We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Ranked #5 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Small but very personal. The suites are clean, other guests friendly. Theowners go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Pet friendly. Restaurants close and all shopping. Wifi service available in the rooms or a computerin the lounge area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your short stay with us, Debra! I definitely got the impression you were pleasantly surprised with the myriad of possibilities that Ajijic has to offer & we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

After a fair amount of internet research before my first trip to Ajijic, I decided to stay at the Ajijic Suites. It was a great place to stay. Located just 2 blocks to the plaza and town center, it made a very convenient place to explore the area without a car. Two blocks up to the main road or 3 blocks down to the lake and the beautiful malecon along the lake. Run by Luis and Elaine, charming and helpful hosts, who picked me up and returned me to the airport took the stress out of arrival and departure. I was there a full month and was more than comfortable the entire time. There is free wi-fi, as well as the use of the computer and phones for local calls and one for calls to the U.S. There is neither heating nor a/c in the unit but this is standard for the area. Even with a rare period of rain and cool weather I was very comfortable (I was there for the month of December). I ate many meals right in the room: 2 burner hot plate, microwave, small fridge, essential utensils, pans and dishes, Clean, comfortable and charming. Luis and Elaine make a point to introduce you to other guests, a very nice touch that I have not found elsewhere. If you are there at festival times the daily parades run right past the hotel so there is music and fireworks close by. An excellent value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thanks for the helpful & positive review, Bill - much appreciated! It was a pleasure having you to stay with us - one that I hope will be repeated in the future as you seek an escape from the cold winters in your part of the world! Take care & Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent Christmas week at Ajijic Suites. Elaine and Luis, the owners, showed us such wonderful hospitality with Christmas goodies for all the residents at the Suites. It was a nice and unexpected surprise.
The Suites were well maintained, very clean and easy to find. There was always available street parking, but we were only 2 blocks from the main square or 2 blocks down to the lake - you can walk everywhere.
We stayed in the Rosa suite. It was very bright with skylights or windows in each room of the 3 rooms of the suite. The bathroom was very large with walk-in shower and vanity area, with considerable clothes hanging space for long term residents. Despite the unexpected low temperatures during Christmas we never felt cold and slept with our window open each night.
The suite did have a small refrigerator, microwave and hotplate plus dishes, glasses, cooking pans, etc. With all the great food shops around we made breakfast each morning in our room and picnic lunches for our road trips. The kitchen was a very nice addition to our stay.
Elaine provided the local weekly/monthly news "papers" in the common area of the Suites. The common area included a lounge area with couches and chairs plus a computer. There also a table and chairs on the garden patio near the fountain. We enjoyed several meals on the patio which allowed us to meet several residents staying at the suites who shared restaurant tips, local events to see and their dogs. We appreciated the fact the residents could have their dogs with them in their suites.'
Across the street from the front door of the suites was the most incredible floral display with bushes and trees in bloom hanging over the street. This attracted many different species of hummingbirds, warblers and a few yellow headed blackbirds. A nice thing just to stand and watch each morning before our walks around town.
With Ajijic only a 10 hour drive from the Texas boarder we are considering a return trip soon. Ajijic Suites will certainly be on our list for our return visits.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Suite. It was in the center close to Elaine's small office so wifi was al...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thanks, Ranleigh, for posting such a comprehensive & positive review about your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting two branches of your family over Christmas, & we're only sorry the weather wasn't kinder! Hope to see you again soon to take advAntage of more shopping - & sunshine! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We are just back from a weekend in Ajijic where we stayed at Ajijic Suites for two nights. The Suites are perfectly located, just a short walk to the square, shops and restaurants. The environment is quiet and retains a charming Mexican feel.
Our suite was spotless, very comfortable, and met all of our needs.
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting our hosts Elaine and Luis who were helpful, friendly and most gracious.

We felt at home at the Suites and would definitely stay there again and, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60OttawaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thanks Rachel & Martin for your helpful review. It was a pleasure having you to stay & we hope to see you again soon! Feliz Navidad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

From the moment you walk into Ajijic Suites, you know you've picked the right place. Located in the heart of Ajijic, it is perfect for walking to the plaza, or to stores and restaurants. It is charming and peaceful, complete with a garden and fountain area, ideal for relaxing or reading. The rooms are clean, beds are excellent quality, and there is a small kitchen which is perfect if you want to make some of your own meals or store snacks. Plus, excellent wifi. And, a bonus, the rates are extremely reasonable. One amenity that this Inn has that you may not find in others is the owners, Elaine & Luis. They are not only dedicated to making sure you have everything you need, they are also a wealth of information and always nearby to help you. As much as we look forward to going to Ajijic to visit, now we also look forward to seeing Elaine & Luis!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thanks, Grant & Cathy, for the great review! Always a pleasure having you guys to stay & being able to fit in dinner & a Santana concert was a huge bonus! Feliz Navidad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was very happy to have chosen Ajijic Suites for a recent month-long visit to the Lake Chapala area. This is a pleasant little compound of studio apartments located near the town center with all the essentials for short or long-term stays. It's easy to feel at home here. The atmosphere tends to be quiet, respectful and friendly, with some communal space, and of course plenty of privacy. Sleeping at the Ajijic Suites was a special pleasure in that my bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Elaine and Luis manage the suites with a care and diligence that helps you relax because you know they are on top of all matters concerning the property, while at the same time being glad to assist you, and looking after your needs as well. On top of this, they offer a degree of camaraderie for the occasional chat or accompaniment to local events. Elaine makes sure guests are kept well informed about current events in the Lake Chapala area, and this also helps guests connect with one another. I can't imagine choosing any other location for a stay in Ajijic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thanks for the thoughtful & insightful review, Mark! It was a real pleasure having you to stay & I hope that will be repeated next time you need to exit from CR for your visa renewal. Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nestled among the cobblestone streets of Ajijic, only a few blocks from the plaza, is a real gem of a B & B called the Ajijic Suites. It offers clean, comfortable rooms with kitchenettes that allow you to cook via microwave and hotplate. A small fridge also lets you store juice, milk, and any other refreshments you like to keep chilled. It is amazing how much of a difference such a convenience makes when you are staying in a place for more than a couple of days.

I stayed at the Ajijic Suites for about ten days during November 2013. Through e-mail contact I was able to arrange for a pickup from the Guadalajara airport, and thus hit the ground running on this Mexico trip. While the accommodations were more than comfortable, it was the accommodating spirit of the management (Elaine and Luis) that resulted in my stay being more than just physically comfortable. They really went above and beyond what I expect from someone providing lodging. For example, the use of a computer in the lobby for checking e-mail, as well as two phones for making free calls both locally and to the States, respectively. This was a real unexpected pleasure and kept me better connected with conditions at home than I ever expected to be.

It seems as if this type of relaxed and neighborly pet-friendly atmosphere attracted a clientele that went out of its way to be nice, friendly, and courteous. None of the slamming doors and blaring TVs that so frequently punctuate attempts at sleep at other hotels. Many of the guests were repeat visitors and staying for a month or more. A small courtyard added just the right amount of Mexican flavor, and guests often chatted there in late afternoons, or in the lobby.

Just a few blocks from the plaza, it is a great location for going to the restaurants or galleries one finds in Ajijic. If you walk up the hill a couple of blocks, you reach the main drag or Carretera that is lined with stores that sell groceries and such. Or if you wish to visit nearby scenic Lake Chapala, or venture further to places like Guadalajara or Tlaquepaque or Tonalá (only 45 minutes away), you can catch the buses from the Carretera.

The Ajijic Suites generates an immediate feeling of relaxation and comfort that is unusual when one is traveling. After visiting Patzcuaro for a few days, I couldn't wait to get back 'home' to the Ajijic Suites. I highly recommend it as a place from which you can enjoy the Lake Chapala and Ajijic area or from which you can make day trips out to other areas of Mexico.

James L. Castner

Room Tip: I stayed in a room off the lobby and had no problem with noise. Six of the 8 rooms are off the smal...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameslcastner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks, Jim, for taking the time to write a nice helpful review about your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you &, as so often, we learned a great deal from you about Mexican Artisans - thank you! We work hard to ensure that our guests make the most of their stay in this delightful little corner of Paradise - & part of that is certainly feeling comfortable that things are ship-shape back home - hence the free wi-fi & local/long distance calls. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
388 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo

Address: Hidalgo No. 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite bathrooms. A quiet patio garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. All suites have flat screen TVs, free wi-fi, bottled water & US linens. At 5000 feet above sea level, the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing