We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest restaurants in Ajijic”
Review of Armando's Hideaway

Armando's Hideaway
Ranked #40 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the nicest restaurants in Ajijic”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Located on a small side street on the west side of Ajijic across from the Hotel Danza del Sol. The ambiance is excellent, warm, and very friendly. The menu has a nice and reasonably priced selection of very tasty beef, chicken, pork and seafood.dishes. One of our favorite local restaurants. Reservations are required on most occasions.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marito326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Armandos”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Armandos has had a bit of a rough ride of late, fewer gringos due to the recession has led to a change in ownership and a short closing. We like the food, our problem is that the menu really hasn't changed in many years, which is a problem as we live about a block away and would like a bit more variety.

Armandos is clean and the food is reliable. Flambe is the name of the game here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanisidroron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocotepec, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Armando's is NOT Closed or Out of Business”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just had a second amazing lunch at Armando's which is under new management. They opened several weeks ago after the previous proprietor vacated the premises. It is great food at reasonable prices (much the same menu as before) with great staff, superb service, and a nice environment. They have been open all of June and since about Mid-May so some of the previous reviews are incorrect about being out of business. If you are looking for a pleasant dining experience with great food - go see the new proprietor and staff. It is also enjoy dining in Mexican owned and operated businesses and funneling my ex-pat peso's into the community.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A great hideaway”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Although AH was a hidden gem under the previous owners, it has become an Ajijic hotspot since taken over by a young woman and her mother. The food is great, service excellent. My only beef is we now have to make reservations and it's no longer so romantic because it's crowded and noisy. The back room could be spruced up a bit to give it the same ambiance as the other rooms.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Armando's is a hidden treasure”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Armando's is excellent. We went at 2:00 (one of my many birthday dinners!), and they gave us both the luncheon menu and the dinner menu. We went immediately for the dinner menu, the would love to go back to try the luncheon.

Very nice selection. It could possibly be one of the more romantic restaurants in the area with so many items prepared tableside: for instance our excellent Caesar salad and our peaches flambe (so many flambe dishes, plus Mexican coffee...a favorite...must go back). My husband had clam chowder (wonderful), we shared the Caesar salad for two (excellent), we both had filets cooked perfectly to each of our requested tastes...a slightly different cut than I'm used to, but tender enough to cut with a fork (included mashed potatoes and veggies), and then peaches flambe for dessert (they also had crepes suzette...hard choice). I had regular coffee (some of the best I have and I'm a coffee addict). All of this for 470.00 pesos (not including tip)

I also really enjoyed the house wine (in real glasses not like the really heavy wine glasses a lot of restaurants use in Mexico), which were large and only $40 pesos each. This is definitely a go-to place on our list from now on out when we go out to dinner. We talked to both the owner and her mother...we enjoyed our delightful waitress and everything was great...even the little neighbor dog that we shamelessly fed! We're bad. If you need to know how to get there: "It's located along the east wall of Hotel Danza del sol - going west when you get to Rio Bravo (corner where Tabarka is) turn toward the lake and go one block to Zaragoza and turn left - go one block to Privado Ocampo and turn right - it's on the corner across the street. 766-2229. Amy is the new owner and operated with her mom. Just in case you need the info."

Please cultivate this restaurant. It's a little off the beaten path as others have said, but definitely worth your while.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenMc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armando's Hideaway also viewed

 

Been to Armando's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing