not sure if HBV has more kayaks, if they do great, but this is one aspect of their fishing program that would greatly help the visiting angler and make them more competitive with a neighboring fishing resort. For whatever reason: budget limitations for multiple days cartering a boat, waiting for an available boat, or just having the fantastic opportunity to experience another way of fishing (and seeing the ocean environment up close), having a good supply of kayaks and well-maintained equipment for rent is a huge attraction for the visiting angler.

This might be a wild idea, but if HBV had one or two plexiglass bottom kayaks so folks could paddle over the reef to view the abundant marine life, what a marketing tool and boon to those who aren't comfortable with snorkeling or to reach more remote spots on the reef.

We could go on and on but if you're the kind that can appreciate the singular pleasure of enjoying a Sea of Cortez sunrise while watching the fishing fleet prepare for the days' work, walking the beach and visiting with those that you meet there, reading a book in a hammock, or taking an area tour, and then sharing your adventures with your new friends at the dinner table next to you at day's end... than pack your bags to the East Cape and "Old Mexico" and soak in some sun and hospitality HBV style. You'll be planning your next trip as soon as you get home just like we are!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My first trip to The East cape.
What a Fishing Fantasy.
Not much into the Marlin, but you can possibly catch or at least hook into some aprox. half of the day without taking the whole day to hunt for them and within distance of land.
Simply amazing.
So many species of fish to choose from:
Roosterfish, Dorado(Mahi-Mahi: Simply delicious)Tuna, Billfish and Snapper and Grouper.
Hopefully next time, will try to get into some Tuna action.
They have all the equiptment that you might need.
Brought along a couple of spinning reels spooled with Braid.
Did not bring any Surf Rods, but the Resort has availble if you need.
on my last day there, had planned a half day snorkel trip to Cabo Pulmo, then some Surf Fishing on the Beaches with a guide, but Mother Nature had other plans.
A very large Storm rolled in.
The fishing parties that arrived the day before were disapointed to find out that all the boats had cancelled their trips that day because of the weather.
But Felipe maded up to them.
He was not obligated to do this(Thats how fishing goes sometimes: The real fishing people know what I mean).
But he accomodated as best as he could.
The whole staff at the Buena Vista greatly helped me make a fishing fantasy come true.
A bit far from N.Y. but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buenavista
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
Hotel Palmas de Cortez
#1 of 1 in Los Barriles
232 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rancho Leonero Resort
Rancho Leonero Resort
#72 of 115 in Los Cabos
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Barriles Hotel
Los Barriles Hotel
#4 of 4 in Los Barriles
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Punta Pescadero Paradise Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Playa del Sol
Playa del Sol
#3 of 4 in Los Barriles
54 reviews
20.7 mi away
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
Cabo Pulmo Eco Palapa
#1 of 3 in Cabo Pulmo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort
Address: Carr. Federal # 1 Km. 105, Buenavista 23580, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Buenavista
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buenavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista hotel is located in Baja California, Mexico overlooking the Sea of ​​Cortez . It offers a variety of activities , peaceful rooms and excellent facilities . Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort features Mediterranean- style guestrooms with private patios furnished with hammocks. El Navegante restaurant serves traditional Mexican dishes for breakfast , lunch and dinner. Guests can order nachos while soaking up the sun by the pool or take a drink at the poolside bar . After dinner you can go to the bar El Pescador and enjoy a drink . Just minutes from the Buena Vista Beach Hotel offers activities such as fishing, diving and horse riding. You can also explore the 50 km of beach, or play a game of tennis . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Buenavista
Resort Buena Vista Beach
Hotel Buena Vista Beach Resort Mexico/Buenavista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing