We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing but too expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Encuentro Guadalupe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Encuentro Guadalupe
Lille, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing but too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The staff is very kind, the food is great.
The price for the room is far too expensive, even though the experience is fantastic and the view on the valley is great.
Snacks, restaurant and bar are not always open, the pool restaurant is then the only solution if you want to stay enjoy the site.
Standard rooms are very noisy because of the highway.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Manue_FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    43
    13
    23
    16
See reviews for
20
93
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We drove to Encuentro Guadalupe to check out the place and hopefully book a night there. When we arrived, the hotel looked amazing from the outside. We headed to the lobby and asked if our dates were available. We were lucky enough to get availability. We asked if we can see the room and was told we couldn't. We asked if we made the reservation today and put a deposit, can we see the room. We were told we can only see the room the day of check in. I respect their policy but if we were willing to put down a deposit for a $470USD a night hotel, don't you think one should be able to look at the room???? We didn't drive all the way from San Diego to put down $470 for something we can't even look at. The staff obviously didn't care for the business. Good luck cause there are plentiful amazing hotels and restaurants in Guadalupe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The grounds were very rustic and simple, but the view is unbelievable. Everything is very casual about the hotel - very comfortable and down to earth vibe.
We stayed there before the price increased, so I don't know if I'd be willing to pay double the amount a 2nd time around, but I'm definitely happy that I got to experience it the first time around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onechar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have to admit the concept and views are breathtaking. At the same time $500dlls a night for a box is way too much. I guess you pay for the experience. The pool is magnificent. The cucumber and mint water they serve is just amazing! Staff was always very friendly and heplful.
The roooms are comfortable and clean. The only samll issue was the water flow for the shower was not too good, very drizzly.. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Views are spectacular from boxes (rooms )22 and 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanDiego92128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed recently. Not quite prepared for the rustic ness. It's very private and the views are amazing but you need to be prepared to do lots of walking on dirt paths. Bring some sturdy shoes. The staff was both friendly and courteous and saw to our every need. I wouldn't recommend eating on property. Too many amazing restaurants locally.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank SBwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We gave this place a wonderful review when we stayed here for our honeymoon last year April of 2013, but we just called to book it for our anniversary and the price has tripled!! We paid $160/night last year and this year they want $420/night on a weekday. That is absolutely crazy! I really hope that they bring their prices back down. This is such a wonderful place, but they are making a mistake by pricing themselves so high.
We were all set to spend several nights there, and who knows how much on meals and alcohol every day, I am very sad to say that they just lost a great costumer.

Note that the hotel used to be called Hotel Endemico and they recently stopped using that name and I was just told that they no longer use that website either, it is now Encuentro.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bacsikMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at Encuentra Guadalupe for four nights. Encuentra Guadalupe is a unique hotel by world standards; we discovered it in an architectural magazine two or three years ago. It is composed of cabins beautifully situated on a hillside overlooking Valle de Guadalupe, with hiking trails extending through the mountains dotted with vineyards. In our morning hikes, we did not see any other people on the trails and experienced a true luxury for New Yorkers: silence.

Each of the rooms is an independent cabin located up a hill -- which you normally reach by their car (your car is only allowed as far as the spectacular reception building). Each room has a bed, desk, two chairs, and a bathroom. The floor is stylish but bare concrete. Adjacent and outside is a patio with a fireplace.

Spartan is a good description. The rooms are far from luxury, although the bed was comfortable, the wifi worked, and there are sufficient electrical outlets. In other words, the rooms are quite adequate.

Given the beautiful architecture, sufficient rooms, and delightful location, I'd be inclined to give the hotel a 5-star rating. Unfortunately, two things work against this: some design flaws and the service.

The cabins are suspended from two vertical upside-down U-shaped supports. This allows them to be built in areas too steep for normal construction. One consequence is that the floor itself is not in the ground. On the nights we stayed, the floor got quite cold. We didn't bring slippers, so stepping out of bed onto the bare concrete floor was fun. Towels from the pool area helped.

Also, the room doesn't have real closets or shelves. The rooms do have a bar for hanging clothes. For a weekend trip, the storage is adequate. For four nights, a few shelves would have helped.

The other design flaws involve the layout. You have to go up or down steps to get into most, if not all, of the rooms. And the paths are uncovered dirt/sand paths. It doesn't rain much in Valle de Guadalupe, but I'd be quite wary of visiting when rain might be likely. The walk to the pool area/breakfast area was quite long, from Room 17. And the pool was quite cold, although not too cold for a Canadian friend to swim in (and I should add no one else).

The service is enthusiastic but could definitely be improved. The worst example involved dinner reservations on our last night, a Sunday night. We asked for reservations and a taxi to Laja, one of the renown restaurants in the valley. Well, Laja is closed on Sundays and we didn't learn this until coming down for the taxi at 6:15 p.m.. The person whom we asked to make the reservation did not inform us that the restaurant was closed!

The story has a happy ending, but only after we visited another recommended restaurant (which we left). Our next try, Altozano, had closed but did allow us to buy wine and they gave us some wonderful bread. We ended up back at the hotel after 8:00 p.m. where the chef at the hotel restaurant was still around and we ate there. The food was unexpectedly good and we were able to eat under the stars overlooking the valley.

In many ways, that experience is representative of the whole visit. Unexpected surprises overcome other deficiencies. If you don't like the room, look out the window. If the floor is cold, sit by the fire on the patio. If it is a long walk to breakfast, savor the silence and the beauty. If you want to eat dinner on Sunday, make an early reservation.

Room Tip: All the rooms (except for a special bungalow) seem to be quite similar. Room with lower number (1 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GL_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle de Guadalupe
4.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalupe
Hotel Boutique Valle de Guadalup...
#3 of 3 in Valle de Guadalupe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Coral & Marina
Hotel Coral & Marina
#1 of 37 in Ensenada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
Hotel Hacienda Bajamar
#10 of 37 in Ensenada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Terra del Valle B&B
Terra del Valle B&B
#1 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
10.4 mi away
Quinta Maria en la Ruta del Vino
Quinta Maria en la Ruta del Vino
#3 of 8 in Valle de Guadalupe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa Mayoral
Casa Mayoral
#1 of 26 in Ensenada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encuentro Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encuentro Guadalupe

Property: Encuentro Guadalupe
Address: Carretera Tecate Ensenada Km 75, Valle de Guadalupe, Valle de Guadalupe 21720, Mexico (Formerly Endemico)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada Municipality > Valle de Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Valle de Guadalupe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Encuentro Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE WILL BE CLOSED FOR MAINTENANCE FROM 11/1/2016 TO 11/1/2017. THANK YOU. WELCOME Encuentro Guadalupe AntiResort™ (Formerly Endemico). The original idea behind Encuentro Guadalupe is to offer an immersive experience into Guadalupe’s Nature and Culture. An open, honest, inclusive platform to connect travelers from around the world with Valle de Guadalupe’s people and its products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Encuentro Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing