We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going back”

Johanna's Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 148 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Description: Delicious Meals with an Austrian, German, French, Austrian and Mexican touch. Nice setting where you can enjoy the Lakeside and Food. Fast and Kind Service.
Restaurant details
Description: Delicious Meals with an Austrian, German, French, Austrian and Mexican touch. Nice setting where you can enjoy the Lakeside and Food. Fast and Kind Service.
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not going back”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

mediocre sourbratten, over battered schnitzle. Slow service. House wine inferior. Ambiance unappealing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Another Great Taste in the Village”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Ya know - it's one of those places... you see it over and over again and say to yourself "We should go in there and give it a try"... But you're just not sure... It kind of looks like someone's house and there's that play thing in the front yard that makes it look like a daycare... But heeding my own advice to put preconceived notions of dining out aside while in the village - we were pleasantly surprised. The food was great. Wine by the glass was filled to the brim. And there certainly isn't any chance of leaving hungry. My favourite - the potato pancakes with applesauce. Also the schnitzel with apple sauce. And then the apple strudel. I haven't eaten german food for decades but I'm pretty sure this was as good as anything I've had in the past. Definitely worth it and we'll definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraveljaneAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very ugly”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The place is very ugly, crowded tables and no wheelchair ramp, and the owner gets the tips from customers are not delivered to the waiters

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 404FrankY404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisG g, Propietario at Johanna's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 July 2015
You can visit the Restaurant and is in perfect conditions with high maintenance standards, sometimes weekends we can have almost full restaurant but with inside and outside areas , you really don't feel crowed the space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Excellent location and well prepared dishes..”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Not normally a fan of German cuisine but this was tasty. They had a lunch special for $55 Pesos (about $4.50 USD). Veal schnitzel, roasted baby potatoes, sautéed red cabbage, salad, bread with two kinds of butter and roasted jalapeños with salsa. Excellent service. Will for sure go back for dinner and try the popular pork shank. Cheers and happy eats.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“German Cuisine”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Everyone must try Johanna's if you like good german food! I found the food and service to be excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johanna's Restaurant also viewed

Ajijic, Jalisco
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to Johanna's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing