We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Ajijic Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajijic Suites
Ranked #5 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very nice place with a wonderful owner :)
My room was neat and spacious. The place is nicely decorated in Mexican style. The owner is very helpful and attentive. It is also well located in the town. I would definitively choose it again!

Room Tip: I stayed in Azucena suite and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your helpful review, Esther! It was such a pleasure having you to stay - one I hope might be repeated one day! You're an incredible young woman, doing rewarding & worthwhile work & I'm sure your parents are very proud of you! Keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    22
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
76
81
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Charming, beautiful boutique hotel with good location close to the park/lake and main plaza. See attached picture. The proprietor, Elaine, is most accommodating and knows the area and activities very well. Free WIFI, calls to U.S./Canada and bottled water. Pets are welcome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us, John. We were happy to act as your base whilst you moved into your new home here & hope that you're getting settled into the wonderfully open air & sociable lifestyle that characterises Ajijic! I hope, too, that RP is happy in his new home & enjoying being a welcome guest in most restaurants & cafes here, so he can accompany you most places - such a boon for dog lovers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This past winter I spent 2 months in Ajijic, Mexico, firstly for the month of December, then returning in mid-March for a second month. Both times I stayed at the Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo. For the first stay, I was in the Oaxaca Suite, and then when I returned in mid-March, I was in the Tonala Suite. Both suites were equally satisfactory! I also viewed several of the other suites and found them to be similarly and attractively decorated. The ensuite kitchen facilities were satisfactorily equipped and weekly housekeeping was provided. With comfortable beds and ensuite sitting areas, the overall ambiance of the facilities, plus in the common courtyard and lounge areas, was pleasing and relaxing. I would add that both Elaine and Luis are cordial and capable hosts! An easy stroll to the central plaza, there were numerous dining facilities around the surrounding streets, of various types and budgets. Generally, I can highly recommend the Ajijic Suites and will return there whenever I am again in the Guadalajara area of Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a balanced & comprehensive review about your stay, David. Coming from such a well travelled guest, it's particularly appreciated! It's been a pleasure having you to stay on each occasion - one we hope will be repeated at some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ajijic Suites is very well located, comfortable, safe, and very good value. Nice extras such as bottled water, local newspaper, free local and long distance calls to Canada and the USA, WiFi and a computer in the lobby to surf the net made the stay that more enjoyable. The property is nicely maintained and the bed was very comfortable. There are only 8 suites and you need to book well in advance if you want to stay during the prime months. We stayed for six weeks and went on outings, restaurants and had pot lucks with several of our fellow guests.

The owners Elaine and Luis live on the property grounds and are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and a pleasure to deal with. We got to know both quite well. Elaine is the manager and goes out of her way to make sure that you stay is a good as it could possibly be. Luis picks up and drops of guests at the airport, and maintains the property. He also is available for daytrips and four of us had a wonderful outing to Tequila with him.

The past few winters in Ajijic we stayed in other accommodations that cost more but delivered less. It is a terrific place for single ladies, men and couples.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive & kind review about your stay with us, Nick. It was a pleasure having you & Linda to stay, & we really enjoy helping our guests maximise their enjoyment of their stay in this little corner of Paradise! We do hope you'll drop by to see us next year when you bring your RV down to Ajijic. Remember, you're now part of the family, so if you need any help whilst your here, even though you won't be staying with us, you only need to ask (within reason, of course)! LOL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Anna and I (Mike) just spent a month in the Miguel casitas, (with our dog) It was our second stay at Ajijic Suites and we intend to return whenever in Ajijic, The suite is charming, clean, well maintained and very reasonably priced. The location is about as perfect as possible in the village for walking everywhere. Elaine makes each guest feel like family with her personal touch and attention to details. The services Luis provides for guests is remarkable. We had a car repair issue after arrival and he hooked us up with a great mechanic who fixed the car in one day and delivered it to us at the hotel. All-in-all we always feel at home there and recommend it. We think of Elaine and Luis as freinds

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks, guys for the glowing review! It was delightful having you & Duchess to stay & we do hope you come back again soon & make Ajijic a regular part of your lives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It's hard to imagine a friendlier, more charming and more delightful place to stay than the Ajijic Suites. Elaine and Luiz both went way above and beyond any expectations we had and together made our visit much more than 'just a place to stay.'

The location of Ajijic Suites is fabulous: it is like being dropped into the warm embrace of Mexico itself. You will be treated to processions, children going to and return from school, street vendors, magically musical birdsong and much, much more just outside the Suites. We found every moment to be delicious and can't think of a better place in Ajijic to be comfortable and cared-for, while at the same time being able to dip into the real life of the local culture.

We loved it so much we will be right back in 1-2 months to complete the purchase of a house we just bought there because, well, we loved it so much in Ajijic. We simply can wait to be there and see Elaine and Luiz again.

Room Tip: Rooms range from $45 US to $75 US per night (the $75 is for the casita/suite - all other rooms surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
So glad we were able to be a supportive part of your decision making process to make Ajijic your home, guys! It was a pleasure having you to stay, & we're delighted that your offer on the house was accepted! Thanks for taking the time in your hectic schedule to write a helpful & positive reiew - much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Many thanks to Elaine and Luis for making our 25th anniversary the best. These folks go above and beyond to fulfill their guest's needs. The room was spotless and had a kitchenette. It was possible to walk or take a bus to most any location for groceries, restaurants, etc. Chayo even washed your clothes for a nominal fee and they were perfect. It is a real perk to return home with clean clothes. Our only regret about the stay was that we could not stay longer. Ajijic feels much safer than the U.S. We walked wherever we wanted at night. The room was cool and breezy with a balcony that had a magnificent view. We have not had better accommodations in Ajijic and the price is so reasonable for the quality.

Room Tip: You will have a cooler room, if you rent upstairs. Very breezy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexicat227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDuena, Owner at Ajijic Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks for the great review, Theresa! It was a real pleasure helping to make you & Roger's special silver wedding anniversary a very memorable one. We know we live in a magical (& safe) place & we really enjoy having the opportunity to help other people grasp that as soon as they arrive so they can maximise their enjoyment. I hope your little "taster" will lure you back soon - & hopefully for longer next time! Remember, summers here are sublime - a real luxury compared to your hot & humid Memphis climate! Hasta pronto, amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
0.3 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#4 of 26 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites

Property: Ajijic Suites
Address: Calle Hidalgo # 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite baths. A quiet garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. At 5000 feet the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ajijic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing