We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Magical Setting”
Review of Casa Tres Leones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Tres Leones
Ranked #2 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Magical Setting”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed here prior to the new ownership so cannot speak to any changes. The rooms are charming and delightful and the views couldn't be better. I loved staying there because of the peaceful setting and wonderful accomodations.

Room Tip: They all were unique and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilobarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
119
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have just returned to the UK having had a magical stay at Casa Tres Leones on a slight hill above the charming village of Ajijic. The hosts Alix and Emile are as advertised - great cooks, not only breakfast, the home made bran muffins and delicacies provided to accompany the endless coffee and tea were delicious (and healthy). To be able to come and go as you please all day was also a bonus, B & Bs here - have to be vacated by 11am and no reutn until dusk !! As the sun rose, waking to the sound of birds and then the wonderful view of the magic lake and mountains was breathtaking. As Laura Santos, journalist contributing to the magazine of Air Mexico wrote "its the only place to stay in Ajijic". Thankyou Alix and Emile for an unforgettable holiday in the most beautiful surroundings. Nellie Duff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loreto, Baja California Sur, MX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Tres Leones in Ajijic, Mexico because we were attending a wedding in Lake Chapala. The units are extremely clean, comfortable and close to the town square. I am gluten intolerant and have other food allergies. The owners made the extra effort to provide me with food that I could eat for breakfast......which was wonderful!!!! It made my (and our) stay more enjoyable. I would go there again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigs_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This cozy inn is a perfect complement to the beautiful town of Ajijic. Comfortable rooms, perfectly manicured grounds, picturesque views of the town and Lake Chapala, and wonderfully accommodating owners really make this the prime spot to stay and experience the Lake Chapala area. Based on the owners restaurant recommendations we ate some of the best food we've had in Mexico! Mexican, German, and everything in between is readily available in town, and the supplied hot breakfast(s) we enjoyed were also a real treat made by the delightful owner Alix herself, and served up with a smile by her warm and friendly husband Emile. There is no question we will return in the future to Casa Tres Leones.

Room Tip: There is no bad choice of room here so simply choose a bed size and enjoy!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GavinVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanoose Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Casa Tres Leones - a beautiful hacienda located in the heart of Ajijic. Behind the adobe walls a tropical paradise awaits. We admired the beautiful lush gardens blooming with vibrant colorful flowers, and enjoyed relaxing by the pool watching the humming birds swoop down to take a drink. From the verandah, the view of the village and the lake was spectacular. Located close to the town center, we wandered down the rustic cobblestone streets and took a stroll along the malecon. Our room was lovely with a full sized kitchen and private covered outdoor lounging area. Alix and Emil were gracious hosts and were quick to offer information when asked and also left us to our privacy as well. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Our stay was very memorable and we highly recommend this lovely B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyb254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Why rent a villa in Tuscany when you can go to Casa Tres Leones for half the price? This place is an exquisitely maintained lush oasis with breathtaking views of Lake Chapala and the church steeple in town. We spent hours roaming the cobblestone streets and then would venture "home" to sit on the grand verandah and sip wine, admiring the view. My favourite time was the start of the day - sitting in the sun, listening to the rooster crow, sipping coffee. Alix prepared a hot breakfast every morning ( grilled asparagus and eggs on our first morning) and of course cereal, yogourt, fresh fruit, fresh berries and ample coffee and juice. At the end of the day, we enjoyed a tea with a slice of ginger cake or brownie - there was always fresh muffins available to guests throughout the day.The hosts, Alix and Emil, are warm and gracious and very helpful. They booked visits of the area for us, airport transfers, and they took time to answer questions and give us a sense of life in this part of the world. Highly recommend this beautiful B and B. We will definitely return. Jill and Ed, St Catharines, ON

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The Casa Tres Leones exceeded our expectations. When we walked through the gates, it is as if you have entered another world. The path from the gate to the front door wanders through a beautiful garden where everything appears to be in bloom. Bougainvillea in pink and mauve drapes the walls. Yellow hibiscus like flowers are everywhere and the birds of paradise are at their peak. The path leads past the fountain with three lions from which the name of the house is derived and past a portion of the wall with an arch on top in which hangs a bell. At the base of the wall is a beautiful statue of the virgin. It almost looks like a chapel but I know it is the side wall of the garage.
My favourite spot was on the terasse behind the house, overlooking the pool, garden rooftops of the town and the lake. We stayed in the Mirador Suite which we loved but next time, it will be a tough choice between that suite and the Lovers' Suite. Alix and Emile are wonderful hosts, extremely attentive and very knowledgable about the area. Alix's breakfast are worth the stay alone. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and a healthy hot breakfast.
We loved our stay and wisshed it had been longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_and_Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.4 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
315 reviews
8.8 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ajijic Suites
Ajijic Suites
#6 of 26 in Ajijic
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tres Leones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tres Leones

Property: Casa Tres Leones
Address: Emiliano Zapata #10 | Between Calles Juarez and Tempisque, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tres Leones 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa "Tres Leones" Ajijic...the perfect indulgence in an idyllic Mexican Setting! Still Ajijic's finest B&B - for special occasions or to feel special! Under experienced new (Australian) ownership since 2008. Eight suites with bathroom, AC & Fan, refrigerator, Satellite TV, DVD/CD player, towel warmer and robes. Most with Terrace. Fabulous Pool! Be surrounded by the beauty of Mexico with a spectacular Lake and mountain view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Tres Leones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing