We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful introduction to Mexico”
Review of Quinta del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta del Sol
Ranked #4 of 27 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had an amazing four nights at Quinta Del Sol. It was late when we arrived but Eleanor was there to greet us and make us feel right at home.
Breakfasts were unbelievable. She offered so many options and everything was homemade. Each day we would eat one of Eleanors’s breakfasts, walk for hours exploring the area and never considered eating again until dinner.
Quinta Del Sol has been restored and decorated with such care that you feel you have been taken back to an authentic Mexican Hacienda of days gone by but with all of the modern conveniences of today.
Eleanor and Rick are a wealth of information about everything in the Lake Chapala area. They ensured that we were aware of all the events, best places to eat, and even where to spend a day at the spa.
I will ensure that all of my friends and relatives who may want to visit Ajijic know that we highly recommend Quinta Del Sol as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn_and_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I planned our visit to Ajijic around our wedding anniversary and also to explore the possibility of retiring in the lake area. We were originally scheduled to stay at the Quinta del Sol for 5 nights, but we enjoyed the B&B so much that we extended our stay for 3 more nights. We arrived fairly late the first night, and Eleanor very kindly provided sandwiches, drinks and homemade cookies, as well as a lovely flower arrangement and anniversary card. The B&B is a wonderful place, and in our experience, the nicest B&B we have ever visited. The building is very typical Mexican architecture, beautifully decorated and furnished, very comfortable, and conveniently located. There can be some noise during the night and early hours of the morning from roosters, dogs, fireworks, etc., so you might want to take Eleanor's offer of ear plugs. Eleanor and Rick are friendly, hospitable hosts and very generously share their extensive knowledge of the lake area, local culture and activities, where to go, how to get there, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Ajijic, largely because of the information Eleanor shared in communications while we were planning our trip and during our stay. Eleanor is a talented chef, so don't skip breakfast! To echo another reviewer, the Quinta del Sol is a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the balcony overlooking the beautiful garden and pool. Fabulous bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda_W_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We visited Ajijic for a week in May and stayed at Quinta del Sol with Eleanor & Rick. What a wonderful place from the minute you enter into the cool living room of stone. Just gorgeous. The gardens are magnificent too with a pool and terrace with lounge chairs. Our room was la Paloma, a very large room with 3 sets of French doors overlooking the street. A great little terrace to enjoy a drink. The room had a fridge for drinks and snacks. Very convenient. All done in shades of blue and yellow, very Mexican.
We are not big eaters but enjoyed the fruit selection at breakfast each day along with fresh pastries. Yummy. We are looking for a good place to retire and Ajijic just may be it. Thanks Eleanor & Rick for all you help
Marie & Bob

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We first visited Ajijic in 2011 and stayed at Quinta del Sol. I don't know why we didn't write a review then, just forgot, I guess. Anyway, we returned BECAUSE we remembered how nice it was. And it is JUST AS NICE , if not even nicer today.The casita has been redecorated and a large walk in shower installed. There is a lovely patio set under a fan / light on the terrace, just perfect for a warm May night. The pool is lovely and inviting.
The one thing that didn't change is the hospitality of Eleanor. She welcomed us with a cold beer and a smile.Felt like a homecoming. She updated us on what was new and what had changed and we settled in for a wonderful week.
The breakfasts of course were wonderful. She has added a daily smoothie to the menu, just delicious. And after fruit and goodies, whatever you wish for breakfast, eggs, pancakes (try the raspberry with lemon,yum) and all the rest.
When sadly it is time to leave, she books a great man, Francisco to take you back to the airport, on time and safely. A wonderful vacation ended but memories that won't.

Room Tip: Casita is close to the pool. We saw the otrher rooms (only 3) and all were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mntscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We planned to stay one night and stayed 4 nights instead ~ such charming hosts, hospitality beyond the norm, terrific breakfasts, and quiet nights. We enjoyed the newly remodeled Casita right next to the pool. We will definitely make this B&B our "home away from home" when we visit Ajijic in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoCanPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Love the place, the attention, the pool, the room, everything was perfect! Ajijic it is indeed a beautifull place to visit, and this house is awesome, we spent a great time, very romantic, and quiet, we are planning on having a 2 day mini vacation very soon, I already want to be there again, if you want the best attention, this is the right B & B

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had the opportunity to spend 3 days at this charming inn. It was great. Our room overlooked the mountains
(Mariposa) and had a wonderful terrace. It also had a fridge to store beverages. The gardens are beautiful and the gardener comes each morning to tend it. The pool is heated to a great 85. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast in the garden. The menu was vaey varied and we enjoyed everything we tatsed. The fruits are so fresh in Mexico. And the smoothies so delicious and healthy. And I have to mention the various muffins that were served, yummy. HArd to just take one!
The town is interesting too. Cobblestone streets and and old church on the town sqyuare just the right setting for relaxing.
Eleanor, we hope to return someday for a longer visit. Thanks for everything
Kitty & Tom

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyntom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#1 of 27 in Ajijic
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#3 of 27 in Ajijic
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta del Sol

Address: Calle Independencia # 29 | in the Heart of Ajijic Village, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique B&B in the heart of Ajijic. Each of it's 3 suites is individually decorated and complete with a terrace or balcony, fireplace, private bath, fridge etc. Only 2 -3 blocks from the pier, town square, restaurants, and art galleries. It's truly a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing