We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ok for locals maybe not Ok for Americans”
Review of Real de Chapala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real de Chapala
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Hotel Real de Chapala is rated a 5 star hotel to Mexican standards. The hotel grounds are beautiful. Green and rich with many tropical plants. Great view of the lake and hills. The rooms on the other hand lack amenities and comfort one might be used to. Blow dryer not available and the bed feels like your just sleeping on the box spring. The hotel restaurant was average. service was a bit slow and they're Sunday brunch lacked variety. The hotel does have a tennis court and a soccer field, for those outdoor enthusiast. I think the price is right for a standard room. Don't expect much from this hotel and you'll be Ok.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trvltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2007

My husband stayed at this hotel in Ajijic and loved it. The hotel is beautiful and has a wonderful view of the Chapala lake. THe service is great. We had a great huge room. We had a very nice breakfast at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Viajerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Go for the pool, the food and the service.
Don't expect much from the rooms or the lake (swamp?).
I would go again to relax, drink cocktails and perhaps just for the Sunday buffet, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it to those who wanted to be 'pampered'

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dodsworg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Arkansas
214
Reviewed 4 April 2006

I did not realize that a 5-Star rating in Mexico does not equal a 5-Star rating in the US. The hotel and the grounds are well kept and rather pretty. The lake/mountain view is breathtaking. The food and service are very good and very reasonable in price. However, the rooms leave much to be desired. My bathtub drain was broke, so it did not stop the water from immediately draining out. There was a hole in the skylight in the bathroom...mosquitoes are very bad at Lake Chapala. There was no air conditioning in the rooms which meant it was miserable staying in your room during the day. A free-standing fan does not count! The room did not have a hairdryer. Also, the gift shop leaves much to be desired and the front desk personel spoke minimal English. Don't be discouraged from staying at this hotel. There are plenty of activties on and around the resort. Also, there are some nice shops and restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the resort. Go and enjoy...just be prepared to make some adjustments.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2005

This hotel advertises itself as a five-star resort, but seems to be lacking in some of the amenities that would be found in such an establishment. For one thing, it can get hot in Ajijic, and air-conditioning, instead of just a free-standing fan, would be appropriate. Also, my wife had forgotten her hair dryer at home, and wanted to wash her hair. Even some crummy motels either have hair dryers in the rooms, or at least one or two at the desk to lend to guests, but here they never heard of such a thing, even when asked in both English and Spanish.

For another thing, we made the mistake of staying there during school break, with the result that the hotel was overrun with children. We decided to have dinner one night in the hotel dining room, which is quite attractive. The atmosphere there, thouigh, reminded me of my days in summer camp - I almost expected somebody to start singing camp songs.

And finally, this is the most handicapped unfrendly facility I have ever seen. It is impossible to go from the back of the hotel to the front without going up and down several flights of stairs. One gets the idea it was designed by some dropout from a school of architecture.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank edkToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancaster, CA
114
Reviewed 9 November 2004

I go there each year for the annual chili cookoff which will be held on the weekend of February 10, 2005. There is an excellent bar and restaurant on the property. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. I recommend the lakeview rooms, second floor. The front desk frequently has problems with English, but they are very accommodating. If you need a taxi, they will hail one for you very quickly.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maricruz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.6 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
12 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SR Hotel & Suites
SR Hotel & Suites
#3 of 4 in Chapala
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
174 reviews
9.7 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real de Chapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real de Chapala

Address: Paseo del Prado #20 Fracc. La Floresta, Ajijic, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Real de Chapala 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Real de Chapala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real De Chapala Hotel Ajijic
Real De Chapala Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing