We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise”
Review of Gossip's Kitchen

Gossip's Kitchen
Ranked #7 of 149 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ajijic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Gossips kitchen is a delightful surprise-located on an unassuming corner in the village-it has become a go to place for an interesting lunch /dinner.
The food is a mixture of Cajun -a la Paul Prudhomme style-and traditional. They offer a wonderful oyster appetizer on a regular basis. Presentation is always eye appealing-their salads are colourful and delicious. Portions are substantial-Their marsala fries are yummy. They have their service down to a fine T-Be sure to give it a visit-

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Candis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    83
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh yumalicious!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have been to Ajijic before but never had a chance to try Gossips until tonight. Oh do we wish that we had gone there sooner. This place instantly became one of our favorite places in the Lake Chapala area. We will go back many times. I had the chorizo jumbo with a side of coleslaw. The jumbo was simply delightful and the coleslaw was different from any that I have had before. It was served warm with a curry flavoring. Very good. Wife had the creamy clam chowder with a Caesar salad. Both were excellent. We finished with a banana bread pudding with ice cream. The pudding is served warm, so the ice cream was the perfect compliment. The service was excellent and the prices are very reasonable.I wish that they had mixed drinks, but they only serve wine and beer. But with food this good, we will be back again--and again. ;-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juanmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Every Item on the Menu is Excellente!!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I am now full time in Ajijic and Gossips is one of my favourite restaurants in town. Gossips is a regular stop of mine for lunch a few times a week and dinner. The menu is diverse and the dishes are prepared to perfection with spices that will tantalize your tastebuds by Ismat and his team. However there is often a dilema of whether or not to eat my meal as the presentation is often to lovely to disturb. That's when my Facebook gets an update with food pics.
Not only is the food superb the staff is attentive, and Ismat is always there to welcome you, chat a bit to ensure you are enjoying your experience and wish you a friendly farewell.
Gossips is located in the village of Ajijic on the carretera which is the main thoroughfare of the town which affords the opportunity of seeing the goings on.
When you find your way to Gossips tell Ismat...Sharon sent you! Buen provecho!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best in Ajijic”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We are part-time residents in Ajijic, usually spending the summers to avoid the Texas heat (Ajijic has the 2d best climate in the world and is sublime every month except May). We rarely cook at home and eat out all the time. After trying every restaurant in Ajijic, Gossips really does come out on top. Consistently delicious food, creative, well seasoned (a problem in Ajijic for some reason), and a good crowd. OK, some people don't like the location on the Carretera, with the traffic whizzing by. It has never bothered me. The food is the thing here. You can have a place like Peacock Garden that has lovely surroundings but the food is awful. Gossips gumbo and curry are first-rate. The club sandwich is very good. The fish specials are usually excellent. The Shepherds Pie is a very interesting twist on this classic. The only thing that I was underwhelmed by is the crab cakes, but 5 years living in Washington DC, near Chesapeake Bay, has spoiled me forever. Try this place, even if you decide to sit inside to avoid the Carretera traffic. I have never had a guest disappointed by the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best gumbo this side of New Orleans!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Gossips is our favorite restaurant in Ajijic. The food is always consistently full of flavor and wonderfully presented. And you can't beat the daily specials posted on the blackboard. My husband has the gumbo with a piece of cornbread probably 75% of the time. He says it stacks up with any he has tasted in New Orleans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AjijicWeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gossip's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Gossip's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing