We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baja Cactus”
Review of BajaCactus Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Rosario
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BajaCactus Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Rosario
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Baja Cactus”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very good place to stay for the night. Ask for the new rooms.
Only problem I had was the noise from other tenants. A room had more than just a couple of people that occupied it. They stayed outside talking and smoking. Another felt the need to whistle while walking by the rooms. A little eerie having so many people out in the courtyard after dark. But this is Mexico.

Pets are welcome.

Room Tip: New room are in a courtyard type area which can be noisy. Trucks coming down hill also adds noise to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
42
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We heard about this place while we were in Southern Baja, and just had to try it to see if was as good as the description. It's even better. This has to be one of the best places to stop and sleep in Northern Baja, and the price, around US$40, is unbelievable.

Our room was huge, with two king-sized beds, with excellent finish and appointments. Better than almost any room we had found in Baja, even at a much higher price. If you are driving through Baja, this is one of the best places to spend a night. The only downside, and it's nothing to do with this facility, is that we couldn't find a really good restaurant in El Rosario. Maybe there is one, but we didn't find it, which is a pity.

Still, we would overlook that to get to sleep in such an excellent "Motel". We don't think of it as a motel, more as a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get one of the new rooms if at all possible, and as far from the road as possible. The trucks are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the BajaCactus two months ago and loved it. There is not really much to speak of in El Rosario, but the Baja Cactus was clean and nice. They had a room that could house our family of 6. It had a loft and great beds that were clean, and a beautiful bathroom. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in a newer room, ask for them, they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Upstairs room with its own staircase near the road which was really not bad even with all of the semis' air brakes. Very nice and spectacular bathroom. Good TV and pretty good internet access. The king size bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

very surprised to find this motel in a little town El Rosario. Room was clean, nice design, great location. Right next to the motel was Mexican restaurant owned by family, we had great dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I'm pretty sure this is one of the nicest hotels for the money in all of Baja! The rooms and bathrooms are very nice! (King size beds, nice linens, shower has glass doors with tile floor to ceiling...All for about $35-40 USD. I have heard there are newer and older rooms - apparently we've stayed in the newer rooms). The service we received here on our last trip to Baja in Mar 2013 was beyond excellent. We weren't even staying there at the time. We just stopped because it was the first place we'd been to all day where we knew we could get help. We needed emergency evacuation due to seizures and brain swelling. It is a very long story, but the end result was that we got an ambulance to take us over the border and everything worked out amazingly well.

Important side notes: The receptionist (I don't know her name) speaks good English. So does Antonio (the manager/owner?). They were extremely kind and went way beyond the call of duty! Antonio has all kinds of important connections that helped us. He gave us his cell phone number so we could call him if we needed anything on our way to the border. AND he now has an ambulance in El Rosario if anyone needs one in the future! Don't be afraid! (An ambulance was there, but not ready to go yet at that time). By the way, the 6 hour ambulance ride to and over the border cost less than the 5 minute ride in an american ambulance from the border to a hospital in San Diego! And it was worth every penny! (Especially since without it we would have had to wait 5-6 hours in line at the border! And that was at 2am on a Sunday night/Monday morning).

Room Tip: You might want to call ahead to book a room. Twice now, they have been booked when we just drove in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Africa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Nice place to stay while driving the baja. Ask for the remodeled section. WiFi needs improvement. Eat next door at Mama Espinosa restaurant. Make a reservation if you are going to arrive late. We have traveled the Baja 8 times to Cabo and always try to stop here on our way South and North.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceangolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Rosario
0.0 mi away
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
Don Eddie's Landing Hotel
#1 of 7 in San Quintin
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotours
Hotel Villas Mar y Arena Ecotour...
#1 of 4 in Puerto San Carlos
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Pescadores
Hotel Los Pescadores
#1 of 4 in Los Barriles
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BajaCactus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BajaCactus Motel

Property: BajaCactus Motel
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 55 | Tramo San Quintin-Punta Prieta, El Rosario 22960, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > El Rosario
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Rosario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have king size beds, AC, heating, Satellite Color TV (HBO, Cinemax, Hallmark, etc.), free Internet Access, WiFi HotSpot, in-room phone service, amenities including coffee machine and bottled water, laundry services, 24 hour front desk and security services with video surveillance cameras, secure parking lot, 24 hours hot water showers and many more services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bajacactus Hotel El Rosario
Bajacactus Motel El Rosario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing