We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like home to me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Ranked #5 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“like home to me”
Reviewed 1 November 2008

I am just back to the states after a 3 week stay at AS. I had intended to move to other properties while I was looking for a property in the area but the room, the amenities and the propriator were so comfortable and good value that I spent the entire stay here. Elaine is a jewel and assisted me in every way I needed from directions to guides to basic office assistance. Sparkling clean, super quiet, happy guests..its the perfect place for a single or group on a budget. Internet, washer/dryer, great town location and even free calls to the US. I would not consider staying anywhere else in the future. It feels like more of a home away from home than a guesthouse.

  • Liked — clean and safe
  • Disliked — i had to pay for it
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ArkansasJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    22
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
77
81
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2008

This is my third visit to Ajijic, and I found myself a truly enchanting place to stay for 1 week. The decor, and arrangement of the suites promotes total harmony with the welcoming and feel at home from the host Elaine.For sure,I recommend Ajijic Suites for the at home feeling while exploring this beautiful and charming area.

  • Liked — excellent quality for the price
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tbird33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We very much liked the place, walking distance to everywhere. The accommodation was very clean, and the hostess always available for helpful advises. For 40$ per night we believe there is no better place with a large king size bed, small kitchen, TV and internet access, even free calls to the US and Canada as well as locally.
Any tours one wanted to take or any taxi one needed were arranged at reasonable prices.

Altogether it was a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — central location and cleanness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HalifaxRotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Ajijic Suites is a very pleasant, comfortable and clean lodging for a day or a month. It is located only a few blocks from the main street (Calle Colon) in Ajijic and only 2 blocks off the main highway from Chapala to Ajijic. This is somewhat important because the side streets in Ajijic are narrow and cobblestoned and difficult to drive on or walk along. The small compound appears very new, sparking clean and the suites have refrigerators, microwaves and kitchen facilities. There are plenty of places there to sit out, read or relax. Free local calls and long distance phone calls makes it more economical. The rates are very reasonable (esp. in the off season). It is only a five minute walk to the main square and several restaurants. I would recommend that you bring comfortable sneakers to traverse the streets and the slipper y tile floors throughout the hotel. Also bring a adhesive mat for the shower if you want to avoid any falls there. My stay there was very enjoyable and I highly recommend the Ajijic Suites.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — slippey tile floors and steps
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthCarolinaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
329 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajijic Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo

Property: Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
Address: Hidalgo No. 72, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to everything in the lakeside village of Ajijic, our inviting rooms have well-equipped kitchenettes and en-suite bathrooms. A quiet patio garden offers a place to meet with other guests or simply enjoy secluded peace and quiet. Standards here are not compromised by economy. All suites have flat screen TVs, free wi-fi, bottled water & US linens. At 5000 feet above sea level, the climate is temperate year round. Enjoy European hospitality in the heart of Mexico - we guarantee you'll want to come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajijic Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing