We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of La Nueva Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Nueva Posada
Ranked #4 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Is it the enchanting Mexican Colonial architecture? Is it the wonderfully helpful and friendly staff? Is it the Eager family who have been welcoming guests for decades and know each of them by name? Is it the spectacular views of lake and mountain? is it the delicious breakfast in the cheery dining room or a margarita and dinner later in the day in the beautiful lakeside garden? Is it the comfortable, charming rooms? Is it the delightful blend of Mexican and International? IT'S ALL OF THESE! This is a truly magical place, one we return to over and over - and will continue to do so.
Wendy and Gord, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    39
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
59
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

La Nueva Posada is great. Spacious, comfortable rooms, great indoor/outdoor restaurant, wonderful hot breakfast included. The staff is very friendly, English speaking, and very accommodating. We have been there twice, and would go again.
Gene & Norma

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

No need to look any further for First Class lodging in Ajijic. The Posada interior is beautifully restored, rooms are spacious and well furnished, several with balconies overlooking the lake. The onsite restaurant is excellent providing both indoor seating comfort and shaded outdoor seating in a well treed spacious lakeside setting. Front desk and restaurant staff are courteous, efficient and bilingual. Karen and I spent 8 nights here in February 2014 and enjoyed every minute.
Perfect location, quiet comfort, caring service, all at a reasonable price.
Try it, you won't regret it!
Bern

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen-and-Bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After spending several days in rural Mexico, the town of Ajijic was a welcome break. La Nueva Posada offered large rooms, great location on the water and reasonable rates. The American breakfast choices included wIth the room were wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gene1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just got back from a week's stay in this charming bed and breakfast. The location, service and value are hard to beat. The B&B is right up to the lake and our view from room 303 was just the best, the grounds facing the lake were very nicely kept. It is located just a few short blocks from the Ajijic malecon, and very close to other charming restaurants and businesses. The delicious complimentary breakfast served each morning just added to the value of our stay. The entire staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Lily and Rita at the front desk. Max, the night watchman, was a charming and very helpful fellow, always eager to assist you in every way possible. Jesus, one of the morning waiters, at first appeared to be a little grumpy, but that was a wrongful view on our part, he turned out to be an excellent and friendly waiter. From the onset of our reservation request, Mike Eager Jr., quickly answered all of my emails and addressed all of my concerns. Both the Mexican people and expats that we met were the best. I just can't say enough about this charming B&B, and the charming town of Ajijic. I can't wait until we return.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the second and third floor rooms facing the lake, view can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wandlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have been to La Nueva Posada some years ago and for a change I went back for a weekend in Ajijic last september and try again this place nearby Chapala Lake, unfortunately contaminated!!! I found the place like in the past,friendly people at the desk, the all hotel and rooms with some more meubles and antiques, but all in a nice colonial style and atmospheare but with all modern equipment we need making the hotel a high standard one at bargain price, event if you stay for a longer period you could bargain with the owner a very find lady, but around 120 dollars for two included a breakfest a la carte it consider like cheap. We shall return soom!

Room Tip: room of the top have a view on the lake and bigger a suite style if you like to have space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had a look at the rooms but I've eaten several times in the restaurant which is has a lovely terrace overlooking gardens and the lake.The waiters will give you lousy service if you leave a 10% tip they want 16%.They have a European menu so the food is not spicy.They have daily specials with a main course starting at 75 pesos,with Vienna schnitzel red cabbage and mashed potatoes every Tuesday which is tasty.Just be aware the dining closes at 8 PM in the evening as Ajijic is a Gringo town which rolls up the sidewalk about sunset.
They also has apartment suites but they have to be reserved well in advance.

Room Tip: I didn't stay there only used their dining room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.6 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
1.0 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ajijic Suites
Ajijic Suites
#5 of 26 in Ajijic
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Nueva Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Nueva Posada

Property: La Nueva Posada
Address: Calle Donato Guerra No. 9 | Apdo 30, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Nueva Posada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Nueva Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Nueva Posada Hotel Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing