We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant atmosphere”

La Bodega de Ajijic
Ranked #57 of 149 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

La Bodega is pretty inside with its open-air, 2-level rustic design. There was music some evenings that was relaxing and not too loud. The menu is not too extensive and the waiters are attentive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We went on a Wed. night, so the place was very quiet and intimate, just what we wanted! Great live music and very good food! An extensive wine and spirit list to choose from and a limited, but very good, menu. The host was so friendly that we felt like we had been going there for years!

Easy to find and well worth the effort to enjoy a great pasta meal for a very reasonable price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessalyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Havier and Marta have created a welcoming home away from home for their customers. This explains the regulars who frequent the restaurant and become like family. We have eaten there many times. Each time we ordered something different and were never disappointed. Service was excellent. The entertainment is always fun and if you like to dance all the better!! When your eating experience and entertainment is through, your check is unbelievably reasonable. I would highly recommend this restaurant!! We will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ptaylor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We always enjoy the food, service and entertainment at La Bodega. Javiar and his family always strive to make your visit a memorable experience. We go there often.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadrunnerChapala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Average food, great music”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a margarita pizza - I knew it was a mistake to order this. Sort of on a dry crackery pizza crust and it had too many thick tomatoes on it. Just not good at all. My husband had the Chicken Bodega - chicken breast with mushroom sauce that he said was good. His baked potato was 1/2 cooked, 1/2 not cooked. Nothing really to write home about. The music for the night was very good and people were having a great time dancing. Very friendly vibe in the restaurant. It is lovely when you walk in -- romantic with little white lights all around and candles lit. Margarita was OK (I'm very picky on these). So I'd go again, maybe have a snack and then dance or listen to music.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bodega de Ajijic also viewed

 
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to La Bodega de Ajijic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing