We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Real de Chapala
Nearby Hotels
La Riberena(Ajijic)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Nueva Posada(Ajijic)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Casa de la Abuela(Ajijic)(Great Value!)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo(Ajijic)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
155
149
99
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
149
99
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla florestaan excellent hotelgreat neighborhooda lake view roomstar hotelfront desk staffrestaurant staffrooms are bigcobblestone streetsnice staythere is no air conditioninghotel is locatedfirst floorbeautiful groundsrooms are cleanevery morningpools
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed at this lovely, spacious property in late February for four days. Gorgeous scenery overlooking the lake-enjoyed awesome dawns and sunsets. Spacious and well-treed. Staff were very skilled and professional. Located in la floresta, a beautiful, upscale area with fabulous homes and great walking streets. A fun, 10 minute walk to the town centre.
We were with a group and enjoyed some brilliant barbecues on the beautiful terraces. First floor rooms look over the lake or have a quiet patio to enjoy. Some of the most beautiful trees that I have ever seen grace the property.

Room Tip: For the best views, ask for a fist floor room overlooking the lakeshore.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fidel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltena, Director of Sales at Real de Chapala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Real de Chapala, He hope you and your party members enjoyed the BBQ and we are hoping to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I really liked this hotel. I've read a lot of reviews about how this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel that they claim to be. But bear in mind, this is Mexico we're talking about. Me and my colleagues stayed at this hotel for eight nights and attended to a conference that was held at the venue and we really liked it. The service was very friendly and helpful, even though not all staff member spoke English. At the reception they did, how ever.

The place where the hotel is located is very beautiful and peaceful. The town of Ajijic is within walking distance from the hotel (app. 10min.) and from there you can take a bus for example to Guadalajara. Buses are really comfortable and cheap, only 53 pesos from Ajijic to Guadalajara.

There were only a few drawbacks with the rooms. As mentioned here earlier, the rooms do not come with A/C, only with a fan. We, however, stayed at Real de Chapala in March so if you kept your windows open for a few hours after sunset the temperature was not too hot. The other drawback is the sound proof, or lack of it. You could hear all the noices from the hallway, no matter how quietly people tried to talk. And unfortunately they did not try to keep their voices down.

But all in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area. The restaurant was excellent also, great food with great prices!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Same W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

i love this hotel we were there back in august 2010 and this december 2011, on my next vacation we are coming back. in my opinion this is a nice place to stay the employes are very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Arrived on a friday nite (10:30)without reservation, after having been told this was the best hotel around. Wanted 2 nites, but were only able to stay (thank goodness) one. Booked fully for a wedding. Bar and restaurant closed at 10:30 or 11:00pm. Totally outdated, cheap toiletries, no a/c (told only in suites). just a floor fan. Beds were flashback to '60's. Counted more than 5 strange hairs in bathroom. Leaky faucet. I very seldom get allergies, but after 15 minutes couldn't breathe. One look at rubber tub mat, that was it... mildew. Why would we pay $130.00US?? We called around and no other vacancies nearby. Took allergy pill. So, BEWARE!! This must have been a 'Grand" hotel in it's past. Right now, only the grounds are worth seeing. The gardens are very nice and well-kept, but you can't sleep there. So, for the price: NO, NO, NO! Internet weak and slow, but ok, free. Employees were very nice and almost apologetic. Tried to get a remote control for the ancient TV, after 3 tries, we and they gave up. My advice: if you absolutely MUST stay here, have a bottle of tequila to numb the unpleasantness, after all, make the best of a bad situation, and consider it an adventure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I went for a business meeting, and I would go back again. The setting is beautiful, and the staff are excellent. I'm afraid I can't speak to the rooms, but would recommend at least going for breakfast to enjoy the setting. We kept on getting little birds visiting us throughout!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews