We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in Ajijic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Ranked #5 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A weekend in Ajijic”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We are just back from a weekend in Ajijic where we stayed at Ajijic Suites for two nights. The Suites are perfectly located, just a short walk to the square, shops and restaurants. The environment is quiet and retains a charming Mexican feel.
Our suite was spotless, very comfortable, and met all of our needs.
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting our hosts Elaine and Luis who were helpful, friendly and most gracious.

We felt at home at the Suites and would definitely stay there again and, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60OttawaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks Rachel & Martin for your helpful review. It was a pleasure having you to stay & we hope to see you again soon! Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    22
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
76
81
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon Manitoba Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

From the moment you walk into Ajijic Suites, you know you've picked the right place. Located in the heart of Ajijic, it is perfect for walking to the plaza, or to stores and restaurants. It is charming and peaceful, complete with a garden and fountain area, ideal for relaxing or reading. The rooms are clean, beds are excellent quality, and there is a small kitchen which is perfect if you want to make some of your own meals or store snacks. Plus, excellent wifi. And, a bonus, the rates are extremely reasonable. One amenity that this Inn has that you may not find in others is the owners, Elaine & Luis. They are not only dedicated to making sure you have everything you need, they are also a wealth of information and always nearby to help you. As much as we look forward to going to Ajijic to visit, now we also look forward to seeing Elaine & Luis!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thanks, Grant & Cathy, for the great review! Always a pleasure having you guys to stay & being able to fit in dinner & a Santana concert was a huge bonus! Feliz Navidad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was very happy to have chosen Ajijic Suites for a recent month-long visit to the Lake Chapala area. This is a pleasant little compound of studio apartments located near the town center with all the essentials for short or long-term stays. It's easy to feel at home here. The atmosphere tends to be quiet, respectful and friendly, with some communal space, and of course plenty of privacy. Sleeping at the Ajijic Suites was a special pleasure in that my bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Elaine and Luis manage the suites with a care and diligence that helps you relax because you know they are on top of all matters concerning the property, while at the same time being glad to assist you, and looking after your needs as well. On top of this, they offer a degree of camaraderie for the occasional chat or accompaniment to local events. Elaine makes sure guests are kept well informed about current events in the Lake Chapala area, and this also helps guests connect with one another. I can't imagine choosing any other location for a stay in Ajijic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks for the thoughtful & insightful review, Mark! It was a real pleasure having you to stay & I hope that will be repeated next time you need to exit from CR for your visa renewal. Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archer, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nestled among the cobblestone streets of Ajijic, only a few blocks from the plaza, is a real gem of a B & B called the Ajijic Suites. It offers clean, comfortable rooms with kitchenettes that allow you to cook via microwave and hotplate. A small fridge also lets you store juice, milk, and any other refreshments you like to keep chilled. It is amazing how much of a difference such a convenience makes when you are staying in a place for more than a couple of days.

I stayed at the Ajijic Suites for about ten days during November 2013. Through e-mail contact I was able to arrange for a pickup from the Guadalajara airport, and thus hit the ground running on this Mexico trip. While the accommodations were more than comfortable, it was the accommodating spirit of the management (Elaine and Luis) that resulted in my stay being more than just physically comfortable. They really went above and beyond what I expect from someone providing lodging. For example, the use of a computer in the lobby for checking e-mail, as well as two phones for making free calls both locally and to the States, respectively. This was a real unexpected pleasure and kept me better connected with conditions at home than I ever expected to be.

It seems as if this type of relaxed and neighborly pet-friendly atmosphere attracted a clientele that went out of its way to be nice, friendly, and courteous. None of the slamming doors and blaring TVs that so frequently punctuate attempts at sleep at other hotels. Many of the guests were repeat visitors and staying for a month or more. A small courtyard added just the right amount of Mexican flavor, and guests often chatted there in late afternoons, or in the lobby.

Just a few blocks from the plaza, it is a great location for going to the restaurants or galleries one finds in Ajijic. If you walk up the hill a couple of blocks, you reach the main drag or Carretera that is lined with stores that sell groceries and such. Or if you wish to visit nearby scenic Lake Chapala, or venture further to places like Guadalajara or Tlaquepaque or Tonalá (only 45 minutes away), you can catch the buses from the Carretera.

The Ajijic Suites generates an immediate feeling of relaxation and comfort that is unusual when one is traveling. After visiting Patzcuaro for a few days, I couldn't wait to get back 'home' to the Ajijic Suites. I highly recommend it as a place from which you can enjoy the Lake Chapala and Ajijic area or from which you can make day trips out to other areas of Mexico.

James L. Castner

Room Tip: I stayed in a room off the lobby and had no problem with noise. Six of the 8 rooms are off the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameslcastner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks, Jim, for taking the time to write a nice helpful review about your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you &, as so often, we learned a great deal from you about Mexican Artisans - thank you! We work hard to ensure that our guests make the most of their stay in this delightful little corner of Paradise - & part of that is certainly feeling comfortable that things are ship-shape back home - hence the free wi-fi & local/long distance calls. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I recently stayed at Ajijic Suites for 6 weeks (Sept/Oct 2013).I highly recommend it and consider it very good value, especially for an extended stay.

Ajijic Suites is very good location for anyone visiting Ajijic and the surrounding area. Within easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Lake Chapala Society, and only 3 blocks to the lake. Their suites are very clean and nicely decorated. They have free Wifi and phones, a beautiful garden area and reasonably priced transportation to/from the airport.

Elaine and Luis are extremely friendly and accommodating, happy to answer all your questions about the area, and a great source of information and suggestions.

Room Tip: The Hidalgo suite is great for an extended stay as it has separate living room, bedroom, kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write such a nice review about your stay with us. It was a pleasure having your company & I hope you'll return & visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from a month's stay here, travelling solo. If you want to stay a weekend, a week or a month in Ajijic, I highly recommend Elaine's place. I met two couples who stayed for a week, a woman on her 5th trip from the USA, and several others who were each there for a month. My introduction into Ajijic living was a delight, mainly due to Elaine's kindness and guidance. She provides a map with a list of recommended restaurants, helpful hints about where to shop and how to catch the bus or a taxi, and even loaned me a flashlite and an electric teapot. I was in excellent hands at Ajijic Suites. I stayed in both the Oaxaca and Magnolia suites during my visit. The rooms with kitchenettes were comfortable and restful places to lay my head. I'm already missing Elaine and Luis, as well as their helpful housekeeper, whose name I cannot spell! They truly showed me the meaning of Welcome to Ajijic. Am looking forward to another visit before too long. Hasta luego, amiga.

Room Tip: The Magnolia suite is the best of all the rooms I saw. If you prefer ground level, the others off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaGiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review, Elaine! It was a real pleasure having you to stay with us & to see you fall in love with this little corner of Paradise! I look forward to the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future! Hasta pronto, Amiga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a great place to stay. The staff was able to accommodate my whole family in one suite with 2 bedrooms, it also included a small kitchen fully equipped. The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to help. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: choose the one with 2 rooms and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review, Cesar! It was a real pleasure having you & your "girls" to stay & we hope that you will find time to come again & enjoy more of the beauty that the area has to offer - & the boutiques for the girls too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
329 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajijic Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo

Property: Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Address: Hidalgo No. 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite bathrooms. A quiet patio garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. All suites have flat screen TVs, free wi-fi, bottled water & US linens. At 5000 feet above sea level, the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing